We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Adventure and Relaxation at Casa Uvita”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Casa Uvita - Solar Powered Rainforest and Ocean Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Casa Uvita - Solar Powered
Rainforest and Ocean Views
Lap swimming
Relax by the pool
Living Room and Forest Deck
Casa Uvita Kitchen
Casa Uvita Kitchen
Outdoor dining
Two upstairs balconies with forest and ocean views
Master Bedroom Deck
Upstairs outdoor living area
Indoor/Outdoor Living
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Guest Bedroom 1
Guest Bedroom 2
Master bedroom private deck
Relaxing downstairs
View from master bedroom deck
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park
Casa Uvita Alarm Clock_Howler Monkey
Sloth outside of living room window
Sloth swinging on front porch at Casa Uvita--not an everyday event!
Slaty-tailed Trogons Male & Female
Whale's Tail Beach at sunset--just minutes away!
Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Spider monkey at Casa Uvita--a rare treat!
Surfing at Sunset_Marino Ballena Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Molivings...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adventure and Relaxation at Casa Uvita”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous stay at Casa Uvita.
As we walked up the steps into the beautiful, open-air home, we instantly felt relaxed.
The decks looking out at the Pacific Ocean and are surrounded by the rainforests.
We loved reading books in the hammocks, swimming in the refreshing pool, watching toucan fly by, rocking in the chairs as we watched the sun set, spotting butterflies, humming birds, monkeys, and sloths, and setting out for daily adventures.
The owner, Michele, did an awesome job of suggesting fun filled adventures.
Our kayaking adventure with Bahia Ballena Kayak was amazing. Carlos and his crew guided us to a great snorkeling spot, a hike including a lesson on cracking open coconuts, followed by riding ocean waves and a paddle through the mangroves. It was fabulous!
Cowboy Saul, arrived at Casa Uvita with 3 horses and guided us down the mountain , across the river to a beautiful waterfall for a refreshing swim, and to the seashore for a gallop on the beach. What a great way to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday.
Michele and Freddy guided us to the top of the mountain where we spent the afternoon swimming at a National Geographic worthy waterfall. Pure bliss and beauty !!!
We are grateful that we all were able to enjoy the adventure thanks to their guidance.
To recharge our batteries, we took time for a Fish Pedicure with Angelica.
The fish cleaned our feet and Angelica followed up with a fantastic pedicure.
She also came to the house to provide a relaxing massage for my daughter, who preferred relaxation over our adventure to go Zip Lining at Hacienda Baru.
We enjoyed the pizza from Baker Bean and an elegant dinner at Sabor Espanol.
Overall, we will always have fond memories of our time spent at Casa Uvita.
Thank you Michele for sharing your beautiful home and for all of your help.
You certainly live in Paradise!
Pura Vida!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the pool:))
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words and mentioning all of the local characters in your review: Carlos Kayak, Cowboy Saul and Friendly Freddy. We all enjoyed meeting you and your family and sharing some very special adventures together. We wish you all the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff K
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Perfect Mountainside Coastal Vacation House”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My family (me, my wife, my mother, and our 9 year old son) had a perfect week. This was our second trip the past couple of years to Costa Rica and as much as I loved our first trip to Arenal and the Northern Pacific coast, this one was even better. Michele Gonzalez has a beautiful vacation home on the mountainside overlooking the marine sanctuary. The pictures on the tripadvisor site are wonderful, but they do not do the location justice. It's simply beautiful and integrated perfectly into the rainforest.

Uvita is just a couple minutes straight down the mountainside with two supermarkets and a few little shops & restaurants. The entrance to the marine sanctuary is just a couple more minutes further down from there. There are several other beaches, a wildlife sanctuary, and some fantastic restaurants all within about a half-hour along the coastal highway.

Michele has put together a useful set of literature from the nearby restaurants and about the area that were great, and we also used the house WiFi a couple of times to decide on places to go. Mostly, though, we chatted with Michele and a nearby neighbor to get beach and excursion recommendations.

If you are looking for a beautiful vacation house integrated into the environment in typical Costa Rica fashion where it feels like the outdoors is an extension of the living area, on the edge of the rainforest, and a couple of minutes from the beach, this is it. My wife and I instantly felt at home. My 9 year old son had a fantastic time. My mother loved relaxing at the house and at the beaches. There are some stairs, so while I recommend Michele's house for older travelers, they will need to be comfortable with inclined pathways and stairs. This is true for locations in the Uvita area as well. My mom, who navigates with a cane, did well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mountain/coastal location combined with the beauty of the house itself
Liked least: There were no negatives to this rental. The sign from the highway was small :-)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
I'm so glad that you all had a great family vacation. I especially liked to hear that your 9-year old son as well as your mom enjoyed their experience. Those multi-generation vacations can be tricky, but everyone got to do what they wanted to do: rest and relax, and a little adventure in the rainforest and beach. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelmvb...
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“truly outdoor, jungle living, in an upscale beautiful home ,completely run on solar energy”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We immensely enjoyed our stay in Michele's pride and joy; a beautiful fully solar energy powered house. Waking up with the sounds of birds (including Toucans) and howling monkeys, overlooking the pacific ocean in distance, relaxing at the pool and outdoor living style. And I must not forget the Sloths in the garden's trees, much to the delight of our children. Michele is a wonderful host and her help, Carlos, always keen to show you something that nature has to offer. He took us on a long true jungle walking tour to a secluded waterfall. Amazing.We can highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor living, and luxury, while one has to be conscious of use of energy due to solar powered living
Liked least: no AC, not a big issue as house is open and has a nice breeze with no glass windows and screens. All part of teh Costa Rica life style
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
It was a pleasure to have you and your family visit us here at Casa Uvita. The girls got their taste of jungle living, and they did great with the critters. I'm glad you also got to take that boat tour--seeing whales at this time of year is very special. It's all part of your good karma. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi L
Pelham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing House in Paradise!”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

“What a wonderful place to stay! Casa Uvita is an absolutely stunning open air house on a mountain overlooking the ocean and just minutes from the beach and delicious restaurants. We were a mixed age family (grandparents, parents and kids) and all agreed that the house can't be beat (unless you absolutely insist on air conditioning, but really, despite the heat we didn't miss it). The howler monkeys wake you at dawn and you can see sloths, toucans and more right from the porches, decks or pool. Although Michele was out of the country when we were there she left us in excellent hands with her friend Curtis and her caretakers Carlos & Eva. Carlos was always eager to point out troops of monkeys in the trees or sloths climbing nearby (he's a great spotter and would come over when he saw something interesting) and brought those of us sure-footed enough to make the trek to a gorgeous waterfall and swim hole, pointing out plants, frogs & insects along the way. Although he spoke no English he was patient with our limited Spanish and we learned a lot from him. Eva greeted us one morning with home made tortillas. If you're squeamish about bugs, bats or lizards this probably isn't the spot for you since the house is screened and has shutters but no glass in the windows, but if you find them fascinating like we do you're in for a treat--butterflies, katydids, geckos, tree frogs and more are all to be found, along with an abundance of hummingbirds in the beautiful garden. Our hosts also introduced us to wonderful guides for kayaking, snorkeling and more--don't miss Carlos at Bahia Ballena Kayaks and Rapel right by the entrance to Playa Uvita, he's worth the price. There are fabulous beaches (Ventanas was our favorite) and many nearby places to go for drives and explore, though we honestly saw more wildlife right from the house than anywhere else. There are many inexpensive & yummy restaurants nearby, too, that serve a full meal for about $6-$8 US but if you want to splurge check out Exotica in nearby Ojochal or Sabor Espanol in Uvita. It was a wonderful week! We really loved our stay and would love to return.“

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house, beautiful wildlife, attentive owner & caretakers
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
Wow! I'm so glad you had such a wonderful experience. I've had a number of multi-generation families visit and many consider Casa Uvita to be a perfect retreat to get "reconnected." I'm sorry I missed you, but from your comments, I can see that my staff and the local guides took good care of you. Hopefully we'll see you back here in the near future. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinjaKuhn...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Casa Uvita is absolutely gorgeous and in a wonderful setting, just 2 km up the mountain in the rain forest off the coastal road with a beautiful view of the setting sun over the Pacific Ocean. We awakened every morning to the lovely sound of monkeys and birds. The flora and fauna on the property are abundant. The grounds keepers are very thoughtful and friendly-they speak only Spanish, but with a neighbor's help, we were able to communicate well. It's a short~ 10 min drive to the beach, which we loved. I highly recommend Casa Uvita!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
I'm so glad your family had a great vacation at Casa Uvita. You enjoyed waterfalls and swimming holes and that wonderful kayak/snorkel tour. Thanks so much for your kind comments about Casa Uvita staff and our friendly neighbor. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 245
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing