We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning cottage in beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Cottage

The Swallows Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Swallows Cottage
The kitchen looks on to our garden The lounge with open fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The Swallows Cottage
The kitchen looks on to our garden
The lounge with open fireplace
The garden with picnic table
The bathroom
The main bedroom
Second bedroom
Looking out over the garden from the main bedroom
French doors open on to the garden
The garden from the fields behind
The cottage is in the infamous lane known as Shitterton
Swallows cottage looks out on to open fields to the rear
The Bere Stream, two hundred yards along the lane
Rope swing on Bere Stream
Man o' War Bay on the nearby Jurassic coast
Durdle Door is one of the closest coastal beauty spots
Swallows Cottage in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bere Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nampara6
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely detached thatched cottage in quiet location but pub and village shop only a short walk away. Cottage was very well equipped including dishwasher & washing machine (very useful as we had our grandsons Tomas 6 & James 4 with us). It was also very clean.
We knew the area well because we lived in Bovington many years ago. There is so much to do without travelling far. We took the boys to the Tank Museum, Studland (Knoll Beach), Corfe Caste, Swanage, the steam railway, Monkey World, the Blue Pool/Wareham Bears and Lulworth Cove. The weather was lovely so we spent some very happy hours on the beach - although the parking charges at Knoll Beach are high (£9 but free if you are a National Trust member) you do have good facilities there and it is all sand which the boys loved. If we had staying longer there were other lots of other places we could have taken the boys.
I found the owners of the cottage very helpful and the information pack they sent through very helpful. Also considering we went during the school holidays I found it very reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a break in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character & facilites - two toilets very useful particularly with children.
Liked least: Low door ways (my husband is 6ft) but it has got to be expected in a cottage.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank J
Bruehl, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage, perfect to enjoy Dorset”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent wonderful days in this lovely cottage. We enjoyed every day, especially our extended breakfast in the cosy kitchen with a beautiful view into the lovely garden. Two bedrooms are perfect if you are travelling with kids. The bathrooms are at the newest standard and all has been very clean. We found that the cottage is a absolute suitable place to relax and to start any tours to the several sightseeings of Dorset. The house has got very much flair and we are happy, that all has been so uncomplicated. All has been at its place or has been seen directly. The offered visitors guide by Andy and Anna is almost perfect to come along with all things according to the cottage. We spent very nice days at Bere Regis (with always sunny days) and would like to stay again there one time. Thank you for all.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What is not to like?”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely 'chocolate box' cottage in an excellent location.It has everything you could possibly need.Loved the garden and the real bonus was the excellent weather we had during our stay.
Two decent pubs in the village.Everyone was really friendly.However,the local shop is quite expensive so I would recommend a 7 mile trip to the Sainsburys in Wareham.
I would certainly stay here again and would recommend to others.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBrazier
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in an idyllic location, perfect for family getaways!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Swallows cottage earlier this month. The cottage itself is beautiful - a real mixture of traditional features with some lovely modern touches. Its location is perfect for country walks and is close to so many places which make great day trips out. I will definitely be booking up again soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage surpassed our expectations
Liked least: having to come home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing