We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
57
89
27
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
89
27
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here battlefield tour nice hotel leger holidays large bathroom air conditioning coach trip vending machine an evening meal member of staff comfortable bed plenty of choice one person out of the way base for touring enjoyed my stay nice bar
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst on a battlefield tour of Belgium & France.

This hotel is actually OK would be better if you could find any staff. In its defence most who stay are out all day so no need for too many staff but one would be nice. On looking for reception I found nobody til I found him working in the garden lol.

The staff when you find them are lovely & helpful. The rooms are absolutely huge. Spotlessly clean and very warm. No aircon but fan provided. We stayed half board. The food is made off site and bought in which is unusual but it was good. Breakfast is mainly continental but filling. Has a nice bar but closes early as bar staff are also on reception.

When you arrive you feel in middle of nowhere just houses around but explore. Out of hotel turn right then left there is a lovely bar on left. Out turn left keep walking is Menen Station. Out of hotel turn right and right takes to to Menen Centre bout 20 mins walk.

All in all a comfy little hotel which if just a base is perfect

Room Tip: Any all big
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Meadowender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Hotel & Aparthotel Ambassador Menen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Meadowender,

thank you for your review.

We are a little bit dissapionted about the score, as we have a very good price quality value since years.

our staff is indeed very flexible as they try to help wherever necessary and this makes the feeling more "as at home"

hopefully we will do better next time :-)


best regards,

Didier de Weerdt
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with family for a battlefield tour with Leger at the start of the month. Hotel room was big and spacious with four beds although only two of us staying in it. Room was nice and clean with large bathroom.

Breakfast was standard continental fare, with a small hot food selection. No restaurant in hotel itself but good few restaurants nearby, although a lot seem to close on the same days, Tuesday/Wednesday

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank bolt-ya-rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Hotel & Aparthotel Ambassador Menen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear bolt-ya-rocket,

we are happy you had a great journey in our hotel.

always nice to read.

best regards,

Didier de Weerdt
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a three night stay here during a battlefield tour with friends. Located on a relatively quiet street in the town. Excellent room with clean comfortable bed, superb bathroom with large shower. Excellent staff, ok breakfast, pleasant outside area to enjoy a relaxing drink from the bar after a long day of site seeing. Restaurants are only a short walk away. Short drive to the Ypres battlefields and cemeteries, around two hour drive to the Somme.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Hotel & Aparthotel Ambassador Menen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Ron C

great to read you had a nice stay with us.

Come back soon :-)

best regards,

Didier De Weerdt
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Leger Battlefields Tour. The hotel is a quiet side street, our room was quite large, spotlessly clean with a large bathroom, once again spotless. There was a good choice for breakfast, staff were pleasant, nice bar area too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sjw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Hotel & Aparthotel Ambassador Menen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear sjw44

great to read you liked our hotel in general and our staff in particular

This is very important for us

See you next time

best Regards,

Didier DE WEERDT
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Stopped here on the way out for a Rhine cruise, rooms were fresh and clean, food was good continental fare. This hotel was part of the package and we were pleased they had chosen it. Nobody on our coach had anything but positive comments to say the following day.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordoncooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Hotel & Aparthotel Ambassador Menen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear gordoncooper1,

when you give a score of 5/5, you make the full staff VERY happy.

thank you and see you in the future back with us !

best regards,

Didier de Weerdt
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews