We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, Convenient accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Keats Loft

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Exterior Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Lounge
Exterior
Bedroom
Bathroom
View
River Beach
River
Plaque
Beach
1895 Teignmouth
Keats View watercolour
Aerial View Teignmouth
Christmas view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Teignmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anthony G
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Convenient accomodation”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Keat's Loft is very conveniently situated and very comfortable. A lovely welcome from the hosts as well, with a very thoughtful Welcome Pack. I would echo the comments about the bathroom, we both missed a shower and headroom is restricted.

Really good communication with the hosts as well once we had booked. Questions answered promptly and clearly.

Your car cannot be parked at Keat's House but the long stay car park ticket for 1 week can be used at car parks administered by the local council which is really useful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: Convenient location
Liked least: Limited headroom in the bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H
1 review
“Perfect location with lovely owners!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Keats loft was perfect for what we needed as we were working locally it gave us the freedom to come and go as we pleased! The living room and bedroom were ideal for for what we needed! The only slightly annoying thing was no shower I know there not really room in there as it's an old building but I would almost consider taking the bath out and just put a shower?
Thanks

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We're so pleased it met all your requirements. Your comments regarding the shower are noted but, when we were planning the apartment we did ask our contractors to install one, and were told that due to the ceiling height it would not be a practical option. Nevertheless, we do hope we may welcome you to Keats Loft again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJWCheshi...
Cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A little gem by the South Coast”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I've been visiting Teignmouth for nearly 30 years, on and off, with both family and partners.

It's always been a struggle to find a well appointed, clean and comfortable room and I usually opt for a self catering room on the sea front. Whilst offering great views the rooms leave a lot to be desired.

There's only a handful of nice B&Bs in the area as we booked late this year, we missed out on a room. I'm glad we did as we found Keats Loft run by Mike and Trudy.

It's a relatively new venture and located a few steps away from the back beach, pubs and shops. Offering a harbour view it was an easy choice for us.

In the main area there's a well appointed kitchen offering a twin ceramic hob, fridge, freezer and a useful set of utensils for those that fancy cooking a meal or two. Our welcome pack on arrival with cereal, fresh fruit, milk and eggs was a lovely touch.

Also on offer is a comfy sofa, chair and dining table set with wonderful views of the back beach between the streets in front. TV with freeview and a nice stereo was on offer to make use of. Srong Wi-FI was useful too.

The bathroom is quirky with a sloping ceiling but was both clean and modern. There's no shower but we both enjoyed making use of a relaxing bath in the morning after a quick morning dip in the sea.

The bedroom offers useful storage with twin beds, as mentioned by a previous poster a double would be nice, though didn't prove to be a major problem for us. Nice mattresses made for a relaxing sleep and although we visited during the bank holiday music festival, the costly insulated windows provided enough deadening for us to drift off.

The house has a very warm and cosy feel to and you get a sense that you're staying at a friend's house rather than in a self catering apartment.

Our room of choice whilst we're in the area :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy lounge with harbour views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2013
Its so kind of you to write such a positive review - thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard17...
Atherstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Teignmouth itself is lovely and this aparment was well positioned close to all its amenities. It was clean well laid outvand with a nice view of the harbour. The owners were very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no much
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rootster
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Keat's Loft is ideally situated near Teignmouth back beach. The owners are friendly and helpful, yet unobtrusive. While the narrow street is full of activity (restaurants, pubs and b&bs), it is wonderfully quiet, particularly at night; we thought that the pub next door might be a bit noisy but it was no problem, we slept like logs. The extra space that the self-catering option gives was much appreciated with a large living room/kitchen area. The bathroom is quirky (very sloping ceiling), but none the worse for that, and the option to convert twin beds into a double would have been appreciated, but not a problem. There are two very good pubs nearby (Ship and the Jolly Old Sailor), and the Oystercatcher cafe a few doors away provides fine breakfasts. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2013
We much appreciate your positive review. The comments you make about enabling the twin beds to be joined together are noted & will be an option for future guests - thank you for pointing this out.
We hope we may see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing