We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
58
134
79
40
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
134
79
40
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black pearl fan bungalow great beach per night great escape we loved our stay tropical island beach towels buffet breakfast beach view nice resort silver sands samet island hot shower bars and restaurants white sand beach other resorts
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Beaches, Thailand, fantastic, it's a given. Where to go depends on your travel plans and in the case of densely packed places like Phuket or Pattaya, on your tolerance of hordes of tourists in season. For a quieter option we chose Rayong and Ko Samet island (aka Ko Samed or Koh Samed) in the Gulf of Thailand a ferry ride out of Rayong is about 2 hours south of Bangkok - an easy commute and add-on trip if your primary destination in Thailand is Bangkok.

There are clusters of hotels and resorts on different segments of the island ranging from backpacker to 5 star. TubTim is a resort on the end of one of the beaches on the east side of the island where every room is it's own individual bungalow. The bungalows are arranged on a hillside so all of them face the ocean, some with better views than others. We were lucky to get a lower bungalow with an unobstructed view.

As big as a normal size hotel room (with a patio deck and reclining chairs) the interior has a nice size bed, shower, TV, bathroom, AC and WiFi. The resort has their own restaurant with tables on the beach and a sheltered patio restaurant where the complimentary breakfast is served.

You can just chill at TubTim the whole trip (honeymooner) or walk along the beach and a short distance away try other restaurants, rent a motor scooter and explore the island or get a Thai massage under a palm tree listening to the ocean. A few of the resorts/restaurants have large bars and add nightlife to the island.

Room Tip: Some of the bungalow's are larger, sleep 4-6 people, others just for two, balance view vs your travel party size.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuyM1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

The resort was lovely and right on the beach. The restaurant and bar was very good and fairly priced. And best of all was what we got for what we paid for the room. A friend and I split the cheapest bungalow they had, and we ended up paying about $11 (usd) a night, which was cheaper than the hostel on the island we were looking at. (We'd waited until the last minute to book and there were few options left.)

We stayed in the "Bungalow (with fan)" and I was nervous going in that the fan wouldn't be enough to keep us cool but it totally was. I guess my only complaint was that there were no electric outlets in the room. We ended up using portable batteries and then charging our phones at the area by the front desk. We were only there for a couple nights so it worked out for us, but any longer and it would've been a lot more of an inconvenience. Even so, I personally find that a worthy sacrifice for the low price we paid and great everything else.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Had a few days to get out of bangkok. Last minutes booking.
Great and quick confirmation. Arrival on the beach. So simple but so nice. Great welcome. BungLow b zone but 1 minute from the beach. Clean, prompt service and most amazing sunrise.
Food is good. Try the wings, by the dozens. So friendly and a few minutes from busy beach next door. A few more items for breakfast would be great. Bacon, fried potatoes. That it. Well done and the new reception is looking great too.. tks

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank youbel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Nice budget resort. Good beach front of the resort. Good buffet breakfast. Friendly and helpful front office. I suggest to take speed boat to hotel cause "taxis" are so expensive and speed boat takes you straight to resort. Lizards and frogs might be little bit noisy sometimes :)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Toni I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Its a nice place to stay. Backpackers can get a cheap accomodation in their Fan bunglows. But opt for an A/C bunhlow if you are staying with family. Ask for A2 or A3 bunglow. They are generally empty because of they are located near the kitchen. But there is no disturbance as such and these 2 bunglows have best sea view in this category. The food of their beach restaurant is gud.

Few negative points during my stay.

The mattress was not good. Spring broken but I did not complain as it already late night.
The beach is not that much clean as compared to other beaches.

Overall, it is a good option but there are better options available at the island.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Vipulmahajan1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews