We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A haven for those wishing a memorable respite in...”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park
Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Casa Uvita Alarm Clock_Howler Monkey
Sloth outside of living room window
Sloth swinging on front porch at Casa Uvita--not an everyday event!
Slaty-tailed Trogons Male & Female
Spider monkey at Casa Uvita--a rare treat!
Whale's Tail Beach at sunset--just minutes away!
Surfing at Sunset_Marino Ballena Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Mary K
1 review
“A haven for those wishing a memorable respite in a natural setting.”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Casa Uvita is a beautiful home located just a short drive up the mountain near Uvita. Owner Michele is a delightful person who takes great pride in the home and taking care of her guests. Living off the grid is not for everyone, but if you are environmentally conscious and love being surrounded by natural wonders, this is the place for you. Words cannot adequately describe the sights and sounds. The property was carefully designed and built so as not to dramatically impact the landscape. Falling asleep to the sounds of the crashing waves and awakening to the sounds of howler monkeys and numerous bird species was truly an experience we will cherish for years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: We were in the midst of nature with the home built with spectacular views without major disturbance to the natural setting. Fabulous indoor/outdoor living.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience at Casa Uvita. It was great to meet you and spend some time together. That was quite an adventure we had going to the local festival and people watching on the beach! Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradander...
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Casa Uvita is a unique experience - the reality exceeded our expectations.”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We came across Casa Uvita on Trip Advisor when planning our first vacation to Costa Rica. As an extended family of six adults, we were seeking a location that everyone in our group would find suitable. Some of us preferred a more isolated location where we could experience the abundant wildlife in Costa Rica while others wanted unlimited access to the wonderful beaches on the Pacific coast. We found Casa Uvita to be a perfect solution.

It is located only a few kilometers from numerous outstanding beaches near the famous Whale’s Tail, and although walking to the beach from Casa Uvita was not really practical, access by car was sufficiently convenient that having a single rental car worked out fine for us. There is a grocery store and several restaurants in the small town of Uvita within a couple of kilometers, so it was easy to find places to eat out or obtain supplies for cooking at home. Indeed, just hanging out in Casa Uvita, lounging around the pool, or experiencing the wonders of nature without leaving the grounds could be a vacation all by itself. The house and location are absolutely beautiful. The pictures online seemed almost too good to be true, but the reality was even better!

We loved waking up with the howler monkeys and then bird watching and taking in the view over coffee before hitting the beach, kayaking, boogie boarding, river-rafting or hiking. But what really made our trip a success was the kindness of Michelle and Carlos. Michelle lives at the same location in a separate house so visitors have the advantage of staying in a beautiful private dwelling while having the full attention of the proprietor when desired. Michelle is full of great information about the area and helped us to find her favorite beaches and made sure we saw the monkeys and sloths when they were around. Carlos works on site and speaks only Spanish but didn't let our rudimentary Spanish abilities deter him from teaching us about the plants on site, accompanying us on a hike through the rainforest to a nearby waterfall and showing us the best places to jump into the pool, and using his machete to treat us to fresh coconut water.

Casa Uvita is a unique experience. We stayed for most of a week and wished we’d had more time.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
It was a pleasure having your extended family here at Casa Uvita. From the moment you arrived you were determined to see and do as much as you could in six days. Sea kayaking, snorkeling, river rafting, boogie boarding, hiking to two waterfalls and you even found time to relax in a hammock. I hope to see you and your bright blue Hawaiian shirt again at Casa Uvita. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda1232...
Waupaca, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Views, Awsome Host”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at Casa Uvita with another couple. There was more than enough room to accommodate us in the beautiful, spacious home. High ceilings and huge doorways allow open air breezes to flow throughout the home. The views, space and host, Michele are ALL incredible. The bedrooms all had private baths. I thought the mosquitos would be bad but not one during our stay!!
I cannot forget the pool!! What a nice way to refresh after a hike, swim at the beach or just a long day...ahhhhhh, nice.
We loved our stay at Casa Uvita!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living space
Liked least: gravel road up the mountain (but worth the trek)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2015
It was great getting to know all of you. You guys and gals did it all--hiking, waterfalls, park beaches, mangroves, sea kayaking, snorkeling and bar tending! Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judy s
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise in the Tropics”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We were looking for a private setting where we could enjoy the beauty of Costa Rica, with our family, and we found it at Casa Uvita. We've visited Costa Rica many times and this is by far one of our favorite spots.
The open design of the home allowed us to feel part of the environment and enjoy the splendid view of the ocean. The wildlife around us was truly spectacular. Howler and white faced monkeys, sloths, toucans and a variety of other birds greeted us. The location is close enough to the ocean ( 5 Minutes), yet far enough away to allow a quiet retreat. On the days we didn't hit the beach, we lounged around the pool and enjoyed the serenity of the rain forest.
The home is tastefully decorated and can easily accommodate a family of six. If you choose to make your own meals the kitchen has everything. We found the gas grill to be a bonus.
Michele and her staff kept the property immaculate. They made sure we had everything we needed. They took us to explore "hidden treasures" within the area. Michele provided awesome suggestions on places to check out, she certainly has a wealth of knowledge about Costa Rica.
We would love to return to this special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and friendly staff
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2015
It was a lot of fun having you and your family here to ring in the New Year. You took full advantage of all that Uvita has to offer--beach combing, boogie boarding, waterfalls, river rafting and then you even found time to rest and relax by the pool or swing in a hammock. I will definitely look you up if I ever go ice fishing in Minnesota! Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehgert
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
1 review
“Peace and Quiet in Paradise”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here during July 2014 for one week and it was one of the most enjoyable experiences of my life. It is not a typical tourist house - but one that is set up in a way that makes you feel like you are truly living in the area. I loved the space and openness of the house and that you are completely surrounded by natural forest on all sides except the view of the ocean right in front of the house! Casa Uvita has set out to create a very comfortable stay within the forest. You have to drive a bit (3 - 4km) to get to the house from the main road in Uvita - but it is well worth it once you roll onto the property. We were able to relax and take in the gorgeous view from the hammocks downstairs and upstairs while listening to howler monkeys, seeing toucans and parrots and even spotting sloths in the trees next to the house. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. The kitchen is fully equipped and we enjoyed eating every meal on the patio. The house also had great wifi connections. The property is safe and secure and we had an amazing time.

If you are a surfer you are 15min away from Dominical (one of the premier beach breaks in the area) and 5 min away from Uvita Beach which has really fun beachbreaks. Great hiking trails in area and also close to a national park.

Michele knows everything there is to know about fun, adventure and travelling within the area and has a lot of valuable tips for her guests. She is an awesome host and her and the team makes the place extra special!

If you are a nature lover and appreciate taking in the true beauty of Costa Rica - Casa Uvita is the place! For me it was excellent!!! I will definitely come back to this piece of paradise.

Rehgert van Zyl
South Africa

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
It was a lot of fun hosting your group of surfers and letting me tag along with you a couple of mornings. You guys are amazing! I hope to see you and your friends again at Casa Uvita.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing