We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shambles at The Brambles” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brambles

The Brambles
Ranked #14 of 78 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shambles at The Brambles”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We visited this Gastropub on Saturday, 10 days after it opened. Lovely decor, good atmosphere, food okay, customer service absolutely atrocious.

We waited 50 minutes for 3 sandwiches, 2 other tables in our section were served (20 minutes!) before us, and our drinks order was lost for 20 minutes!

This would be forgivable if it hadn't been for the appalling attitude of the management. After waiting for 50 minutes my partner asked to speak to the manager and explained the situation. Instead of apologising and offering a solution, the manager (and owner we believe) adopted a confrontational approach and began to argue with us, telling us we'd been told about the wait (we hadn't!) and saying "well what do you want me to do about it?". In the end he grudgingly knocked 10% off the bill, but in no way apologised or made us feel valued.

This shortsighted and commercially-suicidal attitude from management has also filtered down to waiting staff, who were either standing around or darting about like frightened rabbits refusing to meet our eyes!

It's a shame because the elements are there to make a great eaterie for Holmfirth. However after this atrocious example of customer service, this disgruntled foodie will be passing on to friends a very unfavourable review!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    101
    30
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food, Beer can be iffy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I concur with previous reviewers, this place has been refurbished with real attention to detail, which includes the food and beer offerings.
The food we tried was excellent. The beers (which I've tried on several occasions) are a bit 'hit and miss' - sometimes excellent, sometimes tasting 'not well kept!', sometimes (when you have found one you like) sold out.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DangerousA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More than just good pub food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Sampled the food at Brambles for the first time on a busy Friday evening (only serve food until 7) and was instantly impressed. The pub has been refurbished to a very high standard and looks modern and contemporary. Just what Holmfirth needs-other pubs should take note! The bar serves a wide variety of drinks including a very good selection of well kept local real ales. The food menu has been well thought through, and is one of those menus where you struggle to choose one dish as everything sounds interesting and appealing. The chef and his team at brambles are to be highly commended as we ate some amazing food here. Well if that is the standard of 'pub food' then other restaurants in Holmfirth need to up their game. This place is a must to try!! For both brilliant cooking and excellent beer.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bcd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place- could be better for coeliacs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Refurbished to a high standard inside. Plenty of choice on the menu for everyone, apart from myself who is a coeliac. I could see probably 2 things I could have on there so it would be nice to see more gluten free dishes. Smoked salmon was lovely though, & well presented.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Bur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just what Holmfirth has been waiting for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Recently opened, Brambles is situated in the former White Hart Inn, opposite the Bus Station carpark in the centre of Holmfirth.
The bar area is light and airy, and the range of beers on offer is amazing! Local Brambles Ales are the feature, with other beers from Hull, Sheffield, Slaithwaite and a cider from Netherthong! The establishment is divided into three areas. On the left, a comfortable seating area, raised by two steps, cleverly illuminated; bar area with bar stools and 'sit-up and beg' stools and tables; and the Bistro with comfortable chairs in a similar area to the comfortable seating area. The Menu is varied,unusual and absorbing - I had the Bury Black Pudding Benedict - the Holmfirth version of Eggs Benedict with the Black Pudding twist, perfectly presented and delicious; my partner went for the Tuscan Pork ribs - dry-rolled in herbs, succulent - and 8 of them! I declined the wine list in favour of the varieties of beer - but house wines started at about £12 with unusual varieties from Chile, South Africa, New Zealand and Spain. Mains: my choice was Venison Cottage Pie with wilted Kale, Venison Sausages and Port Gravy. The waitress regretted that there was only one sausage left, would I be happy with Wood Pigeon as a substitute accompaniment? No Contest! The pie was perfectly cooked and served in a ramikin surrounded by the rich gravy. My partner's choice was Oriental Duck Breast with chinese noodles and potato and roast pepper scone.Asked how she would like the Duck done, she replied 'not pink' - it was perfectly cooked through and the knife sliced through it like butter.
Declined the Sweet and Coffee, and the bill, including three rounds of drinks came to £46.15. Genuine concern from the Chef, Waitress and Bar Staff showed us that this place is certainly keen to please - it succeeded, ticking every box!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PDC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brambles also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Brambles? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing