We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nollaighb."Average with expensive restaurant"”
Review of Samed Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Samed Club
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Spent 3 weeks travelling Vietnam ,Cambodia & Thailand, then spent a week here to relax..The restaurant was the most expensive of all the countries we were in.Would not mind if the quality and standard of food was good.Dined there the first night, the food was cold and the quality poor.. Breakfast was a hit and miss affair, one day cold,ok the next.Restaurants in the village much more authentic and cheaper.Someplaces half the price.Only good thing was its location to the beach.Really ripping off tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nollaigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Samed Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

Restaurant and room is nice and worth.
Beach is nice but has too many bloody sucker bugs. I couldn't even sit more than 5 mins. I have 10 huge spots back home. It is not mosq but blood sucker bug.
Pool is nice to sit around but not for swim, too dirty to swim.

Service is almost good. Just miscommunication between front and guard that made trouble to me. Front said I can park in front of hotel but guard said no. I told them to talk and let me know if I need to move it. In the morning, my bike is moved without notification.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polpipath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights and we often felt like we had stepped out of reality into a magazine photo shoot for a tropical island paradise! we were greeted on our arrival with a cool and refreshing fruit drink and within moments were in bungalow #201, very close to the beach. our teenage children were in a nearby bungalow, not next door as we requested, which we were initially were upset about, but as time wore on, we realized we were very safe there and there was nothing to worry about!

the bungalows were so lovely. we had a king bed and our children had two twin beds. very confortable, and a large separate changing area with closet, mini bar and safe in the room. the bathroom fittings were very new and modern and the air conditioning units all new LG slim units. patios had nice wooden chairs and tables and drying racks. You get two free bottles of water a day.

the beach was incredible, on the small side, but deserted! we were the ONLY people on it! the water was so warm, it was so clean and well maintained, sweep and raked very morning. the lady manager was always asking us how everything was. we went on a day time snorkeling trip and no sooner had we got off the boat was she there asking after us. we also arranged for bicycle rental from the front desk for 24 hours (500baht each) and cycled everywhere, it was fabulous! saw so much of the island. i recommend going to see the BIG white buddha and visiting the monk there. i recommend this option, much safer than renting motorbikes!

the breakfast was fabulous at Samed Club. you help yourself to crossiant, toast, jam, cereal etc and order a la carte off a menu, as much as you want. (i have taken a picture of the menu in my photos) and everything is delicious. there are sauteed potatoes too, that are not on the menu. you sit there, on the beach, you can't believe where you are! heavenly! pool is lovely, no chlorine, fresh water system.

we had one dinner there and it was fabulous. quite expensive. for our other dinners, we either walked into town or rode our bikes. if you want drinks and snacks, instead of using the mini bar, walk out of the resort, turn right and walk 90 seconds down the road and buy stuff at the mini mart there, it is WAAAY cheaper!

i would definitely recommend staying at Samed Club again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Salsajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here for three nights before having to move for our last two nights to Mooban Talay, the next hotel up the coast, as Samed club was fully booked for Mother's Day.

The hotel provides a free shuttle boat from Seree Ban Phe and you pay 200 baht per person at the pier for your entry into the national park. We were greeted with genuine smiles and a nice cold drink on arrival and shown promptly to our room. The room was well presented and clean. However, western customs have infiltrated this non tipping culture and I was surprised when the porters actually hung back in anticipation of their tip (which I was more than happy to provide...but didn't anticipate that they were expecting them). The bathroom was perhaps a little disappointing for a hillside deluxe room as it was primarily made of concrete but this was really a very minor issue. The television provided an array of english speaking channels and there was a security box in the room for our convenience. The hotel (as many thai hotels do) provided two bottles of free drinking water each day.

Breakfast was virtually on the beach which was very pleasant each morning. There was a selection of continental breads and fruit and then you could choose what hot foods you fancied from a good menu selection.

We only ate once at the hotel for lunch. However, the food was fresh and tasted really good. I can recommend the duck and the chicken with cashew nuts. However, price wise we felt that the hotel was about 25% more expensive that other restaurants you could visit for similar food quality....and unfortunately it is clear that they are profiteering a little from the western clientel. Watch out for the 17% they add to your food bill as all prices are listed as net. All in all though the meal was still quite reasonable £20 for lunch and drinks for two.

The hotel is on the northern stretch of the island and I would recommend that you hire scooters to visit the island. However, beware the roads are very treacherous and you will not really manage to do more than 20 kmph, especially when navigating the roughest road that leads to the south of the island.

The beach at the hotel is fine but we preferred to venture out and visit as many as possible. For entertainment at night Sai Kaew Beach is always busy and with the best choice of restaurants. However, in the day, we preferred the more relaxed beaches of vonduearn, sangtian, ao prao and our favourite ao wai, which really was quite secluded and pristine.

We did have one item of clothing stolen from our balcony. However, it wasn't valuable. We reported it to reception and the Head of Housekeeping tried her best to help us but we never got the item back. We can't be sure whether it was staff or customers who took the item. So just be weary of leaving things on your balcony!!!!

We had a pleasant time here and would recommend it as a good choice for the £50 per night budget.

Room Tip: agoda did the best rate here
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0amingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Location is too far away from Saikaew, the beach is bad, room build quality is awful (see the title), the pool is mediocre, the staff speak poor english but they try really hard and are friendly

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Poytatennaajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
2.0 km away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
720 reviews
5.4 km away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
1.0 km away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Baan Ploy Sea
Baan Ploy Sea
#5 of 61 in Ko Samet
75 reviews
1.1 km away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
374 reviews
2.6 km away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samed Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Club

Address: 25 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Ko Samet
Price Range: ₹ 4,967 - ₹ 12,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samed Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samed Club, is located on the north coast of beautiful Samet island, famed for its pristine white beaches. This small, intimate seaside resort offers 30 bungalows and cottages with sea, garden or moutain views, set around a magnificent swimming pool and backing onto green hillside. Only 2 1/2 hours by road from Bangkok to Rayong, or one hour from the lively resort town of Pattaya, followed by a short sea crossing in our shuttle boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samed Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samed Club Koh Samet Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing