We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch coffee”
Review of The Cocoa Tree

The Cocoa Tree
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a small family owned cafe/coffee shop serving a wide selection of light lunches,snacks,cakes,waffles,cream tea's,award winning ice cream and milkshakes.A specials board is also available along side a varied menu. We also have a good selection of gifts. All dogs are welcome inside the cafe.Muddy paws are not a problem. Entrance is wheelchair friendly. In the hot weather we have air conditioning for your comfort. Myself (Julie) and Mark are the new owners of THE COCOA TREE and since taking over a year ago 2014. We would like to thank all of our customers old and new for all the lovely comments and support. We aim to provide good quality local produce with a friendly relaxed atmosphere. At the moment payment is cash only but we will be looking into payment by card in the near future.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small family owned cafe/coffee shop serving a wide selection of light lunches,snacks,cakes,waffles,cream tea's,award winning ice cream and milkshakes.A specials board is also available along side a varied menu. We also have a good selection of gifts. All dogs are welcome inside the cafe.Muddy paws are not a problem. Entrance is wheelchair friendly. In the hot weather we have air conditioning for your comfort. Myself (Julie) and Mark are the new owners of THE COCOA TREE and since taking over a year ago 2014. We would like to thank all of our customers old and new for all the lovely comments and support. We aim to provide good quality local produce with a friendly relaxed atmosphere. At the moment payment is cash only but we will be looking into payment by card in the near future.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Nice friendly atmosphere, lovely coffee. Would have been 5* if they had had a vegan cake on offer. The cakes looked very nice but two of the family are vegan.

Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We visited here with our dog on 1/4/18 whilst waiting to check into our hotel.A warm welcome was given and we chose items from the menu.I chose the discovery cake which was jam packed with fruit.ginger and a hint of brandy accompanied by a slice of Wenslydale.My partner chose a Cheese and onion toasties with salad and dressing.Again packed with cheese.Both items tasted great.We also had tea for two.Service was quick and prices reasonsonable .To sum up .Dog friendly,good food and friendly staff.What more could you want?

Thank wanderinggeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Great cafe. Had a morning cuppa and fresh baked scone. Friendly staff. Children and dogs welcome. Popular place which gets busy. Good menu choice for lunch.

Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Visited here twice during a short break in the area. Good menu choices, reasonable prices and dog friendly. Owners are very welcoming. Definitely recommend this place. Evidently there is out door seating available? I didn't get chance to see what this was like as the weather suggested being sat next to the heater!

Thank NEcoastman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

My wife and I visited at midday to celebrate her birthday. She had the salmon and cream cheese sandwich and I had the BLT. Both were very good served with a few crisps and a decent salad. The coffee was good and service was prompt and friendly. All in all a good place for lunch if in Helmsley.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cocoa Tree also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Cocoa Tree? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing