We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
27
1
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
27
1
0
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We spent two nights at Ashraya homestay for our weekend get away .It was a very delightful experience . Food and hospitality was very good .I think there stay is strategically well placed in Coorg. Connectivity to very good and weather was excellent considering this is summer time and rest of India is boiling.

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank 108rajeshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 January 2016

There are many ways to holiday in the beautiful district of Coorg. But an absolute "must- do" for all us city slickers, is to live in a homestay amid the plantations and open our eyes to a whole new world. Ashreya is an impeccably maintained, beautiful house, nestled within dense green plantations. Uncle and aunty are the most gracious and warm hosts. They would generously converse with us on Coorgi history and customs, life on a plantation, places to visit and the ingredients of the delicious coconut chutney they serve there. The food was wonderful- we had freshly brewed coffee, fruits straight off the tree, fresh honey procured by uncle himself, homemade guava jam and bamboo pickle apart from a wide array of authentically coorgi dishes. Aunty planned meals fantastically so that we could try a wide variety of dishes while still catering for our fussy kids.
Morning walks into the plantation were the best part. Uncle would tell us of how the coffee was grown and of the bees he reared (the kids loved this) while we plucked oranges and ate pepper off the tree -a wonderful experience for the kids.
In the day time we visited places nearby. The best visits were to uncle's ancestral home, which is about 200 years old and where their family still gather every year for religious rites and ceremonies. The other great visit was the elephant camp at Dubare where my younger one splashed about in the river with a baby elephant, and walked across the cauvery (shoes in hand, hopping from rock to rock)- a real adventure.
Unused to the peace and silence, all of us got our best sleep ever at Ashreya. We stayed for three days and returned absolutely refreshed. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Rain Rain go away , little Johny wants to play. I was reminded of this rhyme while visiting Coorg during the monsoons (June 2015) and what an amazing experience it was. The Monsoons are the annual rains which start from the south Of India and travels to the north and it rains incessantly during this period.
Coorg is known for its Coffee , Pepper and Cardamom plantations and is a hilly area in Karnataka. The temperature is cold because of the height and during the rains the valley glistens and shines with raindrops reflecting off the trees and hills.
Nearest airport is Bangalore and you need to go by road to the town of Madekeri (Five hours drive). Ashraya Homestay is actually 35 Kms from the town of Madekeri and they are closer to Virajpet. We chose the homestay because of the mostly excellent reviews in Trip Advisor and normally I expect the stay would have been good but unfortunately Swathy who runs the homestay was down with fever and that had an impact. Her husband tried his best to make us comfortable. Anyway to cut a long story short , we moved out after two days and that was probably best for us and them because Swathy desperately needed bed rest to recover.
I have rated our stay as poor but this is based on the exceptional circumstance and I hope to visit them again another time for a better experience.

Room tip: There are only two rooms , one on the ground floor and one on the first floor. Choose the first floor room for a better view of the trees,
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jaideep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Three of us school friends met after 3 decades and decided to go to Ashraya Homestay. I decided on it after reading reviews at TripAdvisor. The place is picturesque, nestling amidst coffee plantations, idyllic with flowering bushes, butterflies, country dogs; and there is so much quiet here. The hosts: Swathy and Lal are so warm and welcoming. We felt we had gone to our relative's home. Eating authentic Coorg fare like Pa-puttu, double bean curry, akki ottis (rice bread), kadambuttus (steamed rice dumplings), payasa.. Oh..memories are drooling just thinking of this visit. Transport is quite expensive. The river Cauvery is the highpoint. Do visit Bhagamandala and Talacauvery. The Tibetan monastery was a dampener -- bad bathrooms, lack of hygiene in and around the place, monastery officials do not understand English. Visit Dubare Elephant Camp for sylvan scenes, the graceful river, and elephants, of course.

Date of stay: June 2015
Thank SulekhaNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2015

We have just enjoyed an idyllic three nights in the peaceful Aashraya homestay. The setting of the house is beautiful, tucked away from the road in a coffee plantation, in quiet countryside perfect for walking / running / relaxing. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, the food was tasty and varied and our hosts went out of their way to prepare a wide range of regional specialities for us to try. Most food served is grown on the plantation, a real treat for us, and we left feeling heathy and refreshed. The highlight was the hospitality of our hosts who couldn't do enough for us, from giving us lifts, food/drink, showing us round the plantation, explaining the history of the region and generally welcoming us into their home. Swarthy and Lal even gave us bananas and avocado from the garden to take home to Mumbai when we left. Thank you!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jennie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews