We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best accomodation what we had in Costa Rica!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ela Z
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best accomodation what we had in Costa Rica!”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Beautifully, modernly and clean furnished private houses in a beautiful garden with blooming wild river. Every morning we were welcomed by hummingbirds flying around us. Every place and corner there is very relaxing - small paradise! The owners Rachel and Steve are really nice and helpful couple. Casitas Del Rio was the best place and accomodation we had in Costa Rica, we had great relaxing time there. (we were sleeping on many different places in whole country).
Thank you Rachel and Steve, next time in Costa Rica we will go to your place!
Ellie and Tom

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSF578
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent four nights at the Casita and had a great time. The river is very peaceful and the casitas are very well furnished and styled. We asked Rachel to make some of our arrangements before we arrived and she was very helpful and informative. The property can be hard to find at first, but after a few trips into town we had it down. The ranch down the road has a great horseback beach ride. The rock river can be a bit difficult to wade through but its worth it. Bring aqua-sock type shoes if possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the rooms and the rock river
Liked least: Just a bit far from town/beach, not walkable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vetta1963
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Uvita Jungle Experience”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I visited Casitas Del Rio from April 27th - April 30th, 2015. First impression was over whelming due to arriving in the middle of the night and arriving into the unknown jungle. After experiencing the electricity going out every night for several hours I have a greater appreciation of nature.
The jungle sounds were sorta creepy at night but during the day the views made up for the disappointments in the evening.

We did not get a chance to meet Rachel but her husband Steve was very accommodating.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The jungle experience
Liked least: The lights going out ALL three nights with no air condition.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Hello
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Every guest we have had stay at Casitas Del Rio has also been overwhelmed by our beautiful accommodation, hospitality, gardens and our unique jungle setting, close to the Morete River.
The sounds of the howler monkeys, sloths and exotic birds are normally comforting sounds and why people visit Costa Rica so, we apologise if you found the sounds of nature disturbing in the evening.
Power cuts in Uvita are rare, and during your stay, you witnessed two power cuts for two hours, which affected every hotel, home and local business. This is not normal for the area, and as you can appreciate this was completely out of our control. You were great, entertaining guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon, happy travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasharoun...
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A truly authentic jungle experience”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I began coordinating with Steve and Rachel a few weeks out from our trip and they were both always very responsive. I chose the casitas based on other reviews and the fact that it was in the jungle close to the river. The property is wonderfully landscaped and the river is literally a rocks throw away. Rachel was out of town the few days we stayed so we missed her hospitality that all the reviews raved about, however Steve was a fantastic and gracious host accommodating us in every way from a few market runs (we didn't have a car) to even helping in the middle of the night get rid of gecko that wanted to stay in our room LOL! Now that I've visited this area I understand why Uvita is slowly becoming more popular among tourists. If you're looking for a truly authentic and rustic jungle experience with wonderfully gracious hosts, Steve and Rachel's casitas would be a fantastic option! Thanks so much for a most memorable experience!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A
1 review
“Blown away down by the River”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Me and my wife traveled through Costa Rica and stopped at various places around this beautiful country, we then stopped at Casitas Del Rio and where blow away by the setting by the river. It was by far the best place we stayed whilst traveling this beautiful country. Steve and Rachel where fantastic hosts and nothing was a problem we were greeted with drinks and snacks and shown how everything in the room worked. Our Casita was extremely spacious and beautiful beyond our expectations, we had everything we needed to cook our meals, the grounds are fantastic providing the true jungle experience. In the morning we rose to the sound of the howler monkeys and were lucky enough to see a sloth right outside our porch. On the evening we cooked ourselves a BBQ and sat and listened to the jungle night life with a glass of wine.

Just a short 10 minute stroll up the river is a beautiful secluded water fall with swimming holes all around it. We spent hours there and saw scarlet macaws and tucans. Rachel also provided us with the most comprehensive guide of all the local restaurants and activities and we used it on a daily basis. But on a few days we just stopped in the grounds and truely relaxed. Highly recommended we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hosts
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Hello we are so pleased you took time to write such a fantastic review. We are happy your vacation lived up to your expectations and you both enjoyed Costa Rica and especially Casitas Del Rio. You were great friendly guests and look forward to seeing you again next year. Rachel & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing