We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly atmosphere”

The Kings Arms Broad Green
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Coggeshall
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 21
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Description: The Kings Arms traditional pub, restaurant and Bed & Breakfast run by a small team of family and friends. Our menu includes traditional home cooked food with a varied daily specials boards. We have a large outdoor dining area with undercover seating. Lunch is served Mon-Sat 12-2.30pm and in the evening food is served Mon-Sat 6.30-9pm. Sunday we served a traditional roast with all the trimmings 12-3pm. These hours are subject to change due to Covid-19 restrictions.
Restaurant details
Description: The Kings Arms traditional pub, restaurant and Bed & Breakfast run by a small team of family and friends. Our menu includes traditional home cooked food with a varied daily specials boards. We have a large outdoor dining area with undercover seating. Lunch is served Mon-Sat 12-2.30pm and in the evening food is served Mon-Sat 6.30-9pm. Sunday we served a traditional roast with all the trimmings 12-3pm. These hours are subject to change due to Covid-19 restrictions.
Reviewed 4 October 2020

The pub is situated on the A 120, a busy trunk road connecting Braintree and Colchester. It is typical of an 'Olde English' country pub with low ceilings & doors and a 'cosy' friendly atmosphere. The accommodation is situated above the bar and is adapted as best as is possible to fit into an old building. If you are used to 'modern, chrome' accommodation, such as you might find in for example, a Premier Inn, with its walk in bathrooms, usb charging points, electronic key locks & integrated co-ordinated fixtures & fittings, this will be a somewhat different experience for you.
The food is good with daily 'specials' such as; beef cheek, belly pork & rabbit pie all modestly priced between £10.95 & £14.95. The drinks at the bar are similarly modestly priced with 'house doubles' at £3.50.
The pub is a family run business, who are all very friendly and helpful.
At the moment there is substantial building work going on, so daytime parking can sometimes be a bit 'fiddly' as there are also contractors & tradesmans' vehicles 'on site'.
When the 6 new rooms are finished I imagine there will be an interesting mix of new, modern, up to date accommodation integrated within the setting of an 'old traditional' English pub

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank oldshuffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2020

What a lovely evening at The Kings Arms we spent during our visit to this area. After a friendly welcome enjoyed an excellent meal which was also good value. The owners take pride in this establishment. I highly recommend a visit

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lioneld847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

We pass here most weekends when we are on volunteer duty at nearby Marks Hall butnot at attime when it is open. However we had a meeting which ended at mid day so we decided to try it on the way home and were more than satisfied. A two course special for £10 was on offer and we both tried this. My starterwas calamari followed by fish and chips and both courses were very good and my wife was similarly pleased with her selection.The bar eating area was warm and comfortable with a roaring log fire on a cold day. Rather basic for the topmost rating but certainly well within the very good range.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020

Came upon this place en route to a meeting in Colchester. The full car park was a good sign. A half of beer, well stored and at the perfect temperature, followed by tasty and plentiful steak pie and vegetables with Christmas pud and flavoursome vanilla ice cream. All served with a smile and for a very reasonable price. I envy the locals. Perhaps they need a larger car park?!?

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnmK6007FF, General Manager at The Kings Arms Broad Green, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Thank you for your nice comments. We are having some building work done at the moment. Six new B&B rooms. So builders have taken over a good deal of the car park. We are open as usual but a bit restricted as you found. Hopefully you will come back and see us when it's all finished. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights and was pretty happy with everything. WiFi was free and reliable - the cloud. The room was comfortable although a little basic. Breakfast was in the initial price, continental breakfast or something from the menu, can reccomend the omlette, had it a few mornings on the trott. There is parking and the staff were friendly. Will return if in the neighbourhood.

Date of visit: November 2019
3  Thank dogmaticdrongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Arms Broad Green also viewed

 

Been to The Kings Arms Broad Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.