We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large rooms but minimal amenities and bad food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Madikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Large rooms but minimal amenities and bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

My spouse and I stayed at the KSRTC non AC super deluxe double room. Since the non-AC double rooms were not available at the time we were visiting Madikeri, we settled for this super deluxe room.The room was very large with an exclusive sitting area, which we never used nor wanted considering that we were at Madikeri for only one night and away on sight-seeing throughout the day. While the room was very clean and the plumbing worked fine, the room had very little additional amenities such as a coffee/tea maker, clothes drying line (considering Madikeri is VERY wet during the rainy season), complimentary bottled water or newspapers, typically provided in other hotels at similar price range. If the only thing one gets in a super deluxe room as opposed to a regular double room is a sitting area, it is definitely not worth opting for for the super deluxe. The more disappointing aspect of the stay were the damp, moist towels and bedspread, as a result of the continuous rains. The bedspreads also didn't look clean or new and had old stains on them and moldy smell because of the dampness. Another setback at the hotel was the meals. The restaurant at the hotel, which apparently is outsourced to a private company, served very bad food. The room price included breakfast, but we were told in the morning when we walked into the restaurant, that the buffet, which we had been promised the previous night, had been cancelled and we would be served a plate of idlys/dosa. That was to be all the breakfast we would get, despite the high charges for the room. The overall experience was like being in an over-priced motel. I would certainly give this hotel a miss.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    190
    65
    12
    7
See reviews for
233
80
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Stayed there with my wife over the weekend. It was raining most of the time, so spent a lot of time indoors. We stayed in the AC deluxe room. The room was good with a good view of the valley. Food, restaurant, room service, staff were all good. Many rooms are under renovation though.
But the rates were not as economical as i had read in some online reviews earlier. The room rent for the AC room was 3400 and non AC room was 2500.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keval_Tiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

I was in Coorg in Sept 2009 for a period of 4 days with my wife n son. A rickshaw driver showed me the place as i had no booking for my stay in Coorg. The new wing was just operational. The rooms were huge, kingsize bed, LCD television, a huge bathroom. It was all so reasonably priced with respect to what other dingy places were asking for. The cafeteria was a big disappointment though. We has our daily dinner outside at west end hotel. But on the whole a great comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank n_kaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

We have stayed here for 2N/3D in Non AC Deluxe Double room..The rooms were well renovated with beautiful wall photos and nice flooring with tiles..Room included king size bed, LCD TV, Water Heater etc.. All the rooms in this hotel had a nice view of the Valley, very calm and quite location and easy access to the town..Breakfast was complimentary..The restaurant food was excellent(both veg. and non veg.)..there was North Indian, South Indian and Chinese food available..it also had a bar..I would love to stay here again...Definitely value for the money we paid for this hotel..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidhunPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

The hotel is on top a hill, the view of the valley from hotel is just too good. bcoz it is on top a hill the city loghts during the cloudy night looks is a great view.
The rooms are clean, each room has huge french windows overlooking the valley. Its one of those places where you can just look through the window sipping a hot cuppa.
The only not so good thing about this place is the restaurnat they have a limited menu and it does not look very clean and room serivce is pretty bad
Overall a good place if you are willing to compromise on food

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank backpackandg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikeri hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
#7 of 21 in Madikeri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Le Coorg
Hotel Le Coorg
#2 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
6.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
La Flora Jungle Hill Resort
6.5 km away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.0 km away
Vedanta Wake Up - Madikeri Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri

Property: Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri
Address: Near Raja Seat | Mercara, Madikeri 571201, India (Formerly KSTDC Mayura Valley View)
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg > Madikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Madikeri
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,338 - ₹ 4,647
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karnataka Hotels Madikeri, ideally located on the edge of the mountains, offers spectacular views of the valley. Recently renovated and capacity-enhanced, the hotel provides a total of 36 air-conditioned, deluxe and standard double rooms. A restaurant with an attached bar offers a range of dishes, including the famed Kodava fare. The hotel also arranges Coorg sight-seeing and activity trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and ClearTrip so you can book your Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kstdc Mayura Valley View Hotel Madikeri
Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri Coorg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing