We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indulgent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Indulgent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a fancy night or weekend away then this place is highly recommended. It's not cheap but the rooms, food and and service are excellent. The spa is not massive however it has everything you need including a heated outdoor pool and hot tub.

The restaurant is excellent (especially the cheeseboard) and breakfast in bed for no additional charge was awesome.

Highly recommended if you're looking for an indulgent treat.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marlonbunyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    322
    206
    112
    46
See reviews for
152
835
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I visited this hotel for the 2nd time, we went for our wedding anniversary as we did last year.
After travelling 4 hours by car we were told that our room wouldnt be ready before 3pm (the stated check in time), disappointing but acceptable (guests have to check out at 11am, 36 rooms - must be a lot of cleaning!). Our room actually wasnt ready until 3.10pm and that was because we insisted! Then on entering the room we found some notes from the previous occupants - they had the same issue.
Apparently one of their top suites - mould growing up the curtain and bird deposits over the glass balcony. Air conditioning that doesnt work - it was unusually hot but wouldnt want to be there in the summer as we had to have the door to the balcony open to keep the room cool. We ate out on the first night - fab little Italian, Gepettos, in the village. Breakfast was a total fiasco - they serve 7.00 to 9.30am, so most people were like us in the dining room at 9am. They couldnt cope. Coffee and toast took 20 minutes, then they took the order for cooked items, which took 45 minutes......oh dear, they ran out of glasses for the juice, then ran out of juice, my soft boiled eggs were hard etc etc. We had afternoon tea - v hard scones, weird cakes and a total rip off at the prices they charge. BUT one of the most annoying things about this hotel (which we didnt experience before) is that it is marketed as a special place, with a pool, spa that you can enjoy as a guest BUT they don't point out that they also have a sign outside of the hotel promoting lunch and drinks at poolside. So, on a hot day the pool area was swamped with people sitting in the sunshine having one glass of wine, whilst guests are paying £240 per person per night to not have a table around the pool or even want to go in the pool with the daytrippers having a good look!!
The spa treatment I had was great, a lovely girl, Kelly - about the best employee I met during our 2 nights.
The 'tasting menu' experience was terrible. We have had tasting menus all over the world - this was tasteless, odd combinations and very very small portions.
The staff - reception, one very nice girl, one blonde misery. The bar staff were nice but inefficient and the restaurant staff were just not up to it.
This is not the experience we had last year at the hotel, I think they have had a change of owner/management and they are downgrading the hotel. Even the flowers were plonked in the vases, no leaves taken off. At those prices they should be able to afford a decent arrangement in the key customer facing areas.
We wont stay there again and am disappointed as not one member of staff even bothered to wish us happy anniversary - something they had done the year before.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HonestMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were greeted by courteous, friendly staff. We were given an upgrade which by the looks of other reviews on here, isn't unusual if they have the room. The meals on both nights were something very special - really recommend the taster menu (although it was the same each night) and a wide ranging and impressive wine list.

Room Tip: Ours was room 2, with stairs to the pool, 2 TVs, an enormous bed and a canny ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilkij86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I really love this place and have stayed many times,but it is rather expensive as hotel/spas go!
The restaurant,and the food is super,and really is worth the cost.As with most Hotels,the money they make the most profit on is the wine.Be careful,when ordering,you may wish to visit the local wine bar before dinner.
Breakfast is wonderful,especially during the shooting season,the atmosphere from the charismatic,eccentric men all dressed up in their finery,is pure theatre.

Room Tip: Well they are all expensive,but if money is no object book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAISY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Got pretty high standards and this place ticked all the boxes - The rooms are amazing we had an upgrade to a suite with a log burner. Positioned next to the outdoor pool and outdoor hot tub which we thought was of a very high standard. Food was good but repeated taster menu on both nights was the only downside but nit picking really. Surrounding town, castle and walk to the Abbey was the icing on the cake. Staff very nice and the Spa (so my wife tells me was amazing). The real story for anyone like us who have a dog is they allow them!!!! Can't praise this place enough you should treat your dog there...

Room Tip: Get a suite they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philcube3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.2 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
32.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,349 - ₹ 31,688
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing