We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murder Mystery in Tuxertal!”
Review of Hotel Tuxertal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tuxertal
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Tux
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Murder Mystery in Tuxertal!”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Thursday night was "murder mystery" night at the Hotel Tuxertal with the hotel staff performing the parts of murder suspects in the killing of a doctor with a billard cue. All good fun and part of the buffet evening at the hotel. I won't divulge the killer; you will have to take part to find out...and decipher the killer from the clues provided with each course of the meal......and be sure to have practiced your german as there is no translation......
The Hotel Tuxertal is a small family-run hotel. Hermann greets all the guests in the morning and took to song one evening to support local musicians who came to play local Tyrolian music. He and his family have run the hotel for close to 40 years. Simon took great care of us; picking us up from the station in Mayrhofen and helping us deal with our lost luggage - beware Munich airport. Iris made sure that we understood the translation of the main course that we selected each day at breakfast. The hotel provides a ski guide service several days a week. We skied with Armin one day and he took us to explore the Penkenjoch ski area. On other days, guided snowshoe tours are given, but we did not try them.
Breakfast was an extensive selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, meat, cheese, smoked salmon, vegetables, and eggs. After skiing, we were treated to cake and tea or coffee in the lounge. Our room was the Sunrise room, in a newer part of the hotel. The room was clean; the bathroom had a heated stone floor. The room had a view to the east towards the ski area at Rastkogel that connects to the Penkenjoch area. The hotel is situated mid-way between the Eggalm gondola and the Rastkogel gondola. The ski bus stops within 50m of the hotel making access to the whole Tux ski area very easy. The cross-country ski trail along the valley runs behind the hotel and is easily reached. We would return

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
30
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

A very comfortable hotel run by a large family. It was such a pleasure to be looked after by them; they had obviously had superb training. Our Larch suite overlooked the beautiful mountains from a generous balcony. Every day one of the family made sure they chatted with us about our stay and helped us to get the most out of the area. We were the only English guests and this was not a problem for us although we only speak basic German, most of the staff speak good English. The biggest treat for us was the choice of guided walks every day. They were wonderful and took our ages, 70 and 80, into consideration. We accomplished walks that we could not have done alone. We even walked to Italy!. I hope we live long enough to do this again!

Room Tip: The Larch suite has an amazing wooden bath overlooking the valley and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfogy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We've been to Tux and the nearby Zillertal a couple of times before and stayed in smaller hotels. This time, we decided to stay in a wellness-oriented sports hotel with all-incl (food, sports, ski-pass etc). Found the "Hotel Tuxertal" through user votes in Google Maps and we were pretty surprised by almost everything. Although it's not located directly at the skiing resorts (you've got to take the cost-free ski bus or walk 10 min, which is ok) we can recommend it for any kind of skiers / snowboarders who seek a relaxing, calm and warm atmosphere with friendly staff and VERY great food. Our price per room included fullservice with huge breakfast buffet, cakes and coffee in the afternoon, food / water in the wellness zone and a 5-course-dinner every evening.

The hotel director himself showed us how to do nordic skiing and he arranged a great rental offer for complete nordic skiing sets at a ski-shop in the next village. His wife and son (almost all of their children work in the hotel) helped us to manage getting ski-passes, which also were included in the room-price and the son was serving us for dinner to have the best wines alongside the food.

There were two snowshoe hikes included in our room price (led by a professional guide) and three days of guided skiing in the nearby resorts with a prof guide as well. As we've learned from the staff, this kind of guide-system is also in place througout the summer period, when they arrange 3 (!) guided walks & hikes every day for their guests.

Room itself (we had a suite) was almost new, warm and absolutely great. Huge bathroom, separated WC, balcony and enough place for all your skiing stuff. Can park your car for free directly in front or besides the hotel. Other guests came from a variety of countries (Germany, Austria, Switzerland etc), aged 20-70, families there with small kids as well.

We'll definitely return to the Hotel Tuxertal in the summer and the next winter.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik_and_Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

The Apple Suite we stayed in was immaculate and gorgeous. The pictures on their website do not lie and are accurate. Very large with great beds, large double sitting tub, great beds and a fireplace. We stayed for two nights in this room with a balcony and great view. Out of our 10 nights in Austria, this was our favorite place. It is family run and you really feel like a part of the family. English was spoken and every ammenity is offered. (Even large screen TV with record capability so I was able to watch US vs. Brazil match late one evening; unheard of in a European hotel).

Each night features a 4 course dinner included in the price (served 6:30-8 nightly) . A large salad bar is offered, followed by a soup (your choice between two), an entree (3 choices including one vegetarian) and a dessert (choice between two). The food was delicious and well prepared and served in a timely but not rushed manner (you can control the pace). Breakfast is also included in the price and is traditional European and fresh.

The hotel features a great pool and wellness center which we had little time to avail ourselves of but we did stop by. It was clean the glass covered pool had a great view of the mountains. The sauna is only open from 2-7 so hours were a bit limited. That would be our one critique; open the wellness center until 10 or a bit later for adults.

The daily free hikes are amazing. We went with another young fit Dutch couple and our guide Richie is a ski coach so we asked for a long hike. We went on a 15k (10 mile) 6 hour hike through some of the most gorgeous mountains ever. Richie was a great guide. They will cater a hike to your fitness level.

When you consider that your are getting breakfast, bed, dinner and daily hikes, the price cannot be beat, even for the suites (check their website for prices). We are frequent travelers around the globe and this will remain as one of the best places we have stayed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prologuetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

The Hotel Tuxertal is a family-run property in Tux-Lanersbach that sets iteself apart from other hotels in the region through an extensive offer of daily guided hikes. Each morning you have a choice of 2-3 hikes of varying difficulty, which are led by the owner, his daughter, and a cousin of the family. We tremendously enjoyed these guided hikes and were very happy with the hotel's amenities, such as pool, sauna, an Indian masseur, and the excellent food (e.g., home-baked cakes in the afternoon). We stayed in the newly added "Tree Suites," which are well worth the extra money. Very spacious rooms with a modern, updated yet still cosy look and feel. I highly recommend the Hotel Tuxertal to anyone interested in an active hiking vacation with the luxury of a well-run hotel.

  • Liked — Daily guided hikes, very friendly staff
  • Disliked — Rooms facing the front can be a little noisy because of the road in front of the hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tux
0.8 km away
Hotel Alpin Spa Tuxerhof
1.1 km away
Aktiv- & Wellnesshotel Bergfried
4.8 km away
Alpinhotel Berghaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Brugger's Geniesserhotel Lanersbacher Hof
0.8 km away
Sport Vital Hotel Central
7.1 km away
Kinder- & Gletscherhotel Hintertuxerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tuxertal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tuxertal

Property: Hotel Tuxertal
Address: Lanersbach 338, Tux 6293, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Tux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Tux
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,959 - ₹ 27,618
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tuxertal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tuxertal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing