We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
209
94
22
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
94
22
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge poolbeautiful hotelcosta ricamassage treatmentrooms are fairly basicsteiner familyloved our stay herejunior suitenice hikerooms are bigforest trailsspectacular settingocean viewwould highly recommend this hotelspecies of birdsnational parksitting area
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Lovely, exotic resort with all the amenities!!! A special place for celebrations. Clean, A.C., fantastic staff, excellent food, and wildlife everywhere! We love our visits in this 5 star resort and will be back!!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sliv1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbcrew, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Dear silv1012,
Thank you so much for writing this gentle review about our hotel. We have to mention that we are only four stars, but if you think that we are 5 stars it is very motivating in our stairway to the excellence.
Looking forward your next visit,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

The rating is based on the Cabin and Price of alcoholic beverages, which we did not have. The first night there we got to watch a client complain about his $160+ 6 drink top shelf Margarita tab. The food is great including the complimentary breakfast and the happy hour by the pool at Sunset is good. At 1/2 price the Cabins seem to be a bargain, they are not quite the bargain ..

The owners are on site and VERY Nice.

Bottom line, not cheap, but VERY Nice and beautiful!

Room Tip: Unless you have a real affinity for nature, the cabins even at half the price is not a great experience. It is not the same room without air conditioning. It is a cabin, with screens and fans and a mosquito net.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SpearsTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

This is a top hotel in the area, with amazing ocean views. All the rooms have fantastic balconies overlooking the grounds and Pacific Ocean. We were three adults and shared a room with two double beds. The maid left flower blooms in our room every day and all the staff are equally welcoming and helpful. The owners are welcoming and greet guests at mealtimes, wanting you to have a great stay. They have planted over 300 trees and this means that there is an abundance of wildlife. Breakfast is included and served by the pool which for a hotel is truly irresistible and huge. There are a huge range of activities and tours from the hotel including a must to Corcovado National Park. We spent four fantastic nights here and if we return to Costa Rica we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: all the rooms here are equally fantastic
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russue292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

This was our favourite restaurant for a nice night out. Happy hour starts early with 2 for 1 drinks while you watch the sunset -- their view is spectacular! Then, you move into the dining area for an elegant dinner, with continenta cuisine. The owners both came to greet us and welcome us to their "home", and their pride in their accomplishments with this place was well merited. The service was the best we had during our 4 weeks in Costa Rica. My pepper sauce tenderloin, my husband's fish in a delciate lemon-cream sauce, our appy's and deserts (flans, but so nice!) were all superb. A nice change from the "tico" cuisine; worth the price for a special night out.

We didn't see the hotel rooms, but the pool and grounds of the resort looked beautiful.

I believe this is the nicest area of Costa Rica. If you don't want to rent a house, this is definitely a resort worth checking out.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank SFandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015

A really beautiful setting high in the hills overlooking the jungle and ocean. Breakfast is fine and included. Dinner and lunch are very well prepared but at a premium price. I was shocked at how tasty most of my meals were. The pool is irresistible I was in it many times a day. The service and advise from the front desk was excellent. We did not have a car but did not feel trapped as $10 got us a taxi to Marino ballena anytime I wanted. Having said that next time i will rent a car as Costa rica is not intimidating now that I am here. For sure if I was in Uvita again I would stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Slowrunnings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews