We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Family Holiday House !!”
other travellers have booked this property
front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front
Hall eat in kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
front
Hall
eat in kitchen
parking for 2/3 cars
Main Lounge
Main lounge
ground floor twin en suite bedroom
ground floor twin en suite bedroom
ground floor en suite bathroom
'Captains Cabin' en-suite bedroom
'Captains Cabin' en-suite shower room
2nd floor family bedroom
2nd floor family bedroom
2nd floor family bedroom
2nd floor family bedroom
2nd floor family bedroom
2nd floor family bedroom
en suite to family room
3rd floor single bedroom
3rd floor family bedroom
3rd floor family bedroom
3rd floor twin bedroom
eat in kitchen
eat in kitchen
eat in kitchen
front beach
back beach
back beach
Ariel view of harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Teignmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DJWCheshi...
Cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Expensive, old fashioned, dirty and poorly managed!”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
9
people found this review helpful

Firstly, I've left 40+ review on Trip and this is the first which has asked me for my booking name to verify the booking. I have a feeling the owner wants to check the reviews, or at least try to first, before accepting.

Well hopefully this one will make it...

There are 20 or so members of our family and we've been visiting Teignmouth yearly since 1980! The number of people has grown overtime with the additional of new members of the family and partners.

Now back in the late 80s and throughout the 90s we have stayed in Northumberland Place for years. We dealt with Mrs Darlow, the owner, when she was alive and really enjoyed our time in the house. Jenny, her daughter, now runs the property.

This year we all felt it would be nice to stay in the same house and after 10 years of staying in separate dwellings, we booked Northumberland Place.

Now I'll be as objective and fair as I can. If you see my previous reviews, I'm fair and back up any complaint with pictures where possible.

I have a feeling though that the owner might take offence so I've added pictures (date and time stamps available)

We are a family of 3 generation, mixture of old and new faces from 80 to 8 months. Loving, caring and friendly family with well behaved children and no pets.

Plus Points
- Location: 10 seconds walk to the Ship Inn and back beach
- Size: We managed to squeeze 17 into the house and it was lovely being together during out 2 week stay
- Parking: Can fit 3 cars onto the drive at the back
- Nice big kitchen downstairs

Negatives:

- Dirty: We arrived slightly early and met the cleaner mid clean. She mentioned a few issues and confirmed the cleaning might take a little longer as the previous family were a little rowdy, had pets and damaged a few items. The tumble dryer door was broken off and one of the beds was broken too.

We were promised that the door would be fixed ASAP whilst a new bed was arrived on Wednesday that week, neither happened!

Once the cleaner left (she originally said a further 3 hours were required however she disappeared after 30mins) we arrived to be met by a dirty house. I've attached pictures as proof: dirty walls, sticky surfaces, sand in mugs, dirty cutlery, dust on surfaces, pet hair everywhere, dirt all over the floors...the list goes on and go.

The downstairs was riddled with dog hair on the floor, beds and sofas! Really smelly too

Needless to say we were not impressed and spent the first hour of our holiday cleaning the house!

Maintenance

Now the house is exactly the same as we remembered it back in the 90s! We actually found a picture of a family member sat in the downstairs kitchen when she was about 4. We've taken the same picture now she's 21 and the furniture, curtains and bench are the same!

Jenny (owner) doesn't spent a penny on the house at all, which is worrying considering there's a lack of fire escapes, smoke detectors and old appliances throughout.

The furniture, carpets and curtains are exactly the same as we last visited 10 years ago!

The broken bed was comically fixed, see picture. I put my house on it that this bed will still be here next year alongside the broken dryer. They didn't even clean up the mess they made whilst botching the bed, sawdust everywhere.

Both showers flooded during out stay along with the drains blocking up outside. The place needs urgent basic maintenance - Jenny spend some money on the essentials!

Top floor toilet had a lock on it so we couldn't use it.

The previous family left crab nets and bait in the shed outside which meant that we had 30+ flies in the downstairs bedroom daily. Took us a while to clear the shed in order to remedy the problem - why wasn't this checked prior to guests arriving?

Decor / Facilities

The house is in urgent need of updating.

In the bathroom for example, there's marks all over the walls, terrible stains and dirt everywhere. Old TV downstairs with smelly couches which need throwing away.

There's limited storage in rooms, there should be a wardrobe in some at least. Poor mattresses throughout, really old and lumpy. Top room didn't have any bulbs in the lights, no smoke detector nor was there any blinds in the shower room which overlooks the neighbours at the back!

In the same bathroom the lock was broken. In end we fixed this as the cleaner (our point of contact) didn't seem too fussed.

These are really simple things to fix.

More worrying is the cost to run the house. We must have put in between £5-10 p/day in electricity. We did have daily showers and ran the washing machine however it seemed rather expensive.

When we rented from Mrs Darlow she wouldn't have let the house get into such a state. The owner, Jenny, is clearly in it for the money and it shows.

This by no means is a personal attack on the owner, in actual fact, we've never met however it's very annoying that as a family we've paid a considerable amount to stay here and a basic level of cleanliness and maintenance wasn't adhered to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dirty
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
After 10 years and against our better judgement we allowed this family to stay in our holiday house again after my mother had banned them at our cleaner ( at the times) request. They had repeatedly left the house in a terrible, dirty and damaged condition and were extremely rude to the cleaners. Unfortunately I feel this review is sour grapes as once again we had decided not to re book the house to them in the future.
I will answer the points raised in turn:-
1 - We have no say whatsoever in what reviews are published on the trip advisor site, as anyone who uses the site regularly will know. Which reviews are published is entirely down to trip advisor and we certainly can not pick and choose good reviews.
2 - The house is advertised as parking for 2 cars, 3 if they are small. This family insisted on parking a 4th car on the road on double yellow lines , blocking a neighbours drive, which unfortunately resulted in complaints being made to us.
3 -The family arrived early - check in is 2pm, but we let people drop off their things earlier if necessary, especially if they have traveled a long way, whilst we finish off the cleaning. Our cleaners and property managers are very polite, curtious and efficient so would have been as accommodating as possible.
4 - The tumble dryer door and bed were broken the week before by the people that had left that day and a new bed and parts to fix the door were ordered immediately. We carry out all maintenance as quickly as we possibly can but have to work to certain time constraints if we are waiting for parts etc. the bed was repaired temporarily until the new bed could be delivered. We always use local suppliers which means this can sometimes take slightly longer.
5 - At least 4 hours cleaning by up to 3 people is carried out between holiday makers on change over day and is always finished to a good standard. We have not had any complaints about cleanliness from the holiday makers immediately before or after this family.
6 - This is a big old house which we are forever maintaining. In the last 12 months alone we have repainted all the bathrooms ( this is an annual job as , being an old house ventilation in the bathrooms is a problem), repainted and re plastered the outside wall in the downstairs bedroom, repainted the kitchen, replaced all the guttering at the back of the house, resealed and repainted the outside render at the back if the house, double glazed another 4 windows, replaced 4 single beds and mattresses, bought a brand new american fridge freezer, bought a flat screen TV, had all the electrical appliances PAT tested and smoke alarms WIRED in to the house..... the list is endless. How this family, who have not visited for 10 years can claim we have not updated or maintained the house is frankly baffling!
7 -Within the last 3 years all the appliances have been replaced - micro wave, oven, dishwasher, washing machine,fridge freezer. Also the whole top floor of the house had been repainted and countless beds and mattresses replaced
8 - Smoke alarms are wired into the kitchen and all the hall ways - I am not sure why this family did not notice them.
9 - The broken bed has now been replaced ( we were waiting for the next change over day so as not to disturb the family) and the tumble dryer door repaired. There is a launderette 2 mins around the corner if drying clothes was a problem.
10 - The showers flooded as the family blocked the drains - we had to call Dynorod out the day they left. Apparently they had been blocked by sanitary towels being flushed down the toilets.
11 - The top floor toilet is being removed. As it is at the top of the house we had to fit a macerator toilet but despite our best efforts it keeps breaking. We have had it replaced 3 times ( at £850 per time it is rather expensive) now and it still blocks so have decided it is not to be. We are considering creating a new en-suite bedroom this year instead.there are a further 4 toilets in the house.
12 - The shed is private - owners only - so should not have been accessed
13 - During July alone we replaced the TV for a flat screen TV and provided 2 new double mattresses for the double beds
14 - None of our other holiday makers have ever complained about lack of storage. there are 4 wardrobes in the house and chest of drawers in each bedroom.
15 - The majority of the sofas in the lounge are brown leather sofas so can be wiped clean
16 - The shower room has a frosted window so a blind isn't required.
17 - The electricity meters were replaced 18 months ago and the circuits and boxes replaced when we had the smoke alarms wired in.The tariff has not been changed for 2 years so holiday makers get a very good rate. If you have 17 people in a house using showers, dishwasher washing machine, cooking facilities etc I would suggest £5 -10 per day is very reasonable ( 30p - 50p each?)
18 - This family paid £2100 for a 2 week stay in our property. If they had 17 people using it it works out as £8.82 pppn - very reasonable I would suggest!

As I said, I am rather stunned by this review, you can see by all the previous comments on the site that people are very happy with our property and the service we provide them. This is good, basic, seaside holiday accommodation, offered at an exceptional price in an excellent location. Obviously they wont want to return which is good news for the countless regulars that return year after year. We have already been asked to take bookings for 2017!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal Family Holiday House !!”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were very pleased with this property, it's owner and the on site manager.
The house is ideal for large groups/family and has a most convenient location.
The house is spacious and basic but offers everything that could be needed, an excellent base close to the beach, amenities and shops.
We loved it and hope to return.

Harry Rowntree and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of property
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house - basic but fantastic for family groups, incredible value”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spacious house with lovely kitchen for family groups. House decor is basic, but has everything you need - plenty of cutlery, crockery and cooking stuff and loved the mismatch of plates and glasses. There were also cupboards full of random things that you may never need! Mattresses seen better days. The house is really reasonable, even with the electric metre (we worked through about £10 per day, but expected in Feb in a house with electric radiators instead of central heating) Given the price this is a fantastic house, in a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen, location and the price
Liked least: Mattresses and no central heating
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked least: some beds uncomfortable, shower on first floor could be better
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
weddinfam...
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the house fitted all our needs spacious clean with a lot of character”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

the two nights we used the house for family wedding we found it to be perfect for all our needs spacious with lots of bathrooms our only criticism would be we had to leave at 10.00 am as cleaners came and we had had late night at wedding and with lots of people to get ready we were in a bit of a panic which kind of spoilt it

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2014
I am very pleased your were happy with your stay at No 30, but sorry you found the check out time inconvenient. Generally speaking we are very flexible with regards check out as if there are no follow on bookings we are happy for you to leave when you wish. Unfortunately on this occasion we had another group arriving later that day for check in at 2pm, so needed time to clean and prepare the house for them. Check in and out timings are in the details sent to you and I emailed you the week before to remind you you need to leave by 10am, but I can appreciated it was a struggle after a late night at a wedding!I am sorry for the inconvenience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing