We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms and excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 April 2015

The service in this place is amazing, receptionists are always willing to help with the transfers, tour arrangements and recommendations. I stayed with my wife and she was very excited to discover all tropical plants in the garden and jungle around, because it is an absolutely stunning property. The location in a quiet area within walking distance from sea frint and beautiful views.
I would recommend this hotel to all!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbcrew, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Dear Ryan B
Thank you so much for your time to write and share your tropical experience in our small boutique hotel. It was very pleasant to find guests as your wife, that we remember so well, with a so strong connection with nature around and so happy to discover our jungle trails, birds, monkeys and butterflies around.
Best regards from all Cristal Ballena staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2015

Lovely, exotic resort with all the amenities!!! A special place for celebrations. Clean, A.C., fantastic staff, excellent food, and wildlife everywhere! We love our visits in this 5 star resort and will be back!!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sliv1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbcrew, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Dear silv1012,
Thank you so much for writing this gentle review about our hotel. We have to mention that we are only four stars, but if you think that we are 5 stars it is very motivating in our stairway to the excellence.
Looking forward your next visit,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

The rating is based on the Cabin and Price of alcoholic beverages, which we did not have. The first night there we got to watch a client complain about his $160+ 6 drink top shelf Margarita tab. The food is great including the complimentary breakfast and the happy hour by the pool at Sunset is good. At 1/2 price the Cabins seem to be a bargain, they are not quite the bargain ..

The owners are on site and VERY Nice.

Bottom line, not cheap, but VERY Nice and beautiful!

Room Tip: Unless you have a real affinity for nature, the cabins even at half the price is not a great experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SpearsTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

This is a top hotel in the area, with amazing ocean views. All the rooms have fantastic balconies overlooking the grounds and Pacific Ocean. We were three adults and shared a room with two double beds. The maid left flower blooms in our room every day and all the staff are equally welcoming and helpful. The owners are welcoming and greet guests at mealtimes, wanting you to have a great stay. They have planted over 300 trees and this means that there is an abundance of wildlife. Breakfast is included and served by the pool which for a hotel is truly irresistible and huge. There are a huge range of activities and tours from the hotel including a must to Corcovado National Park. We spent four fantastic nights here and if we return to Costa Rica we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: all the rooms here are equally fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russue292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

This was our favourite restaurant for a nice night out. Happy hour starts early with 2 for 1 drinks while you watch the sunset -- their view is spectacular! Then, you move into the dining area for an elegant dinner, with continenta cuisine. The owners both came to greet us and welcome us to their "home", and their pride in their accomplishments with this place was well merited. The service was the best we had during our 4 weeks in Costa Rica. My pepper sauce tenderloin, my husband's fish in a delciate lemon-cream sauce, our appy's and deserts (flans, but so nice!) were all superb. A nice change from the "tico" cuisine; worth the price for a special night out.

We didn't see the hotel rooms, but the pool and grounds of the resort looked beautiful.

I believe this is the nicest area of Costa Rica. If you don't want to rent a house, this is definitely a resort worth checking out.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank SFandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
8.2 km away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 13 in Uvita
667 reviews
12.7 km away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
8.5 km away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 13 in Uvita
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
2.7 km away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 13 in Uvita
542 reviews
6 km away
Bahia Azul Hotel
Bahia Azul Hotel
#11 of 13 in Uvita
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Ballena Beach | 7 km (4 miles) al Sur de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Uvita
#5 Spa Hotel in Uvita
Price Range: ₹ 10,499 - ₹ 17,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Resort Cristal Ballena is located in the midst of its own 12-hectare grounds, very close to the unique "Marino Ballena" Marine National Park and mountains covered in rainforest. The hotel features 14 Junior Suites, 3 Master Suites, along with 2 Family suites. Due to its excellent location, our guests can enjoy breathtaking ocean views from the big balcony. Our stylish, spacious Suites are equipped with four-poster bed, AC, ceiling fan, WLan, TV, telephone, minibar, safe, coffee maker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cristal Ballena Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing