We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
16
9
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
9
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglamping tentspesos per personleave the carbreakfast and dinnerdominican republicjenshammocksaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018

This is a gorgeous place for a quiet getaway. The location is scenic, peaceful and quiet.
The quality of the accommodation in the main house is very good: spotlessly clean, comfortable and spacious. The only exception was the very low water pressure in the shower which was no more than a trickle. I was also disappointed that the rooms were not done after the first night.
The food (breakfast and dinner) is freshly made and good and the hosts did their best to accommodate our special dietary requirements (vegetarian, low-carb) but would have been good to have alternatives to white rice.
Activities - we went for walks, our son went kayaking but mainly we just chilled, read and listened to music in the hammocks on the porch. It was cool and a bit rainy but it was still a great place to spend two nights.
The view over the lake and mountains is gorgeous by day and is superb at night and the bonfire makes the atmosphere extra special.
The hosts - a local couple - were welcoming, friendly and attentive.
I would definitely recommend this place and look forward to going again.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Chiri_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely, relaxing weekend. Madeline and Pelo were gracious and helpful hosts. The rain made enjoying the area more fully difficult but that wasn't your problem. Our only suggestion would be to write better directions about where to leave the car and catch the ferry...by the time we realized we had passed it by quite a distance, we had to forge ahead and had so much difficulty arriving that we asked Pelo to drive our car out when it was time to leave (which he very kindly did). We did run out of hot water by 7:30 a.m. but all in all, it was a beautiful nature weekend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank PattyDR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We spent there nice and calm long weekend of 6th of November. We were prepared that it is really nature place, but reserved a room (not a tent) to have shower and bathroom. View from the room was really nice!

Note, that if you like to have some snacks between meals, there are not any shops nearby, so took some fruits or juice with you. Also, if you would like to rent a boat or a kayak, we reccomend to reserve it before arrival.

We would like to highlight the stuff service: during our staying it was perfect! We had some personal requests and they did their best to do everything for us! We felt that somebody really took care about our comfort. We travelled with our small dog and he was happy too! :)
Thanks a lot!!!!

Room Tip: Second floor recommended
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 229booking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Tranquil location perfect for relaxing, reading a book in the hammock and absorbing the surrounding nature. I loved the location so much I decided to drone it to get an aerial view. The footage can be found on YouTube if you search for Villas del Lago, Dominican Republic. It really gives you an idea of where you'll be staying and the layout of the place.

We found the staff friendly and the main building was clean and well looked after. Glamping tents were set down below the main building near the lakeside. My only criticism is that the shared toilet/shower block for the glamping area was not clean. It looked very tired, the basins were grubby and there was animal faeces on the floor. A thorough clean of this would have made all the difference.

We opted for the dinner and breakfast at the accommodation and were perfectly satisfied. In order to make sure the produce is fresh and nothing is wasted they buy it as and when it's needed....so make sure you prebook your meals!

If you're looking for a quiet, relaxed and peaceful getaway Villas del Lago is perfectly located.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank abzabzabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

We went to this place excepting to have a good get away weekend. But, what the host tells you and what you get is a different story. When it comes to the charges, it's not clear why she charges so much for a simple meal. 450 pesos for a meal you can at a very good restaurant for only 240 pesos. 450 is nothing for me but just don't like to get ripped off. They suggested to take a boat to cross the lake, she told me to pay her not the boat, but find out that she overcharged us, because it is only 100 pesos to cross as the boat personnel told us, but she triples the charges. Dishonest!
There's other reviews I read about this place it it was for a previous owner.

We had a hard time parking our car, because the place the resort manager told us to park refused. And it was a back forth phone calls before we were allowed to park. Very unpleasant! I will not go back there even for free!
I definitely do not recommend this place. Save your money for a better trustworthy location around Santiago.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Albie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu L, Manager at Villas Del Lago Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Albert, I am very sorry and have to say extremely surprised that you didn't enjoy your experience at Villas del Lago. Why didn't you mention anything about your unhappyness when you were with us? To every single time we asked you if all was good, if you needed anything - you answered with yes, everything is great! The food is amazing! And your son defenitely loved the place and the attention he got. The only negative feeling we were able to make out from your group was, that obviously your wife wasn't pleased with sleeping out in nature. And she minded very much walking from the campground to the restaurant. So we offered her free shuttle service for dinner - which she used. The only thing I can think of why you are giving us such a bad review now is, that your wife was not happy with staying out in nature and so you didn't succeed with your idea of this weekend getaway. We are sorry for that. But all claims you make regarding overcharging and being too expensive are out of nowhere and absolutely unreasonable. You knew ALL our prices before you arrived. You were fine with everything. If you thought our prices were too expensive, why did you even come to stay with us? You knew the prices to stay, you knew the prices for food. And sorry, a freshly cooked meal with a big portion of meat, including a starter and complimentary water for RD$ 450 is a very fair price. Especialy in a location like ours. The point with telling you to pay before you leave came from you ordering a watertaxi to leave in 15min without having paid your bill. Of course we had to remind you that you still have to pay your bill. When did you plan to pay it? When boarding the boat? This would have been the only later point to wait for us without saying something. And which (the boat) by the way costs RD$ 100 per person per way, which is the special price our guests get and which is exactly what you have been charged. We are not earning 1 single peso on this service. So I only can say again, we are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us - and of course, next time you better stay at a place that is a better fit for your needs. We won't change our concept as it is highly appreciated by our usual guests. Of course it is not for everyone. But great things don't allways have to be for everyone. Manu Lus, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews