We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Tasting Menu - informal and delicious”
Review of Kota Restaurant

Kota Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 21 - US$ 42
Cuisines: Seafood, British, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Manned by Jude Kereama from Great British Menu. Awarded a Bib Gourmand in the Michelin Guide every year since 2013, and a 3rd AA Rosette, Kota is also proud to be recognized by the Good Food Guide, Harden’s Restaurant Guide, the Trencherman’s Guide, Square Meal. Kota specializes in, local sustainable seafood, and local farm produce . Kota is Maori for shellfish (Jude is half Maori, quarter Chinese and quarter Malaysian) and the restaurant is renowned for its stunning seafood with Jude’s signature light Asian twist. Jude and his wife Jane, who started as a protégée of Antony Worrall Thompson 20 years ago, are passionate about wine as well as food and have created an enticing wine list of over 90 wines from all over the world. Even Decanter Magazine has praised it! There is a lovely bar area where guests can enjoy fine wine, cocktails, cold beer or a warming digestif. Don’t forget to book one of the 3 BnB rooms so you can truly relax!
Reviewed 28 May 2021

I booked this based on a foodie whim months in advance and it was the perfect way to spend our final eve in Porthleven. Friendly staff, a wonderfully informal style and delicious food. We went for the full tasting menu and matching wines and will remember our meal as the best one of this trip.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank ashleyjaned2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2021

Our first visit and definitely not our last! Opted for the full tasting menu - which was beautiful; varied courses with many layers of taste. Difficult to highlight any particular dish because they were all superb - but the Scallop Tartare was particularly special for me. My wife is not overly keen on seafood but she absolutely loved the crab - it was her favourite dish!!

I had the paired wine selection - which was eloquently delivered with each courses.

Liz was an amazing host, warm and attentive who added an extra sparkle to the evening.

Already looking forward to our next visit!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank CornishGig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021 via mobile

A lovely evening in sun kissed Porthleven, we were unsure about dinner at this place after having a big lunch earlier in the day but really happy we kept our booking as it exceeded expectations and then some.

We arrived at 8pm and it was busy but the ambience was spot on and everyone looked like they were having a good time. The staff were helpful and friendly, although they could have been a tiny bit quicker at times, but I think that is down to personal taste rather than anything they got wrong.

The food was amazing. Perfectly sized portions, tasty and cooked really well. We had two courses for £25 each and couldn’t find a fault.

The price was great value too. It is only a touch more expensive than a pub meal but infinitely better. Really good quality and well worth the extra money. We’re going to recommend this to friends and family who are in the area and would definitely come again.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank MichaelWade1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

First surprise was when we walked in we thought we had arrived in the wrong place and had arrived into a small pub restaurant. It lacked ambience and imagination not what you would expect from a rosette standard.

We were seated and service started off with a high standard of attentiveness as they were not busy at this point (7pm). We opted to go for the 6 course taster at £65 per person.

The first 2 courses were undoubtedly the best courses of the evening and arrived within good timing of each other. The John Dory was the 3rd course and there was a good 30 minute wait for this. It arrived to the table with the sauce running off the edge of the plate due to the fact the waitresses serviette had dipped into the meal. Unfortunately the fish was well over cooked and the chicken wing was very dry and still had fragments of bone inside a well as the rest of the dish being unseasoned which isn’t what we would expect from a rosette restaurant.

At this point the restaurant was full and the staff looked flustered and busy trying to keep up. We mentioned to the waiter about the meal once we had completed it and he took our plates to the kitchen. We waited 45 minutes for the next course to come out which was the lamb, this was delicious and well cooked. After that we waited a further 30 minutes for the next course and it was coming up to 10pm, we mentioned to the server we had some place to be and to ask the kitchen to speed up our next course. The roasted pineapple dessert was underwhelming and extremely tarte. The tasting of strawberry came out after but was disproportionate in size (too big) to the rest of the menu and unbalanced. This was not finished and when the waiter collected our plate he commented ‘too much strawberry right?’. After this point we didn’t want to engage further as we had already been there over 3 hours. If we hadn’t mentioned we needed to be somewhere I believe we would have been there a lot longer.

We have eaten at various accolade restaurants in the past and are fully aware of the standards required for rosettes and we feel strongly that a review of the standards is in order as for the price that is expected to be paid does not meet standard that was received.

Date of visit: May 2021
3  Thank jennyl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2021 via mobile

Amazing meal and dining experience. We went for the 3 course set menu, which we felt was good value especially with the complimentary amuse-bouche and bread. Best food I’ve eaten in a long time and all beautifully presented. I particularly enjoyed the Thai fish cake starter, which came with a lovely aromatic curry sauce. The service was also great and made for a lovely overall experience.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank J6440TClaurac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kota Restaurant also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Kota Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.