We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 181
US$ 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 220
US$ 166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hostal Macavi(Rota)(Great Value!)
US$ 97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Hostal La Espanola(Rota)(Great Value!)
US$ 108
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,122)
Filter reviews
2,123 results
Traveller rating
801
953
223
80
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
801
953
223
80
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolnice hotelthe ground floorwatermelonweekly activitiesmini golfhalf pensionperfect beach locationwater slidesfamily hotelnice terraceper daycosta ballenapalm treeslow seasonfamily vacationfree parking
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,123 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Great hotel ,located next to the beach and 30 min from Jerez airport. A great location to explore costa de la luz we even went on a day trip to Gibraltar.The swimming pool is great it has to water slides which my 4 and 6 years old loved.The food is Spanish affair which we liked. You do have bacon an eggs but no canned beans I am afraid

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ai4ao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The rooms were very clean and bedding was changed daily. The restaurant was very busy at the weekend, but the staff were very good and the food was amazing, with a great choice on offer. The beach was reached via a gate from the pool area and is one of the best beaches I have visited. Lovely clean pool and waterfalls. Plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas available. I can recommend this hotel, but bear in mind that this hotel is not yet discovered by the English tourist. (A good thing I think!)

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Phumph7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We had a 3 night stay at this hotel on a half-board basis and were pleasantly surprised by the facilities it offered. Because it was out of season the outside pool área was not available but it was possible to use the indoor pool and spa.
Our room on the 2nd floor was well appointed and very spacious with two large doublé beds, a separate bathroom with the usual fittings and an adjacent wash hand basin área. There was a small balcony overlooking the garden with a table and chairs.
The buffet meals served in the huge dining room were off a very good quality and offered a wide variety of hot and cold dishes at breakfast and lunch or dinner.
For relaxing before or after a meal the Captain Ahab bar is comfortable and again very spacious. Throughout our stay the staff were very friendly and efficient. We would definitely like to re-visit this hotel.

Room Tip: Not a high rise hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NormanWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaballena Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and for sharing your opinion about your stay.

Luis Rossell
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We have recently returned from a 10 day stay at this pleasant hotel and have only good things to say about it. We found all of the staff: reception, catering, bar etc genuinely friendly, and approachable.

We were all inclusive and were pleased to find lots of good Spanish fare on the menus at each sitting, with plenty of seafood and not a baked bean in sight!

Happily we were one of the few British couples there and although there were some German and East European guests. It was never enough to disrupt the wonderful Spanish feel of the place. This is exactly what we were hoping for.

Special mentions to the poolside bar staff who along with keeping our glasses topped up with Cava also helped with pronunciation, correcting and improving our Spanish - gracios, muy apreciado :)

The hotel is situated close to an expansive beach which has great walks behind it and the terrain is also suitable for hiring bikes and cycling. The rooms are clean and relatively well maintained without being overly fussy.

Good roads links mean that if you have a car (we did) you can easily visit Chipiona, Cadiz, Jerez etc and although longer drives Gibraltar and Sevilla are doable.

In my opinion this hotel (and surrounding area) isn't really suitable for action seeking, younger folks and will possibly turn off those who want a more Anglo-Spanish experience for example there was little/no nightlife around and the hotels' animacion was mainly (sometimes completely) in Spanish. This was wonderful for us as we have some Spanish skills but it is something to consider.

If you want a quiet, relaxing, more authentic break with honest food, and the sound of Spanish voices in the air, this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaballena Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments given towards our establishment, and our staff, I will take this comment to them personally, because is in our interest, that all of our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their holidays.

We are your disposal at anytime and we are looking forward to seeing you.

Luis Rossell
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We stayed at Playaballena for a week recently. Late September was ideal to stay here because the weather was great and the hotel was not over busy during the week.
We had a pool view room -2045- which also had a side sea view. The room was pleasant and comfortable. I very much liked the ceiling fan rather than the usual noisy air conditioning machine.

The food was plentiful but repetitive in the restaurant. My one gripe was the very poor service in the restaurant. There was simply not enough restaurant staff and the management should address this problem. There were no restaurants nearby so we ate in the hotel each night.

The pool area and garden is lovely and best of all the beach is only two minutes walk away. The beach is lovely and unspoilt and sun lounger parasol and mattress rental is only a total of 5 Euro per day.

The guests in this hotel were mostly Spaniards which was very interesting for us. I would certainly go again.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MRN2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaballena Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Luis Rossell
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews