We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Base for Jerez Moto GP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playaballena Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Rota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2017

We used this lovely hotel as a Base to watch the Jerez Moto GP. Extremely quiet and chilled in a perfect beach location. Stunning beach here and at nearby Rota. Perfect for Jerez, Cadiz and Sevilla. The staff were brilliant and although they don't speak very much English this was never a problem. The food was varied and always fresh and steak etc cooked to order. The pools are super clean, the gardens are attractive and the whole complex is immaculately clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and the best bit is the English don't seem to have found the Costa Ballena coast yet which remains very Spanish. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yzf250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaballena Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you felt very comfortable in our hotel. Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for other guests who wish to stay in our hotel.

We are at your full disposal and hope that you return really soon to Playa Ballena so you can enjoy again all our services.

Yours sincerely,
Luis Rossell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,973)
There are newer reviews for Playaballena Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

High recommended hotel.. Close to the coast.. Good activities in swimming pool.. Fit for family have children.. They will spend very nice vacation there.. Better to chose Half borad reservation as there is no more choices of restaurants around there.. The buffet is very good with a lot of variety

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank SaadSennawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

酒店整体还可以,具体的可以看我的英文解释。有孩子的家庭值得去的。好的季节应该是5月到9月,我们4月份在这里还是很冷的。
Pretty nice hotel, great location, directly at the coast. It has some equipments and programs for children, but due to the low season (even though in April ), they are only open for a few hours for 3 days per week. Morning fitness programs have some variability, yoga, Zumba etc. On the contrary, evening Programms are like Catastrophe, for example, Friday 22:00 live music night, My family sat there for half an hour, they are just taking something in Spanish for the children, and the adults are doing nothing than sitting there like some idiots, the worse is some women on the stage taking something very loud in Spanish...
Tipps:
-it is a place for enjoying the weather and nice coast, do not put too much hope on the hotel's program...
-if you have children, the rooms on the ground floor are fantastic, since they are close to the pool and easier to go to the beach.
-Take the half pension if it is possible, since there are not so many restaurants around the hotel, anyway, the food is not bad at all.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yuping Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We have just spent a lovely Christmas week in the hotel. The food was very good and excellent on Christmas Eve. The restaurant is designed as a buffet so the choice of meals are vast. The service was very good. We had a superior room which was excellent very clean and offered many extras. The surrounding area offers many things. Long walks on the beach and plenty of cycle tracks which we used by hiring the bikes from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DMChelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaballena Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you.

Luis Rossell
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Great hotel ,located next to the beach and 30 min from Jerez airport. A great location to explore costa de la luz we even went on a day trip to Gibraltar.The swimming pool is great it has to water slides which my 4 and 6 years old loved.The food is Spanish affair which we liked. You do have bacon an eggs but no canned beans I am afraid

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ai4ao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rota
1.7 km away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
0.6 km away
ALEGRIA Costa Ballena
7.2 km away
Hotel Playa de la Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Hotel Caribe Rota
Hotel Caribe Rota
#9 of 10 in Rota
72 reviews
9.6 km away
Hotel Duque de Najera
5.4 km away
Hotel Monterrey Costa
Hotel Monterrey Costa
#1 of 9 in Chipiona
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playaballena Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playaballena Spa Hotel

Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I s/n | Costa Ballena, 11520 Rota, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rota
#2 Family Hotel in Rota
#3 Business Hotel in Rota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rota
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rota
Price Range: ₹ 3,970 - ₹ 21,801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playaballena Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playaballena SPA Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to Costaballena Golf Club and set amongst charismatic spots such as Rota, Chipiona and Sanlucar de Barrameda in the heart of the Bay of Cadiz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playaballena Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playaballena Hotel Rota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing