We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as It looks”
Review of Punta del Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mancora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Punta del Mar
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Mancora
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not as good as It looks”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We booked a suite in this hotel, we were impressed as soon as we arrived in the room. After spending sometime at the pool we got back into the room to have a shower and we found that the bed was wet because there were leaking everywhere, all the water was dropping from the ceiling, we informed this to reception and they sent a guy to move the bed a bit far from the leaks and she also brought some containers for the leaks, no apology at all. Next day we checked out and they didn´t talk about it at all even I said I wasn`t very happy with my stay they didn´t say anything at all. What we plan to be a nice romantic break was a disaster trying to sleep while the whole rooms was leaking! I would never come back and I wouldn´t recommend this hotel at all!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brookycookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    43
    15
    10
    1
See reviews for
27
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Me and my partner stayed for a week at Punta del Mar together with his family. The place is beautifull! The first evening I got to experience the beautifull and romantic sunset of Punta del Mar. Absolutely amazing! The beach was great and the waves were quite rough, but I like a challenge! Nothing is like a swim and a workout at the same time! The room was simple, nice and very cheap. A small balcony with a hammock. Every day I laid in the hammock with a cold beer in my hand, and just watched the sea with the fishing boats passing by. And not to forget the sunsets,,, Again truly amazing! A very quiet place for absolute relaxation. It`s very close to the small village Mancora, where you can buy whatever you need. We go back in December 2011! Can`t wait! And by the way, the chef of Punta del Mar makes the best hamburgers!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Normen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I enjoyed my stay, it is a beautiful place. The service was good, friendly personnel.
Ms Zambrano was very professional and cordial.
I am planning on going back.
Love it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdagalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed at Punta del Mar over New Years holiday and were very disappointed because many Trip Advisor reviews were good. Our room was very basic - poor lighting, only one night stand reading lamp, no table, no chairs, Direct TV only work sporatically, no waste basket in the room, very poor mattress, etc. The bathroom was not cleaned properly and we were given only two thin bath towels.
The breakfast included in the rate was poor and the menu for other meals a joke. No towels were available at the pool and there were no lounge chairs on the beach which is a standard for many hotels in Mancora.
A positive is the location on a nice part of Las Positas beach and not far from the pueblo Mancora.
If you are looking for a 3 star hostal, this is it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2010

This place is just great if you want to spend some days relaxing just feet away from the beach, waking up in the mornings by the wave's sounds is just a marvelous experience.
Food was ok, I'd rather go to towns restaurants just 10 min in mototaxis.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groverhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mancora hotels
0.5 km away
Puerto Palos
Puerto Palos
#13 of 32 in Mancora
177 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Grand Mare & Bungalows
2.5 km away
Mancora Bay Hotel
Mancora Bay Hotel
#20 of 32 in Mancora
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Mancora Beach Bungalows
Mancora Beach Bungalows
#8 of 32 in Mancora
250 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Casa de Playa
Hotel Casa de Playa
#10 of 32 in Mancora
170 reviews
2.8 km away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 32 in Mancora
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta del Mar

Property: Punta del Mar
Address: Las Pocitas, Mancora, Peru
Region: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mancora
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Mancora
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,226 - ₹ 4,194
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Punta Del Mar Hotel Mancora
Punta Del Mar Mancora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing