We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sex in the jacuzzi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Reviewed 6 May 2009

The hotel i would suggest is a 4 * standard and not 5. The carpet in the bedoom had burn marks and the bathroom was a little old fashioned. The Food was very good, and a great breakfast. We stayed at this hotel because of the Spa facilities, they looked very good, We had a very big surprise when we started using the facilities, They have a jucuzzi in the middle of the spa area. There was a couple in the Spa having Full Sex! This put my girlfriend off using the facilities and deffinately the Jacuzzi !
We instead paid money to go to the main spa in the town. We did not go back to the hotel spa facility. I did e mail the hotel about the situation and they did say sorry, but this ruined our break and was just surprised they allowed such activity in a 5* Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BobBoothby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2009

My husband and I spent a week here in January and enjoyed our stay. The bedrooms, we had a `studio` which is larger than a large double and has a larger siting area, are clean and modern as you would expect. Our bathroom was lovely with loo separated by glass door, jacuzzi bath, shower cabinet (rather a small one if we`re being fussy!) and twin basin. Plenty of thick towels and underfloor heating.

The ground floor of the hotel is taken up with conference rooms leaving only one lounge - which includes at one end the reception area. Although there is a fireplace at one end of this room (as shown in the hotel brochure) it is not a welcoming room to sit for a drink or chat for example after skiing or after dinner as it feels as if you are waiting in the reception for a taxi to arrive! There is a small and VERY smokey bar off the reception room ............ but that`s it for reception rooms.

The restaurant is divided by the buffet and the side closer to the entrance is much nicer than the other side. Probably tables are allocated according to room type although it`s probably worth dressing up a bit when going down for dinner the first night as we noticed that the Head waiter seemed to put any more casually dressed parties in the `second` dining room! Anyway, food is fine if unexceptional; wine expensive as you would expect starting from around 30 euro +. With the exception of the Head waiter who was charming, the other waiting staff were very young and, although pleasant, not very experienced which is unusual for a 5* hotel. For example we regularly had to call a waiter to pour us more wine (they follow the ridiculous system of putting your bottle on a table as far away from where you are sitting as possible, as do lots of places) and then the wine would be poured by reaching across one of the diners. Overall it was perfectly OK but NOT special.

The spa however IS special! One of the biggest spa areas I have ever used with no fewer than 4 types of sauna and 4 types of stem bath. A good swimming pool - 1.5 m deep in all places as is the modern way nowadays. Huge relaxation areas rather remeniscent of Benidorm beach on a bank holiday Monday with lots of beds in a row - I mean LOTS! One amusing thing was watching the different cultures/nationalities use of the wellness area. The Europeans (about 50%) stripped of to the buff as always but the Russians/Polish (about 40% ) resolutely refused to remove their bathing costumes!

We paid around £400 per night for our room half board which is, of course, fairly cheap for a 5* hotel so any criticism I make must be weighed against that. We found the hotel soulless; processed rather than welcomed (although very efficiently processed!) everthing was `fine` as opposed to `fantastic`. If you stay here I am sure you will have little cause for complaint but possibly, like us, feel in no great hurry to return.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Grand Park is a nice if a bit tired hotel with an excellent restaurant and spa. Worn carpets and graffiti in the elevator look out of place in a hotel claiming to be 5-star. Rooms are a bit smallish and some don't have a bath, just the shower. Ski storage room is damp, dark, lacks proper heating and any sort of work desk to adjust your skis, but really -- noone in his/her right mind would go to Bad Hofgastein for serious skiing.

On the positive side, restaurant is outstandingly good. Food quality makes the half-board stay a great value -- it's quite easy to pay the same for the meal alone in nearby restaurants, and it won't be half as good. Wine list is brief, catering more to nouveau riche than to a thirsty diner. There's a separate wine cellar that I didn't have time to check out.

Spa, saunas and swimming pool are great. Spotless, fresh, never crowded, and working reasonable hours too! Being able to avoid the crowds, filth and ugliness of the public thermal baths is alone worth the price of staying at Grand Park.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alexkorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

We went with friends in Jan 09, for a week's skiing.
The Hotel was very, very good..the rooms were clean, well maintained and a good size..I would recommend a view over Schlosshalm, rather than out of the back, as the snow clearing machine starts at about 6am each morning, which is right at the back of the hotel, clearing the car park.
The restaurant was very grand, very good menu (we had an inclusive Dinner, which was 5 courses each night)..everything we had was very well prepared, served and presented....it is a lot of food though, so some of our group opted for the "vital" (healthy menu) on some nights, missed courses out altogether, and also asked if they could make something else. They staff were more than happy to make anything we wanted...one of the group wanted a Weiner Schnizel on the last night whilst another wanted some fish, rather than meat..even though it was the last night 7 course Gala Dinner, they were very happy to prepare alternatives.
The restaurant wine prices are quite high, with the lowest price bottles being above €30...no doubt good wines, but I think they could do with some lower cost bottles..as it gets expensive drinking 2 bottles per night for a week.
The Spa facility is fantastic, especially after a hard days skiing...make sure you get the "sauna surprise with Walter" on the hour at 4,5,6 and 7.

All in all, a great hotel and one we would look to go back to next year.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We spent a good part of the vacation trying to remember how we reached the decision to come to the Grand Park...basically, who to credit with one of the finest vacations we've had in years. Our days were glorious, spent walking in the mountains, planned carefully every morning by a member of the staff, who did this with the greatest enthusiasm....the landscape, the beautiful paths through the mountains...we were speechless, everyday a nicer walk than the day before....we set out after a delectable breakfast of every delicacy known to man. We would return in the late afternoon to the spa, where the pool, whirlpool and saunas were beyond inviting...everyday, we took a radon bath and a massage...a treat for the flesh and the senses....then we would retreat to our wonderful suite with three balconies looking out over the countryside...get dressed and go down for the most wonderful dinners....five courses of beautifully prepared food (reminded me a bit of the food on Crystal Cruises)...the maitre d' chose fabulous Austrian wines for us every night and we discovered new grapes that were divine.....in short after spending many years in the different Swiss and French resorts, we have decided that we will return to the Grand Park for many years to come........did I mention, that I actually lost five pounds in the ten days of our stay...I think the radon baths may account for an acceleration of the metabolism........truly a paradise hidden away in the Austrian Alps.....

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JoyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Hofgastein hotels
0.6 km away
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
#10 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
150 reviews
0.7 km away
Das.Goldberg
Das.Goldberg
#1 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
352 reviews
0.2 km away
Klammer's Kaernten
Klammer's Kaernten
#11 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Norica
Norica
#6 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
180 reviews
0.5 km away
Impuls Tirol Hotel
Impuls Tirol Hotel
#5 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
166 reviews
1.3 km away
Zum Stern
Zum Stern
#8 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal

Address: Kurgartenstrasse 26, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria (Formerly Grand Park Hotel)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Hofgastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Price Range: ₹ 11,648 - ₹ 32,405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the motto "…of life close to the mountains", DAS ALPENHAUS GASTEINERTAL offers regional authenticity with a contemporary touch. A lifestyle, deliberately in the four-star category, with a range of first-class pampering and service options. Preserving the original, sustaining tradition, not forgetting our roots, having your finger on the pulse of the time and making this accessible to guests from all over the world. DAS ALPENHAUS GASTEINERTAL combines traditional values with alpine lifestyle and Austrian flair. In a prime location in the centre of Bad Hofgastein, 89 rooms and suites with completely new furnishings in an alpine ambience await you from December. The former Grand Park Hotel Bad Hofgastein shines in new splendour and offers guests from all over the world the four pillars of holiday bliss: fine food, exercise, wellness and health. The hotel’s multifaceted Alpenhaus.Gastronomy is sure to satisfy gourmets as well as nutritionally conscious guests. Be it pamper-board, cuisine suitable for allergy sufferers, vegan or vegetarian fare – the choice is yours. A stylish a la carte restaurant, a bar and a wonderful sun terrace with splendid mountain views top off the culinary options. The 2,000 m² large ALPEN.VEDA.SPA, an extensive range of wellness and health options as well as the specially developed Alpen.Kraft.Selfness-Programme (from yoga to meditative walking) are at your disposal in the SPA- and health hotel. Furthermore, the SPA-ZONE has an indoor pool, whirlpool, numerous saunas, relaxation rooms, a state-of-the-art fitness room as well as exercise, yoga and meditation rooms. FEEL FREE! The ski area Gasteinertal and Ski amade close-by, numerous cross-country skiing tracks, winter hiking trails as well as many other winter sports and leisure options beckon to venture out into the great outdoors. The hiking area Almorama in Gastein with its unique natural landscape provides an extensive network of trails. Enjoy hikes and mountain bike tours to idyllic mountain lakes, numerous alpine farms in Gasteinertal and up to the summits with fabulous panoramas. Plenty of variety on your holidays is ensured in DAS ALPENHAUS GASTEINERTAL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing