We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda San Gabriel de las Palmas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda San Gabriel de las Palmas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amacuzac
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had a wonderful weekend in a fairy tale place. You can choose from a wide variety of activities in the area, from not leaving the hotel at all, and really enjoy the place.
It is quiet and refined, the staff is very kind and friendly. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyes-wide-opn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    27
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
46
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
1,497 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We visit this hacienda for dinners, not to spend the night. So I can't speak as to the hotel part really.

They recently started a new visit payment system which I am not a fan of. When you enter, they give you a slip at the entrance which you must then take to the hacienda office. You must then pay the office 100 pesos per person visiting. When you eat at the restaurant, you pay the full bill and present the waiter with your visit receipt. They then reimburse you the 100 pesos per person in cash after you have payed your restaurant tab. So if you don't use the services of the hacienda for 1 - restaurant, 2 - spa, or 3 - hotel, you will forfeit that 100 pesos per person you paid as a "visitor" fee. Kind of annoying.

The restaurant is in a great setting but the service and food quality are mediocre. They are a Tesoros of Morelos certified location but they rank very low in restaurant quality for that certification.

However, the grounds are beautiful. I especially love the aqueduct waterfall and nearby bar and artisan store in the back of the estate.

The best part is the hacienda itself. Visit the multiple barrel vaulted rooms on the main floor. The best part is upstairs, don't miss it. There is a feasting room, an old skool kitchen, a wonderful loggia and several patios. The best part is the ballroom chock full of antiques, paintings, and other cool stuff. Very very cool.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank axs666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

I will start by saying this old hacienda has only 20 suites, ranging from standard, junior, master and presidential suites. It’s a small property but very well maintained, with a good service oriented staff.

Starting at the reception, with a glass of sparkling wine, we stayed at the Alamanda Presidential suite, this is truly amazing, and the romance special package we booked included one private romantic dinner in our chosen location. During the check in, we made arrangements with the manager for our romantic dinner (we selected our suite’s private pool and garden) selecting the dishes, schedule and further details.

The suite is huge, having 2 stories, with the bedroom and huge bathroom being on the upper floor. On the ground floor is a very good sized pool (half in-door half out-door) with a swim-up bar, a small dining table and a nice living room. You have a private garden with 2 chaise lounges and umbrella; there is also a Jacuzzi that cascades down to the pool. Unfortunately the pool water was not warm enough, but we didn’t care as we are fond of fresh water.

Dinner was prepared with an immaculate service, providing all the privacy we wanted. The whole suite was decorated with rose petals on the floor, stairs and bed, with close to 50 tea candles illuminating the garden, pool and suite.

The next day we took a private couple massage, the suite has its own massage room, the spa service was one of the best! The restaurant features very good food, and has a very nice view to the main pool area.

It is indeed a very relaxed place, with not many activities, but this was a relaxing retreat, for which the hotel is perfect!

We also had a horseback ride included in our package, this is very nice, as you go out of the hacienda and take a 2 hour tour of the surrounding cane farms and hills.

During the second night, there was a big and loud party in town, just across the street and our suite was the one closest to the noise. During dinner we asked the restaurant’s captain if he knew for how long the party was supposed to go, as we wanted to relax, and that was going to spoil our weekend! He immediately went to the management and arranged us a room transfer to the Luna master suite, is was smaller but very secluded and quiet! We didn’t had to leave our presidential suite, we only slept on the Luna, and on the next morning returned to our great suite!

This was a very nice touch, highly appreciated that guaranteed our relaxation goal!

It is pricey, but we got in return more than what we expected! It’s a great place!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erwin_Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

While the Hacienda is beautiful, we had close to $400 stolen from our room. We believe the cash was stolen over the four day period of our stay. We charged everything to the room, and only left the Hacienda once, so we weren't checking our wallets (and we weren't spending our cash). When we were packing up to leave, we noticed that we had A LOT less cash then we came with -- $394 went missing that we could actually account for; the total could have been more. We notified the hotel, and management said there would be an investigation, but the hotel did nothing else. Our advice to you: don't be lured into a false sense of security, as we were. The Hacienda seems so safe and protected...I guess we stupidly let our guard down. There are no safes in the rooms to lock up your belongings, so just try to keep an eye on your wallet.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank ng371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico DF
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2008

Great place, intimate and amazing service. I would stay for 2-3 nights, at the most. However, they screwed up our reservation so make sure you double check it with them before arriving. Also, DO NOT stay in the Luna Room. I don't believe in ghosts but I had an experience there that makes me think that there was definitely something strange going on.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank southofbloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amacuzac
23.6 km away
Fiesta Americana Hacienda San Antonio El Puente Cuernavaca
8.6 km away
Hotel Villa Bejar and Spa Tequesquitengo
35.8 km away
Hotel Hacienda de Cortes
Hotel Hacienda de Cortes
#9 of 64 in Cuernavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 km away
Anticavilla Restaurant, Hotel & Spa
16.1 km away
Casa Domingo Hotel Petit
Casa Domingo Hotel Petit
#1 of 1 in Miacatlan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
38.9 km away
Hotel Spa Posada Tlaltenango
Hotel Spa Posada Tlaltenango
#21 of 64 in Cuernavaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Gabriel de las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Gabriel de las Palmas

Property: Hacienda San Gabriel de las Palmas
Address: Km-41,8 Carretera Federal Cuernavaca - Chilpancingo, Amacuzac 62642, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Amacuzac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amacuzac
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,333 - ₹ 17,984
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda San Gabriel de las Palmas 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Museum-Resort & Spa 5 stars, colonial architecture built in 1529 by Hernan Cortes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hacienda San Gabriel de las Palmas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Gabriel De Las Palmas Hotel Amacuzac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing