We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
27
1
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
27
1
0
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We were here on our honeymoon in 2012.Mrs. Aiyaap whom I would like to fondly call as aunty ensured that everything was perfect just like any parent would plan for their kids. It was aunty who planned our everyday itinery. She helped us get a good deal with the cab driver. Uncle showed us around his coffee plantation. The rooms were very clean and good. My first experience of a homestay was just wonderful. if in coorg no need to shell out lots of money & book a hotel room. AAshraya Homestay can be your best Ashraya. :)

Room tip: All rooms are quiet. Beautiful location.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mridhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Our first experience ever with a home stay began with a trip to Coorg and selecting Mrs. Aiyappa's coffee estate at Cheyandane for our 2 night stay. And wow, what a choice that we made!
From the moment I called up Mrs. Aiyappa for enquiring about her property and it's availability, the hospitality began therefrom. Whether it be the calls to inform us on the way so we don't get lost, or to check what my wife and I would've liked to have for lunch, ..the experience was like we were going to meet someone in the family, and not someone unknown.
Each moment we spent at their rich 3 floor estate was like a moment spent at a home away from home.. The hosts stay on the top floor, and we selected the 1st floor, while one could also select the Ground one... Both are equally good!
The house (and the estate) is tucked in a peaceful location, at a distance of roughly an hour from the crazy hustle bustle of Madikeri. One could wake up with the chirping of birds, the rays of mild sunshine on the face, and the occasional cool breeze that feels oh so refreshing!
Ms. and Mr. Aiyappa went out of their way to make us feel at home, by offering us warm homely hospitality, fantastic estate grown coffee, and sharing their rich family history over the wonderful dinners made complete by absolutely finger licking authentic Coorg food! Mr. Aiyappa helped plan our itinerary for the days, and gave us complete information on how to see the best of Coorg in the quickest of time! Also, our last day at Coorg was made even more special by Mr. Aiyappa with a tour of his wonderful estate, with rich stories around the trees that he and Mrs. Aiyappa grew together... How they knit this wonderful world piece by piece. Absolutely amazing! To top it all, as an extension of their warm gesture, they gave us fruits from their Orchard to take back home.. I found it to be really touching! It was like we had gone back in time when we used to visit our uncles and aunts during the summer breaks, and we'd never want to go back!!
A small word of advice to travelers... Its a Homestay, and expect yourselves to be greeted in and staying in a home. It's not a Hotel, and absolutely not for the guys who expect it to be one. Its a place with lovely hosts who cherish sharing their small world with people who appreciate. And believe me, we never felt for a second if we were staying away from our own home.
My wife and I truly thank Mrs and Mr. Aiyappa for their warm and cordial hosting, and I'm very sure our next visit to Coorg will surely have our stay confirmed at Ashraya!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank PrasunKundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

We booked the stay after going through the wonderful feedback here. However we had not expected much.
After the confirmation of the stay from us, aunty made sure that we were well posted about the climate and the route. Her calls made us feel that we are looked for and welcomed.
After having reached there we were overwhelmed to see and feel their beautiful place and their beautiful home and to top on it the couples had been waiting for us with a big smile. The home was beautiful and well kept, bathrooms were really spacious and neat. The linens were clean.
All this gave us a feel at home though away from home. The most looked forward thing of the stay - the food was amazing, tasty and well spread. We enjoyed the food as well as our kids.
Uncle was very caring and he made sure we are comfortable and we get the things that we looked for. Aunty took us for a walk through the estate and explained us the life of coffee from the plant to the cup. The natural fruits around the estate made us feel a maugli in the jungle.The rains, the birds chirping, kids playing around and a cup of coffee in our hand made it a perfect environment.
There is so much to write, but it is better that you go there are experience it!!!
Thank you again Uncle and Aunty
Pros - A stay that pampers and cools you down.
Cons - Tempted to go back again :)

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank George_Paul_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We spent two nights at Ashraya homestay for our weekend get away .It was a very delightful experience . Food and hospitality was very good .I think there stay is strategically well placed in Coorg. Connectivity to very good and weather was excellent considering this is summer time and rest of India is boiling.

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank 108rajeshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 January 2016

There are many ways to holiday in the beautiful district of Coorg. But an absolute "must- do" for all us city slickers, is to live in a homestay amid the plantations and open our eyes to a whole new world. Ashreya is an impeccably maintained, beautiful house, nestled within dense green plantations. Uncle and aunty are the most gracious and warm hosts. They would generously converse with us on Coorgi history and customs, life on a plantation, places to visit and the ingredients of the delicious coconut chutney they serve there. The food was wonderful- we had freshly brewed coffee, fruits straight off the tree, fresh honey procured by uncle himself, homemade guava jam and bamboo pickle apart from a wide array of authentically coorgi dishes. Aunty planned meals fantastically so that we could try a wide variety of dishes while still catering for our fussy kids.
Morning walks into the plantation were the best part. Uncle would tell us of how the coffee was grown and of the bees he reared (the kids loved this) while we plucked oranges and ate pepper off the tree -a wonderful experience for the kids.
In the day time we visited places nearby. The best visits were to uncle's ancestral home, which is about 200 years old and where their family still gather every year for religious rites and ceremonies. The other great visit was the elephant camp at Dubare where my younger one splashed about in the river with a baby elephant, and walked across the cauvery (shoes in hand, hopping from rock to rock)- a real adventure.
Unused to the peace and silence, all of us got our best sleep ever at Ashreya. We stayed for three days and returned absolutely refreshed. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews