We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$36
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Agoda.com
$32
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Hotels.com$49
Priceline$57
Travelocity$49
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
48
81
35
24
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
81
35
24
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We've just come back from 5 nights in this hotel and have had a wonderful time. We had not been to Koh Samet before, but picked this beach as it was the second largest on the island (we wanted to be in an area where there was enough going on, without being on the main beach). The hotel was lovely and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our rooms (we stayed in the superior beach view) were simple but nicely decorated. We had a mini bar and received 2 bottles of complimentary water everyday. The only thing I would have liked in my room would have been a kettle as I enjoy a cup of tea in the morning, but this was no big deal for 5 nights. We had a great view of the beach from our room.

There are 2 restaurants - the beach one and the one on the rocks overlooking the sea. Both pretty much served the same thing. The pizzas were lovely as was the BBQ.

Will definitely return.

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank toffeedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed in Vongduern Villa for 2 nights. We were quite disappointed by the rooms, it was very small and simple. The most disappointing part was the bathroom which did not seem very clean and we felt like they should refurbish this room. They were ants in the room. Though, apart from the room, everything was perfect. Vongduern beach is beautiful and very peaceful. The restaurant just by the sea is also perfect and moderetaly priced. Overall, staff was friendly and helpful (though we were travelling with a Thai friend which could speak Thai with the staff, so we cannot confirm or contradict the other reviews which said that the staff is not very welcoming towards foreigners).
Overall, we liked our stay, but were disappointing by the rooms, so next time, we will try to find a more comfortable place.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nummy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The restaurant is lovely with low tables on the rocks shaded by trees and blessed by breeze at the end of the bay. Dinner has the usual, good quality and very reasonably priced Thai menu, including very good seafood. Breakfast is nothing to scream about, the usual island's menu which has not evolved in 20 years - but cheap. There is a small bar though, serving passable real coffee and good smoothies. The renovated rooms we saw are well appointed, clean, functional and welcoming, - not overdone like many other upmarket resorts in the islands, now turned into urban developments. The beach is great, at high tide it is narrow but very beautiful seen from the restaurant. Service is good and professional.

Room tip: They have recently renovated the rooms. We got one next to others which were still under renovation, with debris and building materials scattered all over. They will fix up the landscape soon, looking at the very pretty landscaping done in other areas of the resort. There is a large choice of rooms and presumably they will all be renovated soon. A room over the rocks at the end of the bay is farther from the nightlife and music.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerXY_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 December 2012

first time back here for a good couple of years and if anything its improved
rooms and bathrooms are bigger,there is now a coffee / smoothie shop which is great value
food is outstanding in both outlets with the one on the rocks best on the beach

staff very friendly but also efficient

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 November 2012

The pictures posted on their website are so nice but it was nothing like that in real lilfe.

We got a family suite. The sheets had stains, pillow cases had stains, and to my surprise, even my towel had a black stain! The bathroom was kind of disgusting with the door broken, thank God they had hot showers though. There were ants in our room.

Positive side:
Outside the rooms is PARADISE, great not-so-crowded beach and convenient location. Many many good restaurants in the area! The resort's restaurant itself was pretty good in a very good location, it was very romantic. The resort grounds is actually awesome!

Would I book this hotel again? Probably not. I'd rather pay extra without having to worry whether i'll be devoured by ants while I'm sleeping.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsjwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews