We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fawtly towers” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maine

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Maine
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eu
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fawtly towers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Look to the soap, arrogance can be nice but their are limits, if the service in the restaurant was in accordance with the price it would be good, but if you forget menus then their is a problem. Je suis désolé is not good enough if you make mistakes.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    45
    39
    32
    34
See reviews for
13
116
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
waterlooville uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We were given room 30 which is accessed directly from the car park. There is a doormat to trap the loose chippings but inevitably some get in on shoes. The floor is laminated and there was no rug so it was often painful when walking about barefoot!
The room itself was large and modern - not a hint of art deco anywhere. Very comfortable bed, and large bathroom / wetroom. Plenty of storage space.

Restaurant is in the old part of the hotel and has a lot of character. Evening meals were fine, but a bit limited in choice. Breakfast - buffet style - was excellent but at 10 Euro it should be.

Staff do not speak any English.

Hotel is next door to the station, but we did not see or hear a train in 3 days! Maybe different in the summer.

Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

After reading reviews we were looking forward to staying in this quirky place. On our arrival we were dispatched to the back of the car park where there had been built some wooden units which were modern and small but clean. So apart from the bar which couldnt decide whether it was an antique or junk shop and a peek into the retaurant we never got to see any of this unusual property. The one thing that did disgust me was one morning openeing the room curtains to see a memeber of the kitchen staff stood at the back of the building eating something and at the same time urinating into the grate which definately put me off trying the retaurant. As english was not spoken we could not complain.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ls57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh,scotland
Level Contributor
260 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

Had read reviews which said that hotel decor was belle epoch and that you either love it or hate it! We loved it.
Eu is a small town 5 miles from the coast and has a marvellous cathedral and a market each Friday.
The hotel is next to the railway station with plenty parking. Our room had red wallpaper and a 6 X 8 picture of a red flower behind the bed.Our room (no.6) had a jaccuzi bath (old style but still worked) with separate toilet and looked on the front of the hotel. Comfortable, the staff speak french only but are helpful and the food (30 euro menu) is good but not much of a choice if staying more than 2 days. I had oysters followed by lobster 1 night.
Breakfast is good and plentiful and Eu a good base to explore this region of France. Excellant house wine (Heugal Alsace) is one bur fairly expensive - if you want a fillette (2/3rds bottle, they siphon it out of the bottle in front of you into a carafe. I like fish but wife does not so we needed red and white wine but not a bottle each! Really good cocktails.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, UK
Level Contributor
247 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of April as it was a handy base for the Baie de Somme.

The first thing to say is don't be put off by the title - if you wanted a "usual" hotel then you probably wouldn't be staying in a Logis de France in the first place as one of their many charms is that each hotel is different.

The Hotel is located literally next door to the railway station, although the trains are infrequent and don't run late at night so disturbance is non existent. It's about a 10 minute walk into the town centre.

Starting with the Hotel itself, as another reviewer has already stated there is quite a bit of "art deco" around, if you like vintage radios then this is the place for you as every corridor and stairway seems to have at least one!

Walking into the corridor to my room I couldn't help but think I had walked into an "Easy Hotel" with each door coloured in a familar orange, with a very very big number stuck on (see I did say it was slightly unusual!)

The rooms themselves are functional and en-suite but each room is decorated in it's own unique style - room 9 for example has several picture frames on the wall... With no pictures in them. Only slight downside was that I couldn't get the full features of the shower to work in room 24, but maybe it was just me.

The hotel also has a basic gym and Sauna in what appears to be an old bedroom. The gym equipment clearly hadn't used for some time and was surrounded by, yes you've guessed it - more radios! However the Sauna was excellent and heated up pretty quickly and has room for 3 people.

Before we move on to the restaurant, be wary of one thing.. The front of the hotel faces a bar across the street (La Piscine) which, certainly on the Saturday night we were there, was very very noisy at closing time (around 1-2 am) with lots of young people making a conisderable noise. The hotel doesn't have double glazing so it was loud enough to wake both my friend and I....

The restaurant was superb and the service very very attentive. If you are stayin on a "Demi Pension / Half Board" rate then the menu that is included is a little bland, however the al a carte menu has a whole raft of delicacies to choose from. The restaurant was very busy with most of the guests not actually staying in the hotel so for me, if the locals are eating there then it must be good.

The wine list is also fairly extensive with around a hundred or so to choose from at reasonable (dependent on your view) prices, although of course there is always the house wine available.

In short, if you are visiting the area then the hotel is a good find. As it's away from the main tourist area of Le Treport (but only a few minutes away by car or train) this is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frontera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eu
1.0 km away
Ibis Budget Le Treport-Mers les Bains
3.3 km away
Hotel de Calais
Hotel de Calais
#1 of 5 in Le Treport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
9.0 km away
Hotel Athena Friville
Hotel Athena Friville
#1 of 1 in Friville-Escarbotin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
hotel LA COUR CARREE
6.1 km away
Hostellerie de la Vieille Ferme
Hostellerie de la Vieille Ferme
#2 of 2 in Criel-sur-Mer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel la Villa Marine
Hotel la Villa Marine
#2 of 5 in Le Treport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maine

Property: Hotel Maine
Address: 20 avenue de la Gare, 76260 Eu, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Eu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eu
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,134 - ₹ 4,416
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maine 3*
Number of rooms: 46

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing