We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”
Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina Suites
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

What can I say - we have just returned from Marina Suites and would definitely return. It has everything- location, staff, fantastic views and facilities! Description in brochure is accurate and what you see in the brochure is what you get. Apartments very large,bright modern and spotless.
The infinity pool is spacious and never seemed crowded even though we were in peak season. Jacuzzi section of pool also excellent. Usual trouble with sunbeds but life guard very helpul, will move beds around to assist to to get be together as there were 4 of us. Staff were very helpful, nothing too much trouble, over the 2 weeks we had a couple of requests (eg for more towels) to housekeeping and staff were at our room within 10 minutes. Suites were spotlessly clean as were the 2 hot tubs which were drained, cleaned and refilled with warm water daily! Breakfast in restaurant was fantastic so we upgraded, cheaper to do direct with hotel than when booking holiday.
Views were fantastic over looking the sea and marina, plenty of boat and fishing trips available. During the dolphin watch we were able to see dolphin, fin whales, turtles and flying fish, excellent value. My son suffers from sea sickness so we took the catamaran and he was fine. Trip to Mogan well worth it, very picturesque. We went twice, Friday is market day and very busy so we took the ferry for a second visit. It takes 30 mins and cost 10 euro for adults.
Too many good restaurants to mention but Oscars by beach,Toro Bravo by tunnel and Pinnochios in commercial centre were our favourites.
You have 2 beaches to chose from, both very good and fab for snorkelling, Amodores is 25 mins walk away , quite a trek in the heat but well worth it, Puerto Rico closest also very good with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas available. Don't be misled by the cool breeze - you will need these!

Visit to capital Las Palmas also worth a visit especially the old quarter with Christopher Columbus house and the cathedral. We are not a family for staying on-site ( there was not a lot to do in resort) but as facilities in hotel were so good we really didn't mind

We dont usually return to resorts but I would definitely return here due to the fantastic facilities of this hotel.

Room Tip: All room have views of either sea & pool or marina - all equally good our request of pool room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C_Turn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,140
    794
    173
    37
    19
See reviews for
1,427
1,157
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I've just returned from a two-week holiday at the Marina Suites Hotel where I stayed with my wife and two teenage sons (aged 17 and 13). The hotel is perfectly situated at the harbour area of the resort and our room overlooked the marina area where all of the boats are located. The room was large and spotlessly clean and consisted of a large double bedroom, large bathroom and living area/small kitchen area which had a signle bed for my eldest son and a sofa bed for my youngest. The living room has a large flat screen TV which offers mostly local TV but there are a number of english speaking channels (I watched Sky News International). The kitchen area is well equipped and served our self catering needs perfectly.
Our room was on the second of eight fllors which was perfect for us. The swimming pool is located on the first floor and although I initially thought slightly small in size, is in fact great size wise and fantasticly designed. The hotel offers free wi-fi in the lobby and pool/pool bar areas and the bar in the lobby is small but very comfortable indeed. The staff are probably the most polite and helpful that I have ever experienced and the lifeguard at the pool, Fran, is a total gentleman. What a top bloke he is!
There is a small restaurant located immediately outside the hotel which offers a mixture of loacl and english dishes which are very reasonably priced. A beer costs Euro 1.50 (all day) which is great!
The resort is nice but in my opinion slightly dated and could do 'with a lick of paint'. It reminded me of a 1990s style resort with aspects in need of repair. That said the beach is wonderful and there are a number of decent bars and restaurants all located within a short walking distance. Our favourite was the Harbour Lights at the other side of the beach area where the staff are wonderful. We sampled many of the local restaurants, best being Planet Steak House and the Royal Oak where a meal for the four of us, including a beer/wine or two costs about 60 Euros. Very well priced indeed.
We went on a few trips and treated our son to a boat trip aboard the Sagittarius Boat for his harbour which was located immediately in front of us in the harbour. That was one of the downsides to the trip; the lady at the desk was extremely rude and there was the distinct impression that they were simply only after your money. To elaborate my youngest son and I went parasailing during the trip (not long enough) and the boat broke down and brought two lovely ladies to an abrupt fall into the sea! The two crew on the boat were more interested in saving their parachute that helping the distraught ladies back into the boat; SIMPLY DISGUSTING ATTITUDE!!! My eldest son went on the jet ski; don't bother as you get less than ten minutes. It is advertised as a value for money trip to save you money on water sport activities. DON'T GIVE THEM YOUR MONEY!!!
The other annoying factor of the holiday was the constant hassling you face when walking around. There are countless reps from Holiday Club that try to entice you to Amadores Beach (actually very nice) where you are asked to take part in a tour of their facilities. Sometimes you could get hassled as much as three times in the space of 100 yards.
That said we had a wonderful first time in Puerto Rico and it is somewhere where we would definitely return. If you are going to this resort then the Marina Suites is most definitely the hotel for you. It is, without doubt, the best hotel in Puerto Rico by a country mile!

Room Tip: We preferred a low floor to save use of three very busy lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mendez27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Just returned from a seven night stay at this beautiful hotel.

Staff are exceptional and really go out of their way to assist you.

Hotel is spotlessly clean and very modern. Suites are very spacious and the cleaners are a credit to themselves.

One word of warning though - watch out for the sun lounger queue which starts from 7.45am!!! I couldn't believe my eyes when I left the hotel very early one morning for an excursion and there was a queue of a least 20 people waiting for the door to open so they could put their towels on the sun beds. I could understand if there weren't enough beds for everyone but there are plenty, and the annoying thing is these people just leave the towels and don't return until much later that morning - as the sun doesn't come around until around mid morning - so infuriating!! There is a leaflet in your room stating that if a sunbed is left unattended for 30 minutes the towels will be taken away but this did not happen.

Please don't let my moan above put you off because overall the hotel is fabulous.

Room Tip: Rooms either give a harbour view or a sea view. We had a harbour view and personally I think this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Me my partner and son spent a week at the Marina Suites..at the end of july..
first impressions of the hotel when you drive through the marina is Wow! its set by the side of the marina right on the sea ..
The hotel staff were very freindly,the rooms were enormous, very clean,
When we booked this we was going to go just B&B but after reding a review about the food epecially the evening meals we went half board..ive been travelling for years and i can honestly say the food is "fantastic" plenty of choice different national dish every night..
I will definatly be going back again..

Room Tip: Marina view! front of hotel have the best view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We have just come back from a 14 day holiday at the Marina Suites in Puerto Rico. There were six in the party - including my wife, son and daughter aged 18 and 17 and their two friends also aged 18 an 17. We stayed in a doubled bedroomed apartment on the third floor with the two lads sharing the pull out sofa in the living area. The apartment was excellent - modern very spacious clean and comfortable. We had a lovely view over the Marina. We did not eat in the hotel so I can't comment on that but the hotel was very good in all aspects. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, the maid was excellent. The hotel was pretty near full when we were there with a great mix of nationalities. The pool area was very nice although every space contained a sunbed and was therefore a little chlostrophobic but we found a lovely spot each morning on the sea facing side of the small chidrens pool.The atmosphere was very relaxed even though it was busy. It is definitely a family oriented hotel - there were no rowdy guests or incidents to complain about and it is so much quieter than living in the valley overlooking the centrum. It is only a 20 minute walk from the centre in any event. If your coming to Puerto Rico - stay here it is a great hotel to make your base. Next time we come I think we will go half board as we heard good reports from our fellow guests who took up this option.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Marina - the double rooms are on the right hand side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.3 km away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,261 reviews
1.8 km away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,102 reviews
13.8 km away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,517 reviews
12.0 km away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Property: Marina Suites
Address: Calle Juan Diaz Rodriguez 10, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,044 - ₹ 22,159
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing