We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colina Mar Apartments
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I used to go here 4 or 5 times a year with my family. It is a lovely hotel. The location would not be suitable for some one with walking difficulties. The rooms are very clean and quite a decent size.Very large pools, onsite shop,3 different bars, good entertainment. The food was ok but very basic,we where half board the food was acceptable but used to eat out most times because after 2 weeks you do get sick of eating the same things but there is plenty places to eat for cheap enough.The views are amazing if you are not affraid or hights. The only thing i could pick a fault with was the Cockroaches and Insects that could get in your room on a night. I woke up one morning with a cockroach 5cm for me head. I suppose that this is not the hotels fault but they could do something to help to prevent it.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1000Gemma0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    452
    244
    84
    83
See reviews for
425
440
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast,Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just back from Easter break with 2 kids, 11 and 9 years. Self catering so didn't get to see the all inclusive food but didn't hear too many good things about it from other guests. Rooms were fine and just what we expected from the star rating. I had wondered about reviews about the amount of steps in the place but it was no big deal. The payoff for such a hilltop location is the views from the balcony both in the morning when the sun rises and in the evening as the town below comes to life. I could have sat for all week with a beer in hand just watching the world go past. The town centre was fine but you could really notice a difference in price between there and local Europa area beside the apartments. We could eat out for about half the price staying near the top of the hill. The local supermarket in the Europa was also very cheap. Nice fresh bread every morning for a few cents, bottle of Mateus Rose 3.95 and big bottle of local beer for 1 Euro. Made it all very good place to go self catering with family of four. Given how many good places to eat on top of the good prices the all inclusive option wouldnt seem a good idea. As said by others the place is full of taxis to get about and really cheap with us never getting asked for any more than 3.20 Euro any trip we made. A short walk or taxi gets you to Amadores beach which is very nice and also good value bars and cafes to eat in. All in all we had a great time and didnt get too sun burnt - will be putting it on one of my lists for places to go again. One last point - showers in the appartments are fantastic which makes a great change from other places I have been to.

Room Tip: All get the morning sun and depends whether you want to have close walk to pool or reception. 1st fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ComberBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

we had a week self catering,well equipped basic but clean and no cockroaches yipee!
views from balcony fab. we walked down to amadores beach,two beds and brolly 9 euros, taxi back 3-4 euros.
cheap to eat out cocktails expensive but lovely :)
beds very uncomfy but put cushions from sofas on top of matresses problem solved.
we didnt eat here or viist bar or shows so cant comment.
in the strip go to happy valley indian fab and miami steak house great service and a laugh with the waiters.
wouldnt go agian but it ticked all the boxes of a cheap holiday in th sun!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockchickYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The top of Purto Rico so your in for great views. However, its a killer to walk back to after a day on the beach or a night in the town below. Taxi and buses are available for a few euro! We stayed self catering but did try the breakfast at 4euro each. Very clean and well layed out but the food was stone cold, including the baked beans!! The rooms are ok for somewhere to sleep and wash but nothing special. My bed was very uncomfortable and pulling back the sheets found the mattress split open. The receiption was very quick to replace this when pointed out ,without problem! The pool area was cleaned well every morning, and appeared inviteing. This is a basic hotel which can be seen in the price. If you can except the walk and abit of peeling paint you will have a great time!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view but maybe avoid rooms over the bar area if you like a early night?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobH549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I have just returned home from a one week, half board stay in the Colina Mar with my husband. It was a last minute booking with Thomson. I checked the Thomson reviews as well as this site, and on balance, decided it would be an ideal place for our break. Puerto Rico is described as picturesque but we found it over developed, haphazard and quite ugly (having said that, the views from the Colina Mar down to PR at night is quite pretty with all the lights!). There are timeshare touts all over and some can be aggressive - be aware that even if they tell you they are working for the tourist office and not a timeshare, they are all the same! Just smile politely, say no thanks and keep walking. Do not engage in any conversation!
We arrived late into the evening, and did not feel particularly welcomed at the reception desk by the gentleman who eventually broke off his very loud telephone conversation long enough to give us a key.
The buffet was about to be cleared away for the night when we arrived at the restaurant, so there was very little choice and what was left was dried up. We were also told off by one of the staff for inadvertantly sitting in the a la carte area (this is denoted by the blue table cloths as opposed to the cream ones, just so you know).
The restaurant area is more akin to a school canteen, please do not expect any finesse or care from the staff, or any culinary delights from the food. Breakfast is fairly good value, cheeses, meats and breads as well as the more traditional hot fayre. The evening menu is limited, over the week we saw chips with everything, there were also chicken nuggets at every sitting (including breakfast). Other items included five different versions of the same salad, sprouts and broccoli in a cheese sauce (random), roasted meat including chicken and pork, fish steaks, soup, jacket potatos, tinned carrots, fresh kebabs one night were actually a treat and we both enjoyed those. Desserts were a treat of a different sort altogether, most nights it was a case of 'what is it?' though the ice cream was lovely. Every night we were faced with a pink dessert that may have aspired to angel delight? Who knows. My husband and I are well travelled as I work in the industry and we are absolutely not fussy eaters, we'll give pretty much anything a go, but the food quality here is very poor indeed.
The staff are not waiters/waitresses, the only night we were treated as diners in a restaurant and offered any courtesy was the night the manager made a spot visit. Other than that, it was as if we were in the way of them getting the plates away. Some service training is desperately needed.
The apartment we had was basic, outdated in decor but very clean and I can only applaud the cleaning staff who clearly had a pride in their work sadly missing from practically everyone else on site. The shower was better than ours at home for power and water temperature! The bathroom let the apartment down, I would not have sat down in the bath, and the window catch was broken so tended to blow open at odd times. The kitchen area was well equipped, we stocked up the fridge from the local supermarket for our lunches, if you were to go self catering you would have everything you needed to make simple meals.
You will need to bring a towel for the pool as non are provided. We were cold at night but were given extra blankets when we asked for them.
There are two pools, if you want a quiet sunbathing day, head for the smaller one, the area around the larger one is a bit of a thoroughfare.
The whole complex is very clean and the pools are cleaned daily.
The rooms are all on different levels, and it can be a bit confusing to start with, all rooms have a sea view (some more of a side view than others), the higher the room the better the view, if you want a quiet room ask for a high room away from the main pool as it is next to the bar. The shop on site is well stocked but the Europa centre is only five minutes walk away and there is a good supermarket with a bakery on the lower level in there - mind the timeshare touts at both entrances.
Top places to go - Mogan is lovely, but don't go on a friday which is market day. Take the water taxi from Puerto Rico to make a day of it (takes half an hour, same as the bus but prettier). Palmitos Park is well worth a visit, a real surprise in the mountains, you can take a bus to get there.
Overall, if you are self catering, and you like the typical Canaries 'shopping centres' for eating, drinking and entertainment, then Puerto Rico and the Colina Mar may well be for you. If you want to go half board, or all inclusive and you expect a hotel level of service and quality, with a rich programme of evening entertainment, you will be disappointed - choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NottinghamBillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,368 reviews
0.2 km away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,151 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#37 of 68 in Puerto Rico
286 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Nido del Aguila
Hotel Nido del Aguila
#33 of 68 in Puerto Rico
289 reviews
0.7 km away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#22 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina Mar Apartments

Property: Colina Mar Apartments
Address: Calle Timanfaya 4, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,897 - ₹ 11,459
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colina Mar Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colina Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Colina Mar Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing