We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great holiday - some improvements needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Altamar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Altamar
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great holiday - some improvements needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

The Altamar is bitter sweet / some good some bad Not an horrendous holiday and for the price worth it. Room was excellent but we did have a double balcony one of the biggest in the complex with no neighbours two minutes walk from the pool and restaurant so didnt need to use lifts to get back to our room. This actually made the holiday as you needed to get up at 7.00 in the morning to get a sunbed even though you were not allowed to reserve them no-one took any notice. Luckily we didnt need to bother. If you had a room where you were further up the hill you would have had to get a sunbed near the pool. Other reviews have complained about the lifts - for me they were quirky - a funicular with windows that as you went up the hill had the most gorgeous view. Ten times better than a small enclosed claustrophic lift. The food was actually excellent we went for two weeks so yes could get a bit samey but the quality was just as good as a restaurant. Freshly cooked meats and fish, fresh salad, rice and pasta. It didnt taste like school dinners like some all inclusive. My only complaint was some of the jobsworth waiters (not all of them). At lunch and dinner times I wanted a wine glass with my meal rather than a plastic glass that I agree shoudnt be used near the pool. They had a shelf near the wine barrel where you served your own wine which had glasses on that at meal times I used to take a glass to pour my wine. Not really impressed that I was told on numerous occasions that all inclusive guests couldnt use the glasses these were only for a la carte guests. I am a respectful wife and mother of a teenager not a rowdy club 18-30 holidayer. I still paid over £2,000 for my holiday not really too much to ask for a wine glass at dinner rather than a plastic cup was it ;(. Saying that some waiters actually handed them to you - it depended on who was on. The entertainment was very mediocre. It was all aimed at children until 10.00pm. When you have sat down for your meal at 8.00 you dont really want to sit watching kids skipping to malcolm mclaren or sitting on the dance floor doing organised painting for two hours whilst you wait for the cabaret to come on. I have a teenager who i took on holiday as a child but they used to do the kids separately and still have entertainment for adults - too much kids entertainment before 10.00pm. We gave up some nights and went to the Europa Centre which had an excellent bar called Barbacoa. altogether i enjoyed my holiday i wouldnt advise anyone not to go as it wasnt horrendous but as already advised needed a few improvements

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool / restaurant - that way if you dont want to get up at 7.00 to get a sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SMT0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    622
    254
    70
    45
See reviews for
739
570
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Really nice place and location. We were lucky to get a room on the 3rd floor next to pool and bar/restaurant :-) Room 97B which also came with a double balcony and 3 sunbeds, 2 of which were upgraded beds so overall really happy.

Usual problem with idiots reserving sun beds at 07:00 onwards despite warnings from management not to! We were lucky that we had our own on balcony close by so didn't have to endure this crappy task.

Food was great and there was always plenty of choice. Beer/pop and wine on tap. Although 11.00 - 23.00 seems a bit tight for all inclusive. No free snack bars between meals.

Entertainment ok but we had better nights at Europa Centre especially the Barbacoa bar.

Altamar is a great place only spoiled my families who let there kids roam free in gangs all day and night causing chaos. So if you are a parent who doesn't care where your children are while you get drunk this is the place for you. Not suitable for couples without children unless they go outside school holidays. The animation team were crap and played no music till 16.00 and that was for bingo and then they came back at 21.30 ready for 22.00 show. They did things for kids from 12.00 - 15.00.

Rooms lovely and clean and ideal for purpose. However no air con and beds are hard. So good nights sleep not easy.

Please avoid the time share scam being run by Thomas Cook for Anfi Resort. You get pressured for 3 hours to buy into there crap scheme. If your mad enough to go for the sake of a 45 euro discount on a trip while your there (which we were). Shame on you Thomas Cook, They tell you that you get to use the beach at a 5 star hotel, which is free for public to use anyhow. They tell you that you have to sign up for time share there and then which is not true. Then they bring out the manager when you say no and add more pressure!

Try canarian combo with Thomas cook. Get to see dolphins, do a jeep safari and ride a camel. All good fun and a great day out.

A mixed bag but had a good holiday due really to being able to stay on balcony and still being able to swim and get food and drink close by. Last time we do all inclusive or main stream hotel/apartments purely because of parents who let there kids spoil other peoples holidays.

Room Tip: Ask for 97B its like having your own Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ebaybazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selby
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed at the Altamar for the first week of the school holidays, the hotel is ok the rooms are basic with no air conditioning we new this before we travelled but thought fans would be ok not in August! too hot so we hired a unit for thee of the days for 30 euros which did the job but was very noisy. We saw many people sleeping on the balcony on a morning because the rooms were too hot.

The all inclusive option here was very good value you serve your own Larger, soft drinks and wine etc and you had to got to the bar for the spirits the drinks were great not watered down and they always had ice, chopped orange and lemon on the bar so that was excellent never had to que for long apart from 10.45pm when everyone gets a drink before the 11.00pm ai finishes. The food here was also decent for a 3 star yes it is a bit repetitive but most AI are the food was hot and a good choice on offer we did eat out one night but only for a change.
A couple of things let the dining area down their is no dress code so the only rule seems to be no wet clothing so you seemed to have some people making an effort and some not bothering at all. The second main problem was very young children been left by parents to get their own food so food ending up in other dishes, ice cream getting mixed up etc etc. To me the hotel should have a rule that anyone under eight should be with an adult when going down the buffet
line especially with hot food dishes.

The pool area was ok got a sunbed no problem the Entertainment team here are excellent Gazza and the crew will keep all off you entertained and the shows were ok for a hotel. Bingo in the afternoon is also good with 300 to 400 euros on offer nice if you win! The hotel did seem to have a few problems with kids breaking the lifts and the massage chairs etc the hotel management did deal with it. The hotel been good value does seem to attract some people that would not look out of place on the Jezza kyle sofa which was a shame because the majority of the kids and families had a great time with no problems, you no the type of people I mean hammer the AI and dont have a clue were their kids are out of sight out of mind.

I would go back and enjoyed most of it, Go to Puerto de mogan if you can a really lovely village and well worth the visit and if you do eat out the Al Garore stake house in the europa centre was excellent, cooking all the food in front of you a family run restaurant went a few years back and it was just as good this time. All in all a good holiday and a good value hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 3 / 4 would be better no need to use the lift as much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ackoSelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

First things first, this hotel did exceed my expectaions based on some reviews on here, it wasnt all bad. Loved the view from the balcony, we had a pool view and you can see the sea from every room as far as i could tell. The rooms are basic but nothing bad can be said about them apart from not having a gate on the balconys which when you have a toddler with you makes for hard work!

The lift is a nightmare, but it seems other hotels in the area have simaler systems.

Food was good, but repetative. The italltian theme night is a must do! All inclusive is value for money in some aspects, but when we looked in the on site Spar the prices are really cheap so self catering could work out cheaper.

Entertainment is on from 9.30 till 11ish, could do with being earlyer but its held in the resturant and tea doesnt finish till half 9.

At the welcome meeting we were 'talked' into the Anfi trip - DO NOT GO! we spent 4 hours being shown round this hotel/timeshare place, yes its a great hotel but its a waste of a day as they try to get you to sign up to a timeshare deal.

Lovely location, europa shopping centre good for a night out / few drinks

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, any lower then that and you will be to far from the main areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sm24_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

the altimar is fantastic place to stay ,helpful and friendly staff exelent food plenty of choice .the entertainment was brilliant with something different every nite.choice of two pools for swimming nice and clean ,plenty of sunbeds if you just want to sunbathe ,lots of activities for the children to keep them entertained and a shallow part in the pool for the yonger children to play safely ,l would definately go there again i really enjoyed myself there .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joyce321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.9 km away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 71 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
0.4 km away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.6 km away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#15 of 71 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Altamadores
Hotel Altamadores
#10 of 71 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.5 km away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 71 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altamar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altamar

Property: Hotel Altamar
Address: Avenida de la Cornisa, 21, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,947 - ₹ 33,724
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Altamar 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel is located on the high area of Puerto Rico Gran Canaria, its offers 257 fully rebuilt Apartments with wide terrace and impressive views to the see. We also offer a great variety of services and great equipmentfor all kind of guest (families, couples, groups, etc...). All you may require to enjoy and unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Altamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamar Aparthotel Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Altamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing