We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This hotel is,in my view up with the best ski resort hotels I have stayed in. I (solo traveller) arrived late 8.30pm on Saturday 28/1/12 following a slight delay at Salzburg airport to be greeted by a most welcoming receptionist and waiter(Kostas) who both insisted that I enjoy a full dinner,despite the dining room officially closing at 8.30pm, before going through reception formalities - my luggage was taken and stored and I ate and drank and was never rushed despite the late hour.My room 330 was a third floor corner room which was plenty large enough for me and a lot of ski gear,nice bathroom,flat screen tv etc.
This standard of service and attention carried on all week in every department of the hotel and I felt I was very well looked after and indeed pampered at all times.The wellness and spa facilities were top class and I enjoyed the pool,jacuzzi,sauna and a complimentary massage to the full.
The food was all buffet style with comp beer,wine and soft drinks at dinner.At all times all the food was plentiful and hot(not lukewarm) with good choices of quality meats and fish each evening.My glass was replenished by Kostas who remained attentive to all his guests without being the least bit intrusive,a true professional in a dying profession.
I would reccommend this hotel to all and would imagine that Bad Hofgastein would be equally exquisite in Summer aswell as in winter.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms close to reception as they appeared to suffer a little more from normal hotel tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank whacker-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    55
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
35
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

great hotel - 10 mins to lift if walking but the ski bus stops just outside the hotel if you don't want to walk.
"small" rooms are adequate and not as "small" as we expected. We didn't need to pay the extra to upgrade.
Fabulous pool, jacuzzi area downstairs - great for adults and children alike. There is a seperate sauna area (nude) where children aren't allowed. (you can wear a towel if you wish)
We were all-inclusive and the food was amazing every night. Could't fault - standard and choice was remarkable. Free beer & wine with dinner.
Vast ski area - get lift pass to cover neighbouring resorts (well worth it) lots of blue & red runs - not many black runs - lots of opportunities for off-piste skiing.
a must is a visit to the alpen therm in the centre of the town. great pool & sauna areas for tired limbs
would highly recommend this resort and this hotel. Staff especially Costas - fabulous.
will definately be back

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This is a very good hotel. Very good food and free drinks with meals. Right next to the cross country ski loipe and across the park from the town centre and the Alpen Therme - thermal spa. Ski busstop outside or 10 minute walk to ski hire shops/bottom of lift. Free buses round town. Some really good skiing in the area. We had one of the bigger bedrooms and there was loads of room and storage space. Lovely pool, sauna and relaxation area. Ski store in hotel plus tennis courts. Open fire in bar area. Not much character to the place as a relatively new and functional hotel, but very clean and warm. Live music in the bar on most evenings. Very quiet - you cannot hear anything from neighbouring rooms - so a restful and relaxing break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DoloresCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The Palace is a great hotel. It is very comfortable and a good base for a ski holiday. We had a spacious room, there were some smaller ones but during a low season week we got lucky. Bar and reception areas are now smoke free and food is excellent, all buffet style but lots of choice. The staff were, without exception, friendly and efficient. Spa facilities also very nice. there is a ski bus stop outside but we preferred the 10 min walk across the park. We stored our ski gear at the Hire shop right by the lift. It cost 15 euros per week (50 for a family of 4). the ski bus service is. Wry efficient and not much hassle. Buses always leave on time so don't be late! They seem to predict heavy numbers and put more buses on. Our favourite place to ski was Dorfgastein, a short ride away. Some people were complaining about ski school, watch out on a week with low numbers as the standards in the group are too disparate for an effective lesson. It is a good idea to wait until you are here then book one day to suss it out. The two hour private lessons were good. The small town is quaint.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank safariSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livigno, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I've been there last week and I was travelling for work. Unfortunately, due to road conditions and lenght of the trip, I got there, with my colleagues at 8.30 p.m., time when the kitchen closes. Instead of having us going to eat immediately, the receptionist ( a medium age guy, who forgot good manners) guaranteed we would have had something cold. Surprise! It was a platter of cheese and salami and some bread, that wasn't enough for the 6 of us ( after 6,5 hours drive). Nothing else. Not even a piece of cake.
I haven't seen the spa, but for what it concers the hotel, I have to admit it wasn't enough to be a four star. Wanna know something more? With us there was a disabled person, who should have had a room close to the lift. They gave him a room at the end of a long corridor.
I think, if we had slept in a 3 star, normal service hotel, we would have been treated way much better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlessiaLivigno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Hofgastein hotels
0.5 km away
Salzburgerhof Hotel
Salzburgerhof Hotel
#4 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#18 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.6 km away
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
#10 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
#9 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 km away
Akzent Hotel Germania
Akzent Hotel Germania
#13 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.5 km away
Norica
Norica
#6 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johannesbad Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johannesbad Hotel Palace

Property: Johannesbad Hotel Palace
Address: Alexander-Moser-Allee 13, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Hofgastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#10 Spa Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,414 - ₹ 11,804
Hotel Class:4 star — Johannesbad Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefree holiday spending guests in the cosy center of Bad Hofgastein. The 4 star hotel Palace is a relaxing house for everyone. Surrounded by a huge garden with a park on 30.000m² . The sun terrace, walking paths and a small pond invite to enjoying . The nice comfortable rooms have all a balcony and panoramic view. A conference room is available. Mountain Station, the great therme Alpentherme and the shopping area - everything is within walking distance. In panoramic indoor pool guests can relax in the healing Gastein thermal water. Even a beauty farm and a renowned Health Center, the Palace to call his own. When in the evening the migrants return from their tours, the spa guests are completely relaxed, the golfers have packed their bags and the families come fully fueled with experience in the hotel's restaurant, everyone like the international buffet. An interesting detail: The table drinks are for all meals - from breakfast and brunch to dinner - included. Some days in the week live music seduced to a goodnight drink at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Johannesbad Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kur- And Sport-Hotel Palace
Kur Sport Hotel Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing