We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ill treatment - Please avoide this place”
Review of BB Estate Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BB Estate Homestay
Ranked #9 of 123 Madikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ill treatment - Please avoide this place”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our experience with BB Home Stay was almost similar to the review “Pathetic Customer Service” posted by sraghura. We booked the room for two days and was asked to pay Rs.2000/ day as rent. My hubby paid one day's rent in advance to confirm the bookings. All was well until we paid the advance money. When we reached Madikeri all their numbers were

switched off. We managed to find a landline number which was answered by their maid. We asked the maid to inform the owners that we are coming by 12 noon and asked them to call us back. But no calls. We found the place by asking directions by passersby and reached the place. The lady (Anita) did no have a welcoming face and asked us to wait saying the guests are still vacating. Seeing that the room is attached to the main bungalow (almost like a out house sharing a common wall) I wanted to see the room before deciding to stay. Anita was not happy about this and asked us to wait until the room is cleaned. We waited and
were shocked to see the room was a old fashioned room with windows looking outside the small patch of gardens where workers are constantly working. Absolutely zero privacy. The toilet was again old one overlooking the dinning table. wonder how people can eat here? When we asked if there are any private rooms Anita kept saying there is nothing else
and she has been in business for 8 years and everyone likes her home stay. What sort of marketing! We decided to stay there for one day (as we already paid one days rent) but Anita was not happy about that as well. She instantly brought some prints giving details of her terms and conditions, which typically says 50% of cancellation charge. I really started getting pissed with this lady attitude and said we are not canceling but still saying for a day but she was insisting we pay another 1000 rupees. All this while she was stressing that she is in business for 8 years.
I said yes 'you are in business' and absolutely no customer service she gave a rude comment on my accent. I was extremely hurt by her attitude and wanted to leave the place without staying there even for a minute. I'm writing this review for the sake of other fellow travelers who plan to stay this place. The owners attitude is extremely bad and they are running pure business all this by evading tax in the name of guest house. The lady running
this place is extremely arrogant and makes personal attacks on guests coz of her much educated attitude. The prices are exorbitant for a old nasty place like this. She hasn't spent a single penny to refurbish the place but wants to make max money. Also note there is no entertainment around this stay as you will some plants in pottery and absolutely nothing else. We stayed in 'Capitol Village' in a premium room (Rs.1750/day) for a lesser money with great hospitality.

Room Tip: Capitol village offers rooms for Rs.1500/ day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank friend2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    28
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
50
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I would recommend this place to anyone who would love to stay in neat, decent, calm, clean room. The hosts were very helpful in providing travel tips and the maid service were available whenever needed.

Room Tip: I think the front side suite room is more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BachuShabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We called up and booked this Home stay on the evening before our arrival. ( The KSRTC website gave us a big shock when we tried to book the Airavat. It showed 4 of them and tickets available in 2 where as only one was plying! luckily we got tickets in a
Rajahamsa).

The hosts were cooperative and arranged a pickup from the bus stand early morning.
They let us knew in advance that the weather is wet and there might be showers.
We landed there early morning and they were kind to let us do an early check in since there were no other bookings that day.

Don't go at this place assuming it to be a fancy place or like a regular hotel. This one is very pleasantly like a home stay! It is a very unpretentious place.

As soon as we reached the place we crashed on the beds to catch up some sleep. Got up by 8:30, had a lovely break fast and spent a lot of time chatting in the sit-out.

We had the suite facing a very nice garden .The bungalow is amidst a sprawling 120 acres of a coffee estate.

There were not many activities to do there since it was raining intermittently but we enjoyed the hot coffee and the view from our sit outs.

Had lunch and then dozed off a bit. In the evening we went for a stroll along the estate. sat on the zhoolas for quite some time.

On day two we requested Madan to arrange for a sight seeing tour which he did. The cabbie was his regular person and was very nice and gave us a lot of information about the region, places and its vegetation.

We went to Dubare first. The cab driver rushed us in time to catch the pachyderms bathing and feeding. Got some wonderful clicks at this location. Then we went visiting nisarga dhama and the Buddhist monastery.On our return we saw spots in Madikeri aka mercara. The view from the Raja's seat was amazing.We were back by 4:30 . Had a cuppa and relaxed in our sit out reading a book on the history of the coorgs or kodavas.

The food served was good including some unique dishes from that region. The portions served were very sumptuous.

We had requested them for a camp fire which we enjoyed a lot. Barbequed some potatoes and chatted some more! We were lucky that it did not rain so much.

The place is really in the middle of a huge plantation so it gave a feeling of living in a forest during the dark hours of the night. The sounds of nature..The crickets, the toads and the hooting of the owls all added to the theme!The morning stroll along the road was very pleasant.

We were wondering why we did not have a clock in our suite! But then it would have killed the whole purpose of a relaxed week end away from the city's hustle.
It gave a feeling of time-less-ness .

The highlight of this tour was that both of us got a very good time to connect with each other. The hosts Madan and Anita are nice and warm and we enjoyed our conversations with them.At the same time they were not intrusive which ensured privacy for the guests.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and plan to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satishonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I booked a room at this homestay after calling up Anitha/Madan. I was asked to transfer a night's rent of Rs. 1200; since we were sure about our travel, as a goodwill, I transfered Rs. 2000 to them. I specifically mentioned that I was traveling with my wife, who is in her 5th month of pregnancy. I called up the homestay at around 9.30 from Srirangapatna, around 150km from Coorg and told her that we would be reaching afternoon to which Anitha asked us to call once we reached Mercara so that she could give directions.

We finished our lunch en route and reached mercara by around 3pm when all hell begun. All their phone numbers were unreachable. One was perpetually busy, one other was "temporarily out of service" and yet another was happily switched off. No signboards, nothing on their website (bbhomestayestate.com) either.

Since my wife was begining to feel uneasy after the long drive, and after trying from 3pm to 4pm, we gave up and booked a room at the Club Maindra for a whopping 14k. for 2 nights since the last thing I wanted was a bad holiday.

We were constantly trying to the homestay and finally managed to reach them by around 7pm wherein this lady coolly says "oh we were wondering where you were"!! Is this the sort of response you expect? and that too when I had stressed, not just once but several times that I was travelling with my pregnant wife. I guess, having got their money they were least bothered about whether we were going to come or not! I told her that we could not reach her at all and hence we were forced to book at another place to which she said "why dont you come here tomorrow" - i still dont understand as to why they couldnt' have bothered to try calling us atleast once to know if we were on track or had some trouble!

When I requested her to retain a night's rent (1200) and refund 800Rs - she said that she'd discuss with her husband and get back - which she hasnt even after 3 follow up reminders.

In all, a real hell of an experience dealing with them. Will NEVER recommend this place to anyone. Please spend a bit more and stay at a hotel - atleast they have someone to man their phones and have some signboards to guide you.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank sraghura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We stayed in this homestay by Madan and Anita during the monsoons. It is in the middle of an estate, but could not walk around much due to the rains. Both the hosts are well educated and were happy to spent time with us explaining the Coorg culture, details on their estates etc. We stayed in the room which is part of the main Bungalow, it was very spacious and offered all the comforts of the home.

Highlights of this place 1) Excellent pork and other non veg food 2) Driveway to the house marked with trees on both sides 3) Good garden etc

Only disappointment was when the host announced they don’t have fishing option though it is listed in their website

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikeri hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
#7 of 23 in Madikeri
179 reviews
0.0 km away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 23 in Madikeri
432 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
0.0 km away
Victorian Verandaz
Victorian Verandaz
#2 of 123 in Madikeri
270 reviews
0.0 km away
Gowri Nivas
Gowri Nivas
#2 of 195 in Madikeri
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BB Estate Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BB Estate Homestay

Property: BB Estate Homestay
Address: B.B. Estate, Madikeri 571201, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg > Madikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Madikeri
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,458 - ₹ 4,335
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated 6 kms from madikeri amidst a 100 acre coffee plantation.We offer 2 suites for individual families and a 3 BR ancestral house for 6-12 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
BB Estate Homestay Coorg/Madikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing