We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
7
11
6
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
11
6
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tattie scone packed lunch great location stayed here for one night full scottish breakfast haggis beds comfort ferry station scotland harbour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

The fundamentals of this place are fine. It's clean, reasonably priced and a good location.

I expect certain things of a room, mainly a place to relax and sleep. I achieved very little here.

I anticipated a while relaxing before heading out. My single room was small with a stool and desk. No chair.

I sat on the stool which turned out to have one inch of very thin padding before your posterior hits the chipboard.

Too uncomfortable.

What of the bed? One hand placed on it flattens the 15-20, possibly plastic, springs that make up the mattress. Actually get on the bed and hey presto you're instantly laid flat on chipboard again.

In the end I propped up the pillows and duvet against the wall and stayed up all night reading. The alternative would've resulted in intense pain.

Is it too much to ask to have the places where you park your body for long periods to be of detectable quality and comfort?

Other rooms may be fine. if I'd found availability elsewhere I would've left.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank blannit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineHotel1, Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018


We are very sorry to hear about your uncomfortable experience. I am aware of the room which you are discussing and wish that you had voiced your concerns to reception and we would have done our best to accommodate you in another room (if available) or compensate your stay in some way. Unfortunately, another guest two days previous had damaged (dirtied) the mattress and we had no option but to dispose of it. As a result we had to order another mattress, however, due to our remote location, it took 10 days for the new mattress to arrive and in the mid term we had no option but to use the mattress which you slept (or didn't, as we have now learnt) on. We did expect it would not be of as much comfort, however the alternative was to cancel guests reservations, and knowing that the area was very busy with little alternatives for guests we decided not to do so. Again, I apologise that you experienced this discomfort. The mattress has been replaced since with a new one and should you decide to visit again, please accept our offer of a free nights stay, where we hope you have a better experience.

Kind regards, Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

I stayed here for one night and while the room was ok the breakfast was terrible, it comprised of one rasher of bacon, one Tattie scone, one fried egg, half slice of Black pudding, half slice of haggis a couple of fried baby tomatoes and some mushrooms not exactly what I would call a "Full Scottish Breakfast".

Room tip: The View from the room
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wullie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineHotel1, Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your breakfast. Our breakfast menu states everything that is offered at breakfast (smoked salmon & eggs, bacon, sausage, haggis, black pudding, beans, eggs, mushrooms tattie scone, tomatoes, toast, choice of yoghurts and fresh fruit. Because we receive a lot back and from previous customer feedback we only put one half of black pudding and one half of haggis, however there is no limit to what anyone can have and we would have more than happily gave you more had you let us know you wanted more. Many guests ask more double of things and we always oblige. If you stay again in the future, please accept 10% off and we will be sure to supply double of all breakfast items for you ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We had an upstairs room with Sea views, the room was well furnished and it was a good size, heating was already on and waiting for us with a warm welcome.
The reception staff was excellent with great advice on what to see in the area and on where to eat and even phoned to make a booking for us.
Parking is set aside for you right in front of the hotel (this is important as there is very little parking in the center of Mallaig)
Breakfast was good with cooked food to order and the quality of produce, as well as friendly staff who were keen to help.
It’s not a pretty hotel, but perfectly functional given the area, and in a perfect location. Lots of stairs to get to your room so be aware, the hotel is very honest and upfront about access to the rooms by stairs.
Anne and Paul

Room tip: if you don't like a lot of stairs, let them know when you book
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineHotel1, Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. Please accept a 10% discount off any future stays. Just let us know at time of reservation your previous stays dates and we will add the 10% discount. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

From the moment we stepped through the door we knew we had picked the right hotel. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the Breakfast was amazing and filled us up for the day ahead. Angela the manager was very knowledgable about the area and so helpful and friendly, infact all the staff were lovely. We will definitely be back next spring. Thank you so much. Rachel and Brian

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineHotel1, Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. Please accept a 10% discount off any future stays. Just let us know at time of reservation your previous stays dates and we will add the 10% discount. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

We chose to stay at this accommodation for 2 nights as we were planning to get the small isle ferry from Mallaig terminal at 730am Saturday morning and not returning until 9pm the Saturday night so convenience of location to the ferry terminal was the most important factor. This ‘hotel’ was perfectly suited. The property is above a very locals bar but has its own separate entrance next to the main bar. Despite advising at time of booking we required parking , none of the handful of out front spaces were reserved so we had to negotiate a very busy 530pm Mallaig on a Friday evening to get parked safely and take our cases to the hotel through the streets! Then on returning to the hotel they had reserved a space with a beer barrel - which my husband then had to move himself to park the car in!
The property is very Travelodge like - but the Travelodge have better beds. Despite the decor clearly having been given a makeover to bring it up to date they have failed to invest in mattresses! We had a high floor so not troubled by road noise but maybe because it was a weekend our neighbouring guests were extremely noisy returning to their room and then partying in until around 2pm.....not the hotels fault obviously but no manned reception at that hour to step in and address.
What we were very grateful of was being provided with a packed lunch with good chicken sandwiches as we were leaving for the ferry before breakfast-service on the Saturday morning - a nice touch given how much being charged to miss out on breakfast!
We did have breakfast on Sunday morning and this was ok. Selection of cooked options and basic cold options - staff could just have paid more attention to fill up juices and bread on the buffet.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TouringScotsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews