We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jaideep B
Almhult, Sweden

Coorg in the rains .. amazing experience

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jun 2015
Rain Rain go away , little Johny wants to play. I was reminded of this rhyme while visiting Coorg during the monsoons (June 2015) and what an amazing experience it was. The Monsoons are the annual rains which start from the south Of India and travels to the north and it rains incessantly during this period.
Coorg is known for its Coffee , Pepper and Cardamom plantations and is a hilly area in Karnataka. The temperature is cold because of the height and during the rains the valley glistens and shines with raindrops reflecting off the trees and hills.
Nearest airport is Bangalore and you need to go by road to the town of Madekeri (Five hours drive). Ashraya Homestay is actually 35 Kms from the town of Madekeri and they are closer to Virajpet. We chose the homestay because of the mostly excellent reviews in Trip Advisor and normally I expect the stay would have been good but unfortunately Swathy who runs the homestay was down with fever and that had an impact. Her husband tried his best to make us comfortable. Anyway to cut a long story short , we moved out after two days and that was probably best for us and them because Swathy desperately needed bed rest to recover.
I have rated our stay as poor but this is based on the exceptional circumstance and I hope to visit them again another time for a better experience.
Date of stay: June 2015
Room Tip: There are only two rooms , one on the ground floor and one on the first floor. Choose the first...
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹26,277
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₹23,210
  • MakeMyTrip
    ₹21,027
  • Booking.com
    ₹23,895
20.6 km from Ashraya Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹1,058
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
    20.7 km from Ashraya Homestay
    Free parking
    Pool
    ₹6,719
    Fully refundable
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      ₹6,719
    • Hotels.com
      ₹5,458
    • Priceline
    22.9 km from Ashraya Homestay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    ₹3,955
    ₹3,762
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      ₹3,762
    • Vio.com
    21.6 km from Ashraya Homestay
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    ₹3,234
    Fully refundable
    Multiple ways to pay
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    22.6 km from Ashraya Homestay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    ₹31,018
    Fully refundable
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      ₹33,654
    • Agoda.com
      ₹22,719
    • Booking.com
      ₹36,506
    23.9 km from Ashraya Homestay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      ₹9,085
    • MakeMyTrip
      ₹9,001
    • Expedia.com
      ₹11,418
    23.8 km from Ashraya Homestay
    Free parking
    Pool
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Trip.com
    • Agoda.com
      ₹8,705
    • Vio.com
    23.9 km from Ashraya Homestay
    Free parking
    Pool
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      ₹3,360
    • Agoda.com
      ₹2,999
    • Trip.com
    20.2 km from Ashraya Homestay
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      ₹2,128
    • Agoda.com
      ₹2,128
    • Vio.com
    23.8 km from Ashraya Homestay
    View more hotels in Madikeri
    Reviews (31)
    Filter reviews
    31 results
    Traveller rating
    27
    1
    0
    3
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    27
    1
    0
    3
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 31 reviews
    Reviewed 30 June 2015

    Three of us school friends met after 3 decades and decided to go to Ashraya Homestay. I decided on it after reading reviews at TripAdvisor. The place is picturesque, nestling amidst coffee plantations, idyllic with flowering bushes, butterflies, country dogs; and there is so much quiet here. The hosts: Swathy and Lal are so warm and welcoming. We felt we had gone to our relative's home. Eating authentic Coorg fare like Pa-puttu, double bean curry, akki ottis (rice bread), kadambuttus (steamed rice dumplings), payasa.. Oh..memories are drooling just thinking of this visit. Transport is quite expensive. The river Cauvery is the highpoint. Do visit Bhagamandala and Talacauvery. The Tibetan monastery was a dampener -- bad bathrooms, lack of hygiene in and around the place, monastery officials do not understand English. Visit Dubare Elephant Camp for sylvan scenes, the graceful river, and elephants, of course.

    Date of stay: June 2015
    Thank Sulekha_Nair
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 May 2015

    We have just enjoyed an idyllic three nights in the peaceful Aashraya homestay. The setting of the house is beautiful, tucked away from the road in a coffee plantation, in quiet countryside perfect for walking / running / relaxing. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, the food was tasty and varied and our hosts went out of their way to prepare a wide range of regional specialities for us to try. Most food served is grown on the plantation, a real treat for us, and we left feeling heathy and refreshed. The highlight was the hospitality of our hosts who couldn't do enough for us, from giving us lifts, food/drink, showing us round the plantation, explaining the history of the region and generally welcoming us into their home. Swarthy and Lal even gave us bananas and avocado from the garden to take home to Mumbai when we left. Thank you!

    Date of stay: May 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    3  Thank Jennie E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 December 2014

    Spent 4 days here with my family - a trip to remember.

    The food, the sights, the hospitality, the extra care that Swathy Aiyappa and her husband take in making your trip comfortable and enjoyable are reasons to come here.

    The food is superb and the menu for all three meals is thoughtfully planned.

    Do request them to take you to their ancestral home and their farm to see a side of coorg most tourists would never otherwise see.

    Date of stay: December 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank zubzster
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 December 2014

    This was my first home stay experience, and I'm not even sure if I would have opted for a home stay if we weren't too late to plan the journey and hotels were not available at the last moment.

    The first view of the house is beautiful. A cottage nested in the midst of a coffee plantation, with flowers surrounding, birds chirping; almost straight out of a pretty picture. The interiors are even more tastefully decorated, and the hosts are the most wonderful people you would ever meet. However, above all, the high point is the personalized care and the mouthwatering home cooked food from Swathi aunty's kitchen. The hosts had arranged the entire transportation for us for the entire trip, starting from pickup in Mysore, suggested us tourist spots, helped us to buy Coorg coffee and honey, and also took us on a guided trip around the coffee estate. The entire ambiance is beautiful, and it was difficult to bid a goodbye.

    A trip to Coorg is worth just to visit this homestay, even if you do nothing else for the entire trip !! The homestay was the best part of the entire trip for sure, and we'll return to Ashraya if we ever happen to travel to Coorg again.

    Room tip: There are two rooms available for travellers. Try to stay on the room on the first floor, the window shows a glimpse of the coffee estate, and you might get to see locals picking coffee straight out of the window.
    Date of stay: December 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    6  Thank basab1985
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 December 2014

    There is nothing more memorable than getting up in the morning, sipping a cup of coorg coffee listening to birds chirping on a bright sunny (still extremely pleasant and non-polluted) morning at the lawn of a Bungalow in the midst of coffee plantation. That’s what Ashraya Home Stay in Coorg is all about...Swathy Aunty and Lal Uncle would make you a part of their family during your stay. Mouthwatering home cooked food, beautiful ambiance, mesmerizing scenic beauty and over and above all, the most humble, warm and caring hosts (Swathy Aunty/Lal Uncle).

    Lal Uncle personally took us to his coffee plantation visit, a close by waterfall and even had long chat sessions with us on Coffee, Cardamom and Coorg Culture. Swathy aunty on the other hand was busy ensuring we get the hot and delicious food, clean rooms and a homely atmosphere. They even arranged local conveyance for us and ensured that we see all the best places in Coorg. They ensured to call us even when we reached back to Mumbai to check if we did not have any hassles during travelling back. What more one could ask for?

    I will never forget our stay and I would recommend it to all my friends and even other travelers.

    For me, it's no place else than Ashraya for my next Coorg trip.

    Room tip: Rooms at the Ground floor
    Date of stay: December 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank Abhijeet2407
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews