We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ford Cottage

Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Ford Cottage Holmfirth private enclosed garden Garden with seating and dawn till dusk lighting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Ford Cottage Holmfirth private enclosed garden
Garden with seating and dawn till dusk lighting
Why not walk to nearby Digley resevoir, stunning in all seasons
Holme Moss through the clouds awaiting the Tour de France, about 2 miles away from Ford Cottage
Well equipped kitchen and there is a washer and dryer in the integral garage
Dining room - comfortable dining for 8 people plus window seat and 'comfy' chair
Log burning stove in the dining room
Entrance porch with Yorkshire settle
The cottage has views of this countryside from all the windows
Lounge with Smart TV
Window seat and log burning stove in the lounge
Relax with a book from the well stocked bookcase
Feel snug in comfort and style
Dream location for photographers, bird watchers, walkers, cyclists, poets .....
Hallway leading to the 4 bedrooms
Master bedroom with walk in wardrobe and en suite wet room
Master bedroom en suite wet room
Large double room with Smart TV
Fantastic views from the double room
Family bathroom with bath and separate shower
Full sized bunks each with individual adjustable reading lights
Dog shower in the garage - also suitable for bikes, wellies and plenty of drying space in the garage
Local blacksmith custom made gates lead into the garden with seating and shady areas.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarahv730
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my extended family stayed at Ford Cottage over Christmas 2015, we have stayed in cottages over the Christmas period for the last 9 years.

We had a lovely week at the cottage. On our arrival it was a pleasure to find that Kim the owner had left us some mince pies and wine which was a lovely surprise.

The cottage is maintained to a very high standard. The cottage was very clean. It is a good size, the 4 bedrooms are all spacious and there is also ample living space.

It was disappointing to discover on the first night however that after bathing the children (one bath) there was no hot water left for the rest of us. The cottage accommodates eight so unsure why the hot water supply would not.

The dog shower was brilliant and meant our dog could enjoy muddy walks without us having to worry about how to clean her. The weather did cause quite a few problems at the cottage. The windows to the front of the cottage leaked badly, all the window ledges were swimming in water daily meaning anything we had left on them was ruined and we had daily cleaning to do to prevent it from running down the walls. Water also ran down the chimney and flooded the hearth which again meant we had quite a bit of cleaning to do.

The other disappointing thing about the cottage was that there was no DVD player (something I would consider quite basic) we did not realise until Christmas eve when we had planned a film night.

Finally we were confused to learn that Kim kept £20 of our deposit, she advised this was due to her having to move some cardboard and wrapping paper which were from Christmas presents, we had bagged this up but left it in the porch, we had thought putting it outside in the rain was not a good idea so left it inside so it didn't get wet. We have done this in previous cottages and not had any problems so was surprised firstly by the excessively steep charge but also by the fact Kim did not contact us first to discuss the issue instead just deducting the chosen amount from our deposit.

Overall a nice cottage but due to the problems mentioned i would not recommend it and definitely would not visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you for all your comments; unfortunately the worst weather for decades cannot be planned for and I regret the problems this caused.
I chose to write rather than email when returning the bond to explain why I'd deducted for taking your rubbish to the local tip, again these things are hard to plan for. All in all it's a shame that the bad weather has led to a bad experience in Ford Cottage for you and your extended family, but hopefully you enjoyed the facilities and understand that some things are beyond our control. Best regards Kim Haywood
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy H
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
Reviewed 11 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I visited the cottage for three nights with a group of seven friends, the place is totally amazing!!! Wonderful decor and everything is of top quality, in fact so good we are returning next year!! Nothing can be faulted, and the fires are wonderful!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!!
Liked least: Nothing!!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi W
1 review
“Cracking Cottage”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Ford Cottage was everything we could have wished for when we booked this accommodation for a family get together. It was spacious but cosy, warm and comfortable with all modern conveniences. Holmfirth is just a few minutes away and the Ford Inn next door was an added bonus, offering a warm and friendly welcome and great food. The booking, arrival and check out processes were straight foward and seamless with clear and prompt information. A real find and we would definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Ford Cottage was the perfect house in the perfect location! High spec and 5* it was ideal as a base to entertain friends and family. Holmfirth is just a few minutes away and has plenty of pubs, restaurants and cafes, not forgetting the fabulous Picturedrome which regularly hosts live bands and events. We would definitely go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent cottage highly recommend a visit”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was a fabulous cottage to use as our base for a weekend doing the Yorkshire wineathon.

It was clean, spacious and and everything finished to a high spec.

The arrival information and cottage welcome pack were exceptionally detailed and covered everything you would need.

I will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Underfloor heating
Liked least: a small detail - some sun loungers would be useful
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing