We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value stay on a paradise island”
Review of Tub Tim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tub Tim Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Positives:
We loved our stay at Tubtim, with its perfect location right on the beach. We rode around the island on a motorbike and didn't find another beach that was quite so clean and secluded, while also having access to great food. The accommodation itself was clean and comfy - we were in a fan-cooled bungalow, which kept us cool enough even in 39 degrees! The bed was enormous and the shower worked fine, with hot and cold water (though you really don't need hot showers in that temperature!). The terrace was a lovely place to sit and read. The restaurant was probably our favourite spot - there's nothing like drinking fresh mango shakes and eating a plate of bbq prawns with your feet in the sand, listening to the waves! The menu has a great selection of food at reasonable prices for the island. Overall, we would definitely recommend Tubtim for a relaxing few days on the beach.

Negatives:
Staff were polite but could have been a little friendlier (with the exception of one of the waiters, who was particularly nice). If we wanted to organise anything, such as boats back to the mainland, minibuses from Ban Phe or motorbike rental, we found it easier to go to Pudsa Bungalows next door, whose staff were much more helpful and would arrange tickets etc for us. The Koh Samet website says that Tubtim offers free ferry transfer from Ban Phe, but if this is the case, we didn't manage it. Getting there is no problem with the big boat and then a cheap shared taxi from the pier, but it's tougher getting back as all the taxis are going the wrong way and make you pay 200 baht to leave straight away. It's probably worth organising a speedboat (via Pudsa Bungalows just next door) to pick you up directly at the beach and take you to Ban Phe as it comes to much the same price once you've factored in getting to the pier, is cheaper and ultimately it's cool to be picked up on the beach...! Overall, though, we loved it here and would recommend!

Room Tip: Fan-cooled bungalows are fine, even in May
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

Beaches, Thailand, fantastic, it's a given. Where to go depends on your travel plans and in the case of densely packed places like Phuket or Pattaya, on your tolerance of hordes of tourists in season. For a quieter option we chose Rayong and Ko Samet island (aka Ko Samed or Koh Samed) in the Gulf of Thailand a ferry ride out of Rayong is about 2 hours south of Bangkok - an easy commute and add-on trip if your primary destination in Thailand is Bangkok.

There are clusters of hotels and resorts on different segments of the island ranging from backpacker to 5 star. TubTim is a resort on the end of one of the beaches on the east side of the island where every room is it's own individual bungalow. The bungalows are arranged on a hillside so all of them face the ocean, some with better views than others. We were lucky to get a lower bungalow with an unobstructed view.

As big as a normal size hotel room (with a patio deck and reclining chairs) the interior has a nice size bed, shower, TV, bathroom, AC and WiFi. The resort has their own restaurant with tables on the beach and a sheltered patio restaurant where the complimentary breakfast is served.

You can just chill at TubTim the whole trip (honeymooner) or walk along the beach and a short distance away try other restaurants, rent a motor scooter and explore the island or get a Thai massage under a palm tree listening to the ocean. A few of the resorts/restaurants have large bars and add nightlife to the island.

Room Tip: Some of the bungalow's are larger, sleep 4-6 people, others just for two, balance view vs your t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

The resort was lovely and right on the beach. The restaurant and bar was very good and fairly priced. And best of all was what we got for what we paid for the room. A friend and I split the cheapest bungalow they had, and we ended up paying about $11 (usd) a night, which was cheaper than the hostel on the island we were looking at. (We'd waited until the last minute to book and there were few options left.)

We stayed in the "Bungalow (with fan)" and I was nervous going in that the fan wouldn't be enough to keep us cool but it totally was. I guess my only complaint was that there were no electric outlets in the room. We ended up using portable batteries and then charging our phones at the area by the front desk. We were only there for a couple nights so it worked out for us, but any longer and it would've been a lot more of an inconvenience. Even so, I personally find that a worthy sacrifice for the low price we paid and great everything else.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Had a few days to get out of bangkok. Last minutes booking.
Great and quick confirmation. Arrival on the beach. So simple but so nice. Great welcome. BungLow b zone but 1 minute from the beach. Clean, prompt service and most amazing sunrise.
Food is good. Try the wings, by the dozens. So friendly and a few minutes from busy beach next door. A few more items for breakfast would be great. Bacon, fried potatoes. That it. Well done and the new reception is looking great too.. tks

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank youbel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Nice budget resort. Good beach front of the resort. Good buffet breakfast. Friendly and helpful front office. I suggest to take speed boat to hotel cause "taxis" are so expensive and speed boat takes you straight to resort. Lizards and frogs might be little bit noisy sometimes :)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Toni I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.4 km away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
751 reviews
0.2 km away
Samed Villa Resort
Samed Villa Resort
#2 of 20 in Ko Samet
658 reviews
0.7 km away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Paradee Resort
Paradee Resort
#1 of 20 in Ko Samet
646 reviews
0.8 km away
Vimarn Samed Resort
Vimarn Samed Resort
#17 of 20 in Ko Samet
100 reviews
1 km away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tub Tim Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tub Tim Resort

Address: 13/15 Moo 4 | Tambon Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range: ₹ 1,594 - ₹ 6,633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tub Tim Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tub Tim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tubtim Hotel Rayong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing