We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playaballena Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Rota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We have just spent a lovely Christmas week in the hotel. The food was very good and excellent on Christmas Eve. The restaurant is designed as a buffet so the choice of meals are vast. The service was very good. We had a superior room which was excellent very clean and offered many extras. The surrounding area offers many things. Long walks on the beach and plenty of cycle tracks which we used by hiring the bikes from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DMChelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaballena Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you.

Luis Rossell
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,971)
There are newer reviews for Playaballena Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1,971 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2016

Great hotel ,located next to the beach and 30 min from Jerez airport. A great location to explore costa de la luz we even went on a day trip to Gibraltar.The swimming pool is great it has to water slides which my 4 and 6 years old loved.The food is Spanish affair which we liked. You do have bacon an eggs but no canned beans I am afraid

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ai4ao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The rooms were very clean and bedding was changed daily. The restaurant was very busy at the weekend, but the staff were very good and the food was amazing, with a great choice on offer. The beach was reached via a gate from the pool area and is one of the best beaches I have visited. Lovely clean pool and waterfalls. Plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas available. I can recommend this hotel, but bear in mind that this hotel is not yet discovered by the English tourist. (A good thing I think!)

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Phumph7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We had a 3 night stay at this hotel on a half-board basis and were pleasantly surprised by the facilities it offered. Because it was out of season the outside pool área was not available but it was possible to use the indoor pool and spa.
Our room on the 2nd floor was well appointed and very spacious with two large doublé beds, a separate bathroom with the usual fittings and an adjacent wash hand basin área. There was a small balcony overlooking the garden with a table and chairs.
The buffet meals served in the huge dining room were off a very good quality and offered a wide variety of hot and cold dishes at breakfast and lunch or dinner.
For relaxing before or after a meal the Captain Ahab bar is comfortable and again very spacious. Throughout our stay the staff were very friendly and efficient. We would definitely like to re-visit this hotel.

Room Tip: Not a high rise hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NormanWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaballena Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and for sharing your opinion about your stay.

Luis Rossell
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We have recently returned from a 10 day stay at this pleasant hotel and have only good things to say about it. We found all of the staff: reception, catering, bar etc genuinely friendly, and approachable.

We were all inclusive and were pleased to find lots of good Spanish fare on the menus at each sitting, with plenty of seafood and not a baked bean in sight!

Happily we were one of the few British couples there and although there were some German and East European guests. It was never enough to disrupt the wonderful Spanish feel of the place. This is exactly what we were hoping for.

Special mentions to the poolside bar staff who along with keeping our glasses topped up with Cava also helped with pronunciation, correcting and improving our Spanish - gracios, muy apreciado :)

The hotel is situated close to an expansive beach which has great walks behind it and the terrain is also suitable for hiring bikes and cycling. The rooms are clean and relatively well maintained without being overly fussy.

Good roads links mean that if you have a car (we did) you can easily visit Chipiona, Cadiz, Jerez etc and although longer drives Gibraltar and Sevilla are doable.

In my opinion this hotel (and surrounding area) isn't really suitable for action seeking, younger folks and will possibly turn off those who want a more Anglo-Spanish experience for example there was little/no nightlife around and the hotels' animacion was mainly (sometimes completely) in Spanish. This was wonderful for us as we have some Spanish skills but it is something to consider.

If you want a quiet, relaxing, more authentic break with honest food, and the sound of Spanish voices in the air, this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaballena Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments given towards our establishment, and our staff, I will take this comment to them personally, because is in our interest, that all of our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their holidays.

We are your disposal at anytime and we are looking forward to seeing you.

Luis Rossell
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rota
1.7 km away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
0.7 km away
ALEGRIA Costa Ballena
7.2 km away
Hotel Playa de la Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Hotel Caribe Rota
Hotel Caribe Rota
#9 of 10 in Rota
72 reviews
9.6 km away
Hotel Duque de Najera
5.4 km away
Hotel Monterrey Costa
Hotel Monterrey Costa
#1 of 9 in Chipiona
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playaballena Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playaballena Spa Hotel

Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I s/n | Costa Ballena, 11520 Rota, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rota
#3 Business Hotel in Rota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rota
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rota
Price Range: ₹ 3,983 - ₹ 21,778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playaballena Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playaballena SPA Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to Costaballena Golf Club and set amongst charismatic spots such as Rota, Chipiona and Sanlucar de Barrameda in the heart of the Bay of Cadiz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playaballena Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playaballena Hotel Rota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing