We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that impressed”
Review of Aldea

Aldea
Ranked #18 of 94 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A taste of the Mediterranean We look forward to serving you our very favourite tastes of the Mediterranean in our beautiful new restaurant, along with cocktails in our cellar bar, here in the heart of Holmfirth.
Reviewed 27 October 2018

Family gathering for a few birthdays. The starters were ok but nothing fancy and there was a good range of mains to choose from but when they came I was less than impressed the lamb kebab was uncooked and had to be sent back to the kitchen and the feta tomato and spinach pie was not very appetising in appearance. The roasted veg were bland. The atmosphere was a little dull but because there was a group of us it was ok. The waitress was very unhelpful and could not answer basic questions about the menu. Then they were cleaning up and we're looking at their watches looking across at the table making us feel very uncomfortable like they wanted us to leave. The food was not cheap and in my opinion was overpriced for the quality. To top it off as were leaving the waitress was incredibly rude as she pulled her face as we was walking past her. Would not go back

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank tamaralouisegoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

We had cocktails and tapas, it’s hard to say which was better. The mixologist even copied well with our off menu orders.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank martin753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Really like this place, fab choice of reasonably priced cocktails, also 2 for £10 prior to 7.30.

Friendly efficient bar service too.

Quirky cellar bar which added to the fun of our enjoyable visit. Ceiling height is low, but don’t let this put you off.

We liked it here and have eaten at Aldea twice before too and would highly recommend the restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Cla1re1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We went with freinds, we had the fixed menu. The starters were very tasty and included king prawns (1 each), parma ham, mussels. The main course I found disappointing, the chicken lacked flavour, beef was almost cold, the meatball was nice and the lamb tasty. I had Crème Brulee, very disappointing, its served in a very shallow dish, meaning the Crème Brulee was less than 10mm deep, the top was soft and the Crème Brulee warm, not good. I went away wanting more to eat. 10/10 for the service/staff

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank byeornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

The menu has been totally reviewed but again a faultless meal for us both
The menu is well balanced between fish meat and vegi
We had 7 dishes from the menu all tasty scrumptious and delicious

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank kevinlR58RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldea also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Aldea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing