We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Ranked #1 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. Especially if you are interested in Irish poets and Seamus Heaney. Eugene and Gerardine are most gracious hosts. Eugene is also very interested in genealogy and we had numerous excellent conversations. We plan to return there in the future. The location is right in town and Magherafelt is centrally located to get to almost anywhere in Northern Ireland. There are many antiques and displays of poetry throughout the B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loonisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 170 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed here with a friend and we both loved this b&b! It's absolutely adorable, and Geraldine and Eugene are fabulous. And another 5 stars for the Seamus Heaney tour too!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

From the moment you enter this guest house you feel you are somewhere special , a lot of time and money has been spent on the little things that make all the difference , and you can see it s been a real labour of love . Our only regret was that we were unable to stay longer . You feel like lord and lady of the manor and that s down to the hospitality of Gerardine and Eugene as much as it is to your surroundings .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My husband is from Ireland, lives in South Africa now, we have been over there 4 times and every single time we stay at the Laurel Villa. It is perfect. Noel spends hours chatting to the knowledgeable Geraldine and Alistair about everything. I love the beautifully kept home and the warmth they show us every time. If we go away in South Africa or anywhere else, we always compare to Laurel Villas and nothing has come close. Cant wait to go again.

Stayed: February 2012
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying just one night at this beautiful Victorian townhouse, a few weeks ago. And a what a wonderful experience.
The hospitality of Gerardine and Eugene Kielt really is of the highest standard and of the type rarely found on our travels. Every effort is made to make the guest feel comfortable, and you very quickly forget that this is someone else's house.
We stayed in the Seamus Heaney room which was wonderfully decorated and heavenly comfortable. At the bedside were a number of books with a Heaney theme. This place is a must for Irish poetry and Heaney enthusiasts with exhibits of work in every nook and cranny. But it is so much more.
The comfort and decor of the rooms are far beyond the norm that one would expect in the Irish guesthouse. The attention to detail really is five star, and the breakfast.....
The breakfast that Gerardine made us was absolutely perfect. To sit at the table by the window on a beautiful spring morning with the Irish Times in hand and not to be in a terrible rush to do anything, is just bliss. The scones and bread were homemade, the juice freshly squeezed and the fresh local food cooked to order, beautifully presented and served with quality breakfast tea. This is a real hidden gem of a place. It's a guesthouse, a museum, a gallery but above all else a wonderfully welcoming home, and that is priceless.
Perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macaig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
12.3 km away
Apparo
Apparo
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
147 reviews
9.2 km away
White River House Hotel
14.2 km away
Ardtara Country House
Ardtara Country House
#1 of 1 in Upperlands
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
255 reviews
20.9 km away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
21.2 km away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Address: 60 Church Street | Northern Ireland, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a small family-run hotel in Magherafelt or the Mid Ulster District? Look no further. Just read the reviews and see what others have to say about this top class Magherafelt accommodation. This is an award-winning 4 STAR boutique townhouse located in the centre of Magherafelt town in Northern Ireland. Secure parking.Specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & 5 Star Tours of Heaney Country. Personal service guaranteed and good home cooking. Excellent value for money. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards.Less than 1 hour takes you to Belfast, L'Derry, Antrim Coast/Giant's Causeway.Has received outstanding reviews in The Guardian, Observer, Irish Times, Sunday Telegraph etc. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing