We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
27
1
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
27
1
0
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Three of us school friends met after 3 decades and decided to go to Ashraya Homestay. I decided on it after reading reviews at TripAdvisor. The place is picturesque, nestling amidst coffee plantations, idyllic with flowering bushes, butterflies, country dogs; and there is so much quiet here. The hosts: Swathy and Lal are so warm and welcoming. We felt we had gone to our relative's home. Eating authentic Coorg fare like Pa-puttu, double bean curry, akki ottis (rice bread), kadambuttus (steamed rice dumplings), payasa.. Oh..memories are drooling just thinking of this visit. Transport is quite expensive. The river Cauvery is the highpoint. Do visit Bhagamandala and Talacauvery. The Tibetan monastery was a dampener -- bad bathrooms, lack of hygiene in and around the place, monastery officials do not understand English. Visit Dubare Elephant Camp for sylvan scenes, the graceful river, and elephants, of course.

Date of stay: June 2015
Thank SulekhaNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2015

We have just enjoyed an idyllic three nights in the peaceful Aashraya homestay. The setting of the house is beautiful, tucked away from the road in a coffee plantation, in quiet countryside perfect for walking / running / relaxing. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, the food was tasty and varied and our hosts went out of their way to prepare a wide range of regional specialities for us to try. Most food served is grown on the plantation, a real treat for us, and we left feeling heathy and refreshed. The highlight was the hospitality of our hosts who couldn't do enough for us, from giving us lifts, food/drink, showing us round the plantation, explaining the history of the region and generally welcoming us into their home. Swarthy and Lal even gave us bananas and avocado from the garden to take home to Mumbai when we left. Thank you!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jennie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Spent 4 days here with my family - a trip to remember.

The food, the sights, the hospitality, the extra care that Swathy Aiyappa and her husband take in making your trip comfortable and enjoyable are reasons to come here.

The food is superb and the menu for all three meals is thoughtfully planned.

Do request them to take you to their ancestral home and their farm to see a side of coorg most tourists would never otherwise see.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zubzster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2014

This was my first home stay experience, and I'm not even sure if I would have opted for a home stay if we weren't too late to plan the journey and hotels were not available at the last moment.

The first view of the house is beautiful. A cottage nested in the midst of a coffee plantation, with flowers surrounding, birds chirping; almost straight out of a pretty picture. The interiors are even more tastefully decorated, and the hosts are the most wonderful people you would ever meet. However, above all, the high point is the personalized care and the mouthwatering home cooked food from Swathi aunty's kitchen. The hosts had arranged the entire transportation for us for the entire trip, starting from pickup in Mysore, suggested us tourist spots, helped us to buy Coorg coffee and honey, and also took us on a guided trip around the coffee estate. The entire ambiance is beautiful, and it was difficult to bid a goodbye.

A trip to Coorg is worth just to visit this homestay, even if you do nothing else for the entire trip !! The homestay was the best part of the entire trip for sure, and we'll return to Ashraya if we ever happen to travel to Coorg again.

Room tip: There are two rooms available for travellers. Try to stay on the room on the first floor, the window shows a glimpse of the coffee estate, and you might get to see locals picking coffee straight out of the window.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank basab1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2014

There is nothing more memorable than getting up in the morning, sipping a cup of coorg coffee listening to birds chirping on a bright sunny (still extremely pleasant and non-polluted) morning at the lawn of a Bungalow in the midst of coffee plantation. That’s what Ashraya Home Stay in Coorg is all about...Swathy Aunty and Lal Uncle would make you a part of their family during your stay. Mouthwatering home cooked food, beautiful ambiance, mesmerizing scenic beauty and over and above all, the most humble, warm and caring hosts (Swathy Aunty/Lal Uncle).

Lal Uncle personally took us to his coffee plantation visit, a close by waterfall and even had long chat sessions with us on Coffee, Cardamom and Coorg Culture. Swathy aunty on the other hand was busy ensuring we get the hot and delicious food, clean rooms and a homely atmosphere. They even arranged local conveyance for us and ensured that we see all the best places in Coorg. They ensured to call us even when we reached back to Mumbai to check if we did not have any hassles during travelling back. What more one could ask for?

I will never forget our stay and I would recommend it to all my friends and even other travelers.

For me, it's no place else than Ashraya for my next Coorg trip.

Room tip: Rooms at the Ground floor
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abhijeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews