We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
129
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest lounge isle of skye helpful hosts delicious breakfast nearby loch stunning views travelling by public transport scrambled eggs with salmon superb location minute walk lovely house many thanks cooked to perfection comfy lounge full scottish steam train stay there again
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We stayed here, my parents, partner and I, last May when we decided to explore the West Highlands for a weekend. We had mistakenly thought that we had booked into the Heatherlea near Glencoe, and after a drive through some glorious Highland countryside, we got to the right B&B! It is well situated in Mallaig - there is a small loch a short walk from the house, and restaurants and cafes in Mallaig are a very quick drive away. The rooms were warm and comfortable, and the breakfast was good. I would gladly stay here again!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alliie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We booked this B&B on spec simply because we needed ot overnight in Mallaig before catching the ferry for Eigg the following morning. If you book this B&B ask for room 1 because it is truly palatial and the en suite is fabulous. Nick and Lindsay are a lovely couple and Nick cooks an excellent breakfast.

One of the nicest B&B's ever with the added bonus that it's not in the centre of the town so it's lovely and quiet with views of the isle of Rum.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

2nd visit to Heatherlea, 4 years after previous. As before, Nick very kindly collected us at the station, which was much appreciated after 7 hours on a variety of trains. (Logically, we should have walked to stretch our legs, but……)

Walked to and from Mallaig for Dinner – pleasantly fresh 20 minutes each way - along the main road, Nick kindly lent a big torch to help as the main road is unlit ( but is paved and safe)

Heatherlea is in a superb location, with a fantastic view to Rhum and Eigg. Very well appointed and comfortable room and a very tasty breakfast. All at an extremely reasonable price.

Nick and Lindsey are lovely, friendly and helpful hosts and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

A cautionary note for the younger, more technology-dependant – mobile signals are very patchy and the property does not have wifi ( or didn’t seem to). No problem to us, but may be crucial to business travellers

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Heatherlea's hosts Lindsay and Nick absolutely define the place. Since the place is tucked away, Nick's meticulous directions were right on. The room was perfect and the care we got was amazing. I wish we had more time with them. A definite plus on our magical trip to Scotland.

Room tip: All rooms are wonderful.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank midwestlove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Before saying anything about the place itself, let me say there is a short walk right behind the house that takes you to an absolutely gorgeous lake where you can have a beautiful picnic if the weather collaborates.

And the house itself is nothing to complain about: the rooms are comfortable, the views are gorgeous and the bathrooms perfectly nice, including surprisingly decent toiletries.

The breakfast is also fabulous, with the eggs and smoked salmon being a particular standout.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank elepsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews