We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming Artist's cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The thick walls keep the bedroom cool, king size bed, with sitting area and open fire for the winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The thick walls keep the bedroom cool, king size bed, with sitting area and open fire for the winter
The charming Luberon village of Cucuron, view from the Castle grounds to the clock tower Le Point Front Door, at the end of a small lane in the Village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
The thick walls keep the bedroom cool, king size bed, with sitting area and open fire for the winter
The charming Luberon village of Cucuron, view from the Castle grounds to the clock tower
Le Point Front Door, at the end of a small lane in the Village
Downstairs fireplace and seating area, please note the steep stone steps to upper living area
Fireplace
Small bedroom with Mary Adshead murals
Upstairs Living area, with optional sofa bed
Upstairs kitchen area, well equiped for self catering
A good selection of reading material, fiction and non-fiction, and internet Radio
Le Point has a small sheltered terrace
Etang de la Bonde, a short drive from Le Point, somewhere to enjoy a swim
Etang de la Bonde
The pool (Etang) in the centre of the village - featured in the film A Good Year
The Market comes to the Etang on Tuesdays and during the Summer there are evening markets
Several cafes and restaurants in the village, a popular stop for visiting cyclists
The local co-operative Cave in the village has some good local wines
Village Fountain, close to Le Point
The village from the South, with the Luberon Hills in the background
From the castle ruins, just a few paces from Le Point, a lovely 360 degree view with places to sit
Le Point in the medieval village wall
Inside the village church
A stall in the Tuesday market
Cheese and bread in the market
Spices for all tastes!
More colour from the market
Another view from the castle
The village in Spring with the Luberon hills in the background
A Swallowtail up by the castle
View from a walk around the village
The Abbey of Senanque is a day trip to the North of the Luberon
The Colorado Provencal near Rustrel - about 45 minutes away by car
The Pont du Gard is a good day trip by car - but they don't let you walk along the top any more!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cucuron, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Victoria...
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Charming Artist's cottage”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Wonderful little hideaway in the storybook Provencal village of Cucuron. The previous reviewer described it perfectly...white washed stone walls and ceilings, challenging staircase and an adorable hand painted trompe l' oeil mini-bedroom. Roomy, fully functional kitchen/dining/living area upstairs, bedrooms downstairs. The kitchen has a wonderful little balcony with THE BEST view of the countryside. The owners are friendly and respond quickly to correspondence. Be sur to read the big scrapbooks in the bookcase upstairs...wonderful story of the artist family that purchased this little jewel of a home.

Why only 4 stars? Partially our fault...when we arrived it was dark, but I'm afraid the directions were not clear for us. The door was to be found by a "garden gate". It was more of a big fence blocking the end of the alley, no gate. The ancient alleyways/roads are not readily marked and difficult to see in the dark. Where to park and where to walk and make turns were difficult to understand. Please don't try to arrive in the dark!
The second reason for 4 stars is that when we opened the door to the cottage we were greeted by a sour smelling damp mop and bucket! The smell permeated throughout the lower floor. We quickly stored it away and opened some windows and all was well. There were some other utilitarian items piled in an open area under the stairs that was unsightly.
but overall...loved this place! Would recommend it highly as my "complaints" are minor and not entirely the owner's fault.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Architecture of the place, little painted bedroom, balcony view
Liked least: arriving at night with vague directions, sour mop in the entry
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you, we have noted the comments and discussed with the lady who looks after the house for us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sm0nahan
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Full of character and a great place to spend a week or two”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was all we had hoped for. The photos give a good impression of it. The bottom floor is really interesting with a domed, whitewashed stone roof over the main bedroom which has one of the most comfortable and roomy beds we have ever experienced in a holiday rental. There is a small bedroom leading off the main one that any child would just love to be in. It's like a snug little cave with walls all covered with colourful and beautifully painted murals.

The stone steps leading up to the kitchen and living area were a bit of a challenge for my wife whose hip is a bit dodgy and they would not suit someone with really bad legs but she coped ok. The kitchen is adequately equipped and the small outdoor area leading from the kitchen is great for sitting out and enjoying the weather of Provence.

I thoroughly recommend this holiday home for couples or for couples with one child who want a really interesting place to spend their holiday. The cottage is not luxurious. It's not that sort of cottage. But it is beautifully authentic, tucked away in one of the corners of a Provencal village full of character. We loved the week we spent here.

I should also say that the owners were really great to deal with. Very prompt to reply to emails. Very efficient. Giving lots of good advice and excellent directions on how to find the flat and get into it on the first day

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy C
Sylvania, Ohio
1 review
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My daughter and I were looking for a quiet village as a base for exploring the Luberon region and Cucuron was a perfect location. We loved the village; it is small enough to be fairly peaceful but still had most of what we needed. Every morning we had coffee by the small pond before starting our travels, excepts market day when we simpy didn't want to leave the town. The pizza truck on the weekends is a must, and the owner especially charming.
The house was exactly as described and the owners provided us with all the information we needed before we arrived including directions, how everything worked, what was available in the town, and nearby attractions, which was very helpful.
We loved the little house and it quickly became our home away from home. It was cool for sleeping and there is a lovely breeze through the upstairs windows. The balcony does not have much of a view but it is very private and peaceful. The stairs are a bit of a challenge, but also added to the character. We loved having the wifi to keep in touch with family while we were away. All in all, it was a perfect vacation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veritas59
Centreville, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A nice little house in a nice little town"”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our week in early September in "Le Point". The house was honestly represented by the owner and we found no surprises. Both my wife and I are in our mid-70's and the well documented "stairs to the second level" were a challenge. I believe a sturdy, add-on railing on the open side of the stairs would not detract from the authentic look of the room and would provide a needed security for everyone, young and old. Cucuron is a nice little town, not over-run with tourists, with plenty of fun restaurants and all the necessities. A great base for side trips in Provence. Le Point is very reasonably priced and a good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nice location of the house in the village
Liked least: The "treacherous" stairs to the second level.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladylawto...
Sydney, Australia
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a charming, peaceful place which met all our expectations”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was a restful hideaway that made us feel part of the village life rather than tourists.It was very well equipped,private and cosy.The evenings sitting out on the upstairs terrace with the view of the trees were idyllic.
All the shops needed were nearby.
We found it easier to park in the white parking areas beyond Spar and "The Etang" which avoids negotiating the narrow streets of the village.We ate at The Etang restaurant next to the hotel which I would recommend.
Iwould definitely stay here again.It is easy to visit all the interesting sites of the Luberon from Cucuron and this village has few tourists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: privacy and tranquility
Liked least: the steep stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing