We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park
Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Casa Uvita Alarm Clock_Howler Monkey
Sloth outside of living room window
Sloth swinging on front porch at Casa Uvita--not an everyday event!
Slaty-tailed Trogons Male & Female
Spider monkey at Casa Uvita--a rare treat!
Whale's Tail Beach at sunset--just minutes away!
Surfing at Sunset_Marino Ballena Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
NinjaKuhn...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Casa Uvita is absolutely gorgeous and in a wonderful setting, just 2 km up the mountain in the rain forest off the coastal road with a beautiful view of the setting sun over the Pacific Ocean. We awakened every morning to the lovely sound of monkeys and birds. The flora and fauna on the property are abundant. The grounds keepers are very thoughtful and friendly-they speak only Spanish, but with a neighbor's help, we were able to communicate well. It's a short~ 10 min drive to the beach, which we loved. I highly recommend Casa Uvita!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
I'm so glad your family had a great vacation at Casa Uvita. You enjoyed waterfalls and swimming holes and that wonderful kayak/snorkel tour. Thanks so much for your kind comments about Casa Uvita staff and our friendly neighbor. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swelshmos...
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We just returned home from a vacation in CR, 5 nights of which were spent at Casa Uvita. From the photos we had seen when we booked we were pretty excited about our stay but it truly exceeded our expectations. We were met by the wonderful Michele when we arrived and she showed us around the house and property, WOW! The wildlife in Costa Rica is one of the highlights for us and this house was perfect for that. We found sloths in the trees next to the house on a daily basis, at one point we had 3 (4 counting the baby that was with one of them) in our sights. The birds were plentiful and beautiful, Michele was as enthusiastic as we were about spotting the different types. Also plenty of monkeys to see and hear. Carlos, who is the very kind groundskeeper there, was always on the lookout for wildlife for us too and he proved to be the best sloth spotter ever. Although Carlos speaks no english and our Spanish is terrible we managed to be able to communicate with him, he is so sweet he never gave up trying to tell us about different things while we were there. He took us on a hike to the most beautiful waterfall close to Casa Uvita and showed us where to jump in to a crystal clear and cool swimming hole. My husband and son were able to go back a second time on their own once they knew where it was, this was a highlight for our 12 year old son for sure.
The beaches in the area also amazing. Michele was kind enough to invite us along for boogie boarding one afternoon when she was going with some of her friends and showed us the best spot for this and let us use some of her boogie boards while she surfed. Next time we return I will be renting a surf board as the beach was also great for that.
Casa Uvita is absolutely perfect for the active family. We did something different everyday and didn't get to everything. When we took time out for relaxing the house was ideal. The pool and hammocks and decks with amazing views and breezes were thoroughly enjoyed. The kitchen had everything we needed and also a good variety of restaurants to choose from when you don't feel like cooking. Eva the housekeeper, also a sweetheart, treated us to her homemade tortillas one morning which we quickly devoured, so delicious.
We were missing our dog at home but shared Michele's lovely dogs for our time there which was wonderful. Having Michele on the property was such a bonus. She was such a kind an knowledgeable host. We didn't ever feel that we lacked privacy and because she was so like minded to our family we felt like we came away with a friend.
We are already trying to figure out how soon we can return :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Was even better than we had anticipated
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2015
It makes me so happy when the right kind of family finds Casa Uvita. You took your birding, sloth-seeking and monkey watching very seriously; you were adventurous and curious. Thank you, and I'll see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knobwab
Philadelphia Area
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rainforest sweetheart in Uvita”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a lovely and comfortable stay!
Just south of Uvita town, this off-the-grid sweetheart is situated just a few minutes from the highway, but surrounded by rainforest and offers the tranquility of a deep-water ocean view. The owner and staff were friendly and accommodating - we felt ourselves and belongings always safe and secure.
We just loved Eva's chicken dish and Carlos' conversation, and owner Michele went out of her way to assist us in our quest for the right Zona Sur property.
Care and attention to detail is apparent throughout the house.
We couldn't have had better mornings than those spent with coffee, parrots and monkeys on the porch!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bed (but I am a tough customer when it comes to beds...)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
I'm so glad this trip opened the doors to you finding your little slice of paradise. Your dedication to conservation as well as your determination to speak Spanish are much appreciated by the local community. I look forward to seeing you again, soon! Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K
1 review
“A haven for those wishing a memorable respite in a natural setting.”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Casa Uvita is a beautiful home located just a short drive up the mountain near Uvita. Owner Michele is a delightful person who takes great pride in the home and taking care of her guests. Living off the grid is not for everyone, but if you are environmentally conscious and love being surrounded by natural wonders, this is the place for you. Words cannot adequately describe the sights and sounds. The property was carefully designed and built so as not to dramatically impact the landscape. Falling asleep to the sounds of the crashing waves and awakening to the sounds of howler monkeys and numerous bird species was truly an experience we will cherish for years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: We were in the midst of nature with the home built with spectacular views without major disturbance to the natural setting. Fabulous indoor/outdoor living.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience at Casa Uvita. It was great to meet you and spend some time together. That was quite an adventure we had going to the local festival and people watching on the beach! Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradander...
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Casa Uvita is a unique experience - the reality exceeded our expectations.”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We came across Casa Uvita on Trip Advisor when planning our first vacation to Costa Rica. As an extended family of six adults, we were seeking a location that everyone in our group would find suitable. Some of us preferred a more isolated location where we could experience the abundant wildlife in Costa Rica while others wanted unlimited access to the wonderful beaches on the Pacific coast. We found Casa Uvita to be a perfect solution.

It is located only a few kilometers from numerous outstanding beaches near the famous Whale’s Tail, and although walking to the beach from Casa Uvita was not really practical, access by car was sufficiently convenient that having a single rental car worked out fine for us. There is a grocery store and several restaurants in the small town of Uvita within a couple of kilometers, so it was easy to find places to eat out or obtain supplies for cooking at home. Indeed, just hanging out in Casa Uvita, lounging around the pool, or experiencing the wonders of nature without leaving the grounds could be a vacation all by itself. The house and location are absolutely beautiful. The pictures online seemed almost too good to be true, but the reality was even better!

We loved waking up with the howler monkeys and then bird watching and taking in the view over coffee before hitting the beach, kayaking, boogie boarding, river-rafting or hiking. But what really made our trip a success was the kindness of Michelle and Carlos. Michelle lives at the same location in a separate house so visitors have the advantage of staying in a beautiful private dwelling while having the full attention of the proprietor when desired. Michelle is full of great information about the area and helped us to find her favorite beaches and made sure we saw the monkeys and sloths when they were around. Carlos works on site and speaks only Spanish but didn't let our rudimentary Spanish abilities deter him from teaching us about the plants on site, accompanying us on a hike through the rainforest to a nearby waterfall and showing us the best places to jump into the pool, and using his machete to treat us to fresh coconut water.

Casa Uvita is a unique experience. We stayed for most of a week and wished we’d had more time.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
It was a pleasure having your extended family here at Casa Uvita. From the moment you arrived you were determined to see and do as much as you could in six days. Sea kayaking, snorkeling, river rafting, boogie boarding, hiking to two waterfalls and you even found time to relax in a hammock. I hope to see you and your bright blue Hawaiian shirt again at Casa Uvita. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing