We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever booked got strange experience.”
Review of Hilltown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilltown Hotel
Ranked #80 of 133 Madikeri B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have booked this hotel through travelguru and now writing the reveiw from the same hotel.on first day I tried to order Naan and some dishes from menu card and came to know that hotel can provide only chapati's. Again strange thing is that you have to pay bill after every order. Hotel take charges if you pay bill by Credit card. The location is the city surrounded by hospitals. No view of nature.Its my advice that please avoid this hotel. There are better home stays around which provide spacious rooms, good food and at very resoanable price.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushildhanawde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Hilltown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

For the price, it is a good option. Good service, good food in the restaurant below. It was crazy trying to find this hotel, as the chief approach road is so narrow that it will be missed. While the hotel is centrally located, that fact is useful only for hitchhikers or tourists who do not have their own car and want to foot around. For those who want to take their own car to Madikere, why do you want to be living in a hotel which is tucked away in some nondescript corner of some offshoot alley of some winding road! Madikere is not a very big place and if you have your vehicle, I would definitely recommend people to ignore 'location' considerations while searching for a lodging/hotel.

If you are a couple, better ask and insist for a double bed. By default they will offer you a room with two single beds 'joint' together. They have enough rooms, so your insistence would be obliged.

Rest, its good for the price, as I said.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, better ask and insist for a double bed. By default they will offer you a room w...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manizoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We booked this hotel, as we were looking for a hotel with basic amenities at an economical price. Also, since our bus was scheduled to reach Madikeri late night, we preferred a place close to the bus station. This hotel is located very close to the bus station. Overall, I would say, we had an average experience with this hotel, with some pluses and some minuses.

Pluses:
1. Located right at the centre of Madikeri, and hence it is at a walkable distance from some of the sightseeing places like Raja's seat, Madikeri Fort & Omkareshwara Temple. Also, there is a taxi stand a few meters from the hotel, where we can get cabs for sightseeing.
2. Room was clean, with hot water available any time. They had an LCD TV in the room also.
3. The staff were prompt and they appeared immediately after pressing the buzz for reception. Similarly, we vacated at around 4 am in the morning, the staff were patient and helpful.

Minuses
1. There were some minor problems everywhere. The tap in the bathroom was not functioning properly. Water was leaking from the shower whenever we opened the tap.
2. Water jug was not filled at the time of checking in. I notice another reviewer also mentioning the same. They filled it upon request, but this is something preliminary, and I guess should be done without we requesting for it.
3. They could do well with more pleasing personalities at the reception. My wife literally got frightened at the sight of the reception guy's appearance at the time of check-in.
4. They have an online booking facility in their website and using that I tried to book. However, when I called them, they are not aware of the online booking facility, and so I have to send an email!

The restaurant has an average ambience, and the food is also nothing special.

You can book this hotel, if you only require a room for sleeping and you do not intend to stay in the room longer. In our case this hotel worked well, as we spent most of the day in sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmnath1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I booked this hotel after reading reviews in Tripadvisor. I was a bit disappointed with almost everything with the hotel. Below are the pros and cons of the hotel
Pros:
1) They have big parking area
2) Rooms, furnishings and the toilets were clean
3) Economically priced but not cheap. I found cheaper and better hotels around.

Cons
1) The room service staff was too lazy and look disinterested in doing any work.
2) They don't have clean drinking water. The water jug was not filled in the room. On requesting for the same, the staff had no idea of what to do. They brought the drinking water in the jug but the water had bugs in it. So we had to forcibly buy bottled water
3) It always stank in the room because the kitchen was right under the room. They don't have proper exhaust for the kitchen.
4) They don't have shower in the bathroom. They provide a bucket and mug but the mug was broken in one of the rooms we booked. On requesting for the same, the staff brought a very old and used mug. They can improve in such minor things.
5) The room has a big open ventilator above the door. It becomes difficult to sleep in the room in cold weather since there is no way to close this ventilator.
6) The room had only one window which was covered by a curtain. The curtain was actually sealed on the window and we could not open the curtain to get some light.
7) The restaurant is average. We ate only once in this restaurant. We preferred another pure vegetarian restaurant near to this hotel.

Though this hotel provides a comfortable stay, I would not prefer to stay in this hotel again because of the above problems. My review may be contradicting to the other reviews but this was my experience

Room Tip: Avoid drinking the water provided by the hotel. Prefer to use bottled water. Ensure that the room i...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viral_kamdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hotel is central place hotel.I was there for 2 days and 2 nights it is pretty cosy place a bit difficult to locate but was really good to stay around.

The restaurant is pathetic you really cannot order any north indian veg dishes. It is completely tasteless.

The room service and hotel staff is very helpful,you have continous hot water running. No problem to stay around for longer period.

I would highly recommend to stay only for this restaurant.

Regards,
prashant katti

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prashantkatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikeri hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
#7 of 25 in Madikeri
182 reviews
0.3 km away
Vedanta Wake Up - Madikeri Town Center
1.3 km away
Prestige Residency, Madikeri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Hill View
Hotel Hill View
#20 of 25 in Madikeri
109 reviews
0.0 km away
La Flora Adam Estate
La Flora Adam Estate
#9 of 25 in Madikeri
16 reviews
0.8 km away
Danush Homestay
Danush Homestay
#17 of 25 in Madikeri
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltown Hotel

Address: Near Private Bus Station,Behind Vivus Hospital | Behind Jedi Hospital, Madikeri 571201, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg > Madikeri
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Madikeri
Price Range: ₹ 771 - ₹ 1,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilltown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Hilltown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltown Hotel Coorg/Madikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing