We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good hotel for relaxation”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My wife and i stayed at San Blas for a week in July 2012 having booked a last minute deal.

Location:
10 mins cab journey from the airport (12 euros fee) and in an area on its own with only the hotel and a few private residencies in the resort so virtually no traffic. The resort is directly on the landing path and you are aware of planes coming into land (never hear the take offs as they are heading in the other direction) but after the first few you phase it out and it is never a disturbance.

There is not much in the surrounding area so people looking for something to do outside the hotel would have to hire a car. We walked up to the two surrounding villages but other than a couple of restaurants and gift shops there isnt anything of real interest.

The beach across the road (its a very quite ring road around the hotel itself- lucky if you saw more than two cars using it in a day!) is rocky and not really suitable for swimming. If you crossed the path over the rocky hill you came to a small sandy area which others were swimming from.

As others have noted it is very windy around the resort. Whilst this keeps things nice and cool it can be a bit of an annoyance with parasols and anything else which are not weighted down. Twice the wind was so strong it blew parasols right across the swimming pool, requiring the life guards to walk around and put the unused ones down.

Rooms:
The room was lovely, one of the best ive stayed in. Large, clean and modern. We had only been able to book a twin room and we had two double beds pushed together, which were actually very comfortable and we both got a good nights rest.

The bathroom is large and modern, with two sinks, a jacuzzi bath and separate toilet and shower. A range of toiletries were also provided. The only downside with this is the seals on the doors dont fully line up so theres not much privacy when using the loo and water leaked out of the shower onto the floor.

We also had a large balcony overlooking the top swimming pool. I noticed that some of the rooms on the other side (away from the boating lake) didnt seem to have as large balconies.

The rooms were well insulated so there was little noise, although people wheeling their cases along the corridor early in the morning was a minor disturbance that could be heard.

The rooms also had a 32inch Samsung flat screen tv, with bbc1, 2, channel 4, channel 5, 5*, more 4 and film 4.

Facilities:
The hotel itself is beautifully designed and constructed. I was really impressed with the layout and general finish of the hotel. The main reception, lobby bar, gym etc are at the top of the hill with the two wings of the building passing down both sides with the various swimming pools flowing through the middle. The restaurant and plaza area are at the bottom of the hill just next to the larger family pool.

We found all the facilities to be in excellent condition with the exception of the gym. This only had a couple of bikes, one rowing machine, one treadmill and a weight machine and they were in need of an update.

There is a board up near the restaurant showing what activities they have on during the day and that included aqua workouts, pilates, football, climbing and the kayaking on the lake.

There are four main pools with two quieter adult pools and two family areas. Despite them being relatively close together the adult pools were quiet and a welcome break. There were always sun loungers available after a late breakfast although these were mainly taken by midday. Beach towels are provided and can be changed at the reception when required.

The evening entertainment in the plaza area always seemed to be for kiddies although we never hung around long enough to see if there were more adult themed acts later. After dinner we mainly went to the lobby bar, where on several nights they had a live act playing mainly background easy listening/ jazz. These were all pretty good. We never stayed for the larger entertainment in the hall so i cant comment on this.

Food:
The food was excellent but as other reviewers have said it does get a bit samey by the end of the week.
Breakfast offers the usual range of hot and cold selection, but also american style pancakes and waffles which seemed to go down well with a lot of people queuing for them. You can also have omlettes cooked while you wait.
Lunch and dinner were very similar which is why i think it does get a little tired by the end of the week. Both offer a selection of salads, cooked meats and fish either with or without sauces and range of potatoes/ rices. There was also plenty of fresh bread, pizzas and pastas. The meat and fish (particularly the roast in the evening) were very nicely cooked and there was a wide selection. A bit more differentiation between lunch and dinner would have perhaps provided a bit more variety. As it was the only difference was a paella style dish at lunch which was exchanged for a roast meat for dinner. The availability of food was excellent with the staff constantly replacing dishes as they ran low.

As part of the all inclusive package you get one visit to the a la carte restaurant. This is a nicely designed restaurant with a good setting and more importantly very good food. Considering it was a "free" meal i wasnt expecting that much but was pleasantly surprised by the standard and presentation of the food. 4 courses, wine and a free cocktail all included. This was a welcome change from the buffet style restaurant and definitely recommended.

Despite snacks being available in the bars between meals we were never hungry so i cant comment on these. The ice cream 'service' was merely little pots which you could help yourself to. I didnt particularly like them but my wife enjoyed the chocolate flavour.

Drinks:
The pool bars served everything in plastic glasses which is sensible given the wind that whips through the place. The soft drinks were fine and there was slush puppy style iced drinks available as well.
The beer on tap was cruzcampo one of my favourite continentals lagers so that was fine. The wine was also ok although not to my personal taste . The free cava was very nice.

Service:
Aside from some in the pool bars who need to learn to smile, the service was great. The lobby bar staff and reception staff were very friendly, polite and helpful.

However, the real praise must go to the restaurant staff who were excellent. Very friendly, helpful and always seemed in control despite a fair amount going on around them.

Overall:
Whilst we both really enjoyed this hotel, we probably wont come back just because of its remote location and the lack of sights in the surrounding area. However, if we got a good deal and were just looking for a relaxing time then i would consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank igs1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdireccionsanblas, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear guest,
In the name of the Sandos San Blas we would like to give you many thanks for taking your time and writing such a detailed review about your experience here with us.
We are very grateful for all your favorable comments about your stay with us and are very pleased to read you were impressed with the layout of the hotel as well as the room and it amenities. Also it is very nice to get such a positive feedback about the selection of meat and fish in our buffet restaurant and the quality and presentation of the food offered in the a la carte restaurant.
We understand that the location of the hotel is very calm and peaceful and it is exactly what usually our clients look for. Therefore, it would be our pleasure to invite you for spending another relaxing stay in Tenerife and encourage you to visit our website to book your next holiday at the best price.
All our staff is looking forward to seeing you here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf to again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,795
    1,359
    424
    91
    42
See reviews for
1,367
2,480
91
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
heighington village
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

As in previous reviews we were met by friendly smiling staff to take our cases to our rooms on arrival.The rooms were very spacious with excellent bathroom and large shower rooms,the air conditioning in our room was adequate to keep a nice temperature.The food has to be the best I have ever experienced in any hotel either 4 or 5 star it was good quality cuisine which we found never got boring.There was always an excellent choice of meats and fish or for the more healthy minded salads also you could have freshly made pizza or pasta dishes.The desserts were also the best we have eaten at any hotel.The bars were good but there was no Smirnoff vodka include or southern comfort which my wife and myself enjoy also the beer was fairly poor quality and no bottles were available.The entertainment was in the pool bar open area near the restaurant and was the poorest we have ever seen at any hotel these acts would get booed off at any pub or club in England terrible.My last bad point was the fact that our room which was 426a was sited right next to a generator room which was basically a motor that was roaring away day and night .On the 2nd day we went to reception and complained to be told that nobody had previously complained but that the hotel was full we were then shown two disabled rooms on the ground floor in poor positions to choose from.We declined these and the receptionist said she would come back to us which she didnt giving the impression that they didnt really care that my wife found it difficult to sleep with the noise.The swimming pools were very nice the upper adult one was where we spent most days this was unheated and salt water so I would imagine might be too cold in winter.All in all we would return to this hotel if we got a good deal but would request to be no where near that generator again.

Room Tip: choose a room in the a section as these get the sun on an afternoon but not 426 or 427 as these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bonniesbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdireccionsanblas, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear guest,
First of all, in the name of Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, we would like to give you many thanks for taking your time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
We do sincerely appreciate all your positive comments regarding our hotel; especially we are very pleased to read your compliment with respect to the quality of the food that, as you write, “has to be the best you have ever experienced in any hotel”.
At the same time we would like to apologize for inconveniences in relation to the noise to be heard in your room. We would like you to know that we always try to do our best to fulfill all the needs and wishes of our clients to make their stay an enjoyable experience.
Once again thank you for all your comments and suggestions that make us feel obliged to keep on working hard to improve our service day by day.
Besides, we would like to invite you to visit our website to book your next holiday at the best price.
Hopefully see you here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Hotel Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our 2nd stay at San Blas.

The hotel is simply beautiful, as all the other reviews say... It is as beautiful as the pictures on the website show. No photo shop or tidying up required. It is stunning.

The transfer time is 10 minutes, if you are paying for transfers then bear in mind that you can get a cab for 15€ to the hotel (we got a cab on our return to Sofia Renia Airport as our transfer was later than we wanted).

The reception staff are exceptionally helpful, if it is your first stay then you'll receive some valuable information from them about the hotel and maps etc.

There are some lovely Spanish men to help with your bags, although this time we knew where we were going and just dashed off to our room without needing their help. On your first stay they are lovely and will show you how to find your room in the large hotel.

The rooms are as stunning as ever, well turned out. Cleaned daily and put back to the way it was when you arrived (which is lovely, as we tended to make a mess - sorry San Blas maids). They give you fresh towels daily.

The rooms have complimentary toiletries / toothbrushes / shaving kits / shower gels / soaps. If you forgot anything you'd be fine! It's all there!

There is a safe for you to use in the wardrobe.

The TV is a 32 inch LCD flat screen I believe, Samsung (same one we have at home) and has British channels.

You have two double beds and a sofa bed.

Aircon in the rooms and black out curtains that will keep the room dark all day (tip - if you have an early start leave them open a little or you will sleep all day!).

The food is great as ever, excellent selection that varies daily. Drinks changed slightly to the last time. Heineken (bottled) now has a 1€ supplement, but the other beer in its place is draft beer and according to my fiancé is nice. Smirnoff vodka has been removed, but I never drink vodka anyway. Everything drink or cocktail you could need is available. They are also happy to mix you up a drink using what's available if you are fussy. Teas, coffee and hot chocolates also available. For forget to ask for some nuts for your table with your drinks. Yummy :)

The hotel introduced wrist bands this month, apparently due to people managing to enter the resort and use the facilities for free. This was slightly annoying, although the hotel is in the early stages of this change over and will introduce a fabric bracelet which I'm sure will be lovely like everything else associated with the hotel.

Some other guests noticed that some Spanish families were letting people in the bottom gate (electric gate opened by our room key cards), which never effected me but perhaps Sandos could employ security and evict anyone caught doing this. Didn't effect my experience as I never witnessed it myself and wouldnt have known if I'd seen someone who wasn't a guest anyway - I was too busy enjoying myself.

Near by you have the town of San Blas which has some lovely shops and restaurants. We went to Taboo Bar - Italian restaurant. Bar Verde - English Cafe. And also a Chinese Buffett just past San Migual Village. All very lovely.

Also near by is Los Abrigos which has lovely Spanish restaurants. We would recommend the seafood platter at Los Abrigos Restaurant and also it's well worth visiting El Mirador. The food at El Mirador is amazing!!

The hotel pools are great, clean and a heated pool is available. Lots of sun beds and no fighting over them even in July we always got a bed.

Overall a great holiday and a hotel we plan to always return to! Don't allow others to put you off about this hotel, as you will not be dissappointed with anything.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheSlimmingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdireccionsanblas, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear guest,
First of all, in the name of Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf we would like to express our many thanks for taking your time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
It is our delight you to share such admirable statements about our hotel, with particular regard to the rooms, the selection of food and drinks included to our “all inclusive” package, the pools and the availability of sun beds and above all our staff that is always ready to attend you with a smile.
It is a great honour for us to read your kind recommendations of our hotel to all our potential clients and more than anything we appreciate your comment granted to the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf: “hotel we plan to always return to”. On this occasion we would like to invite you to visit our website to book your next holiday at the best price.
We are looking forward to seeing you here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Family of 3 visited from the 26th June to 6th July 2012. Arrived after 1.00 am check in was smooth no problems bell boy took cases to room. Seeing our room in the day we were happy we looked out to the lake, Block B, the room we had was a standard room only, peaceful and quiet, free safe and fridge in room not stocked, hairdryer in toilet and beach towels for sun beds that can be changed by taking them to reception as many time as you like during your stay. What I loved about this hotel were the policy of not being able to reserve sun beds, you could wake up after 9.00 am go for breakfast and still have your pick of beds after 10.00 am. A thumbs up for this.

Staff - All the staff worked very hard, always had a smile on their faces and nothing was too much trouble, reception staff always helpful. All staff were a credit to the hotel. We also did the nature reserve tour very interesting and want to give a shout out to the guides and we hope Lisandro was finally found on the reserve trail. Took the free bus to Playas De Americas and spent the day there you need to book this the day before bus did not run on a Thursday or a Sunday, Also went to the Medievil Night/Dinner we booked this through the hotel we took taxi there and back to San Miguel it is a short taxi ride. Good night had by all.

Food - Good something for everyone, but after 7 days for me the food did get a bit same old same old but this is just my opinion. Always enjoyed the coffee in the reception lobby. When we were their they introduced the wrist bands, also took Heineken and Smirnoff off the AI package. I do like a glass of wine with dinner but the wines were not to my taste - just my opinion, wines on the AI Package can be a hit or a miss, the Cava was nice so this was my drink of choice at dinner.

Entertainment - Cannot comment on the live shows as did not watch any of them.

The hotel is in the flight path but after a day or so we got used to the planes coming in to land and did not give it a second thought.

Activities - Board up to show you what activities were on each day and the next day. You were never bothered by anyone going round the pools to round up people to take part in activities it was down to yourself to put yourself out there. Our son played football when this was on he was disappointed that he only got to play this twice in the time we were there he kept checking the board on the last week and no football, he felt there was not a lot going on for teenagers. We also played a lot of tennis which was free. The hotel offers free wifi.

All in all we had a good time the hotel had a good mix of people from various countries. If you a looking for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful part of Tenerife then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto lake very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pandabuddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdireccionsanblas, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear guest,
In the name of Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf let me thank you for taking your valuable time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
We get a lot of pleasure out of reading such complimentary expressions about our hotel, with respect to the rooms, our sun beds reservation policy as well as our hard working and smiley staff who always try to do their best to make your stay enjoyable.
Also we would like to thank you for mentioning our exceptional nature reserve tour that, we are sure, nobody would be disappointed of. Therefore we would like to take this opportunity to invite all our future guests to visit an amazing landscape of the Environmental Reserve with our guided tour, full of surprises while staying with us.
We are very pleased that you had such a good time here with us that you recommend it to all our potential clients “looking for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful part of Tenerife” and of course we would like to encourage you to visit our website to book your next holiday at the best price.
We are looking forward to seeing you here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again next year!
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

What more an you ask for
8 pools with two heated, adult only pools as well
Rooms and service excerlent
Staff polite and helpful, nothing is to much trouble
Our spar bath didn't work ( 3rd day in ) and the engineer was there in 5 mins and fixed it
You have to ask for coffee & tea making facility's tone brought to your room
Rooms kept spotless and mopped everyday
Plenty of entertainment at night for kids as well as adults with live music in loby bar
As for sea view , yes you can see it but it's not that close , but who cares
I'd give this place 9 out 10
And we will return

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraggle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdireccionsanblas, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear guest,

In the name of Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf we would like to thank you for taking your time and writing a review about your recent experience here with us.

We are very pleased to read all your compliments given to our hotel, with particular regard to the rooms, the service and care provided by our hotel staff as well as the entertainment at night for kids and adults.
It is our delight to get to know you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you would return. We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to visit our website to book your next your holiday at the best price.

All our staff is looking forward to seeing you here in the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
30.1 km away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
15.3 km away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#16 of 58 in Costa Adeje
5,506 reviews
20.3 km away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,673 reviews
15.9 km away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
16.0 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf

Property: Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Address: Calle Grenamora s/n | Urb. San Blas Golf del Sur, 38639, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,047 - ₹ 28,802
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf All Inclusive is located in the San Blas Enviromental Reserve, beside two golf courses and seafront. The bedrooms are spacious with a terrace and have bathroom with bath tub, shower and hairdryer. Every guest room is soundproof, and offers satellite TV, stereo, Internet connection, minibar (extra charge), air conditioned, safe, phone and free WiFi. The complex has eight pools, a gym and a terrace with loungers and umbrellas, as well as two poolside bars. It also has aqua-aerobics, spa and sauna. The reception is 24 hour, and offers safe and currency exchange. The hotel also has a cafe-bar, a newspaper stand, a hair salon, a night club, a theater, a TV room, a restaurant, a conference room, free WiFi connection room, room service, laundry service (extra charge), a playground and free parking. Separate activities are organized for kids and adults alike. The hotel offers tennis (extra charge), ping-pong, beach volley, golf (extra charge), biking and aerobics classes. You can also row on the property's lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos San Blas Hotel Reserva Ambiental And Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing