We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect oasis ...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alexa618
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect oasis ...”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful four-night stay at Casitas del Rio, and we were extremely sad to leave. In sore need of relaxation and rest, this place was balm to our souls. Not only is the setting by the gently babbling river delightful in itself, but Rachel and Steve were excellent, attentive, caring hosts, looking after us, sorting out information and trips for us, and making us feel that we had found friends. Sitting out on the veranda in the warm dark listening to the river, taking breakfast at the water's edge on a large flat rock and looking across to the protected forest fringing the other side, writing up a diary at one of the lovely stone benches and tables in the sensitively landscaped corners nestling in this lovely valley, we felt nurtured and knit back together again. It was everything we'd hoped for, and so much more. Thank-you so much again, Steve and Rachel!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful situation and landscaping, and warm generosity of the hosts.
Liked least: There wasn't a least!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
We are so glad that we got to meet you, and that you were able to relax and renew. It is a special place here, and we are glad that we got to share it with you, and that you made the most of the lovely surroundings. We would love to have you come and visit us again – there is a large flat rock by the river with your name on it waiting for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magic little nature-filled valley”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful time at Casitas Del Rio! It was the "green season" while we were there, and we were treated to an amazing nature show, including an owl checking us out at night while we sat out on the porch, toucans, humming birds, butterflies of all shapes, colors, and sizes, tortoises, and more. Steve, Rachel, and pup Rio are gracious hosts, and the casitas elegant and thoughtfully designed, and nestled in a private little valley just 5 minutes from town and the beach. Each casita features a porch overlooking the river Morete, perfect for relaxing after a day of exploring the surf breaks and other attractions in the area. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts and the nature.
Liked least: A storm knocked out WiFi for a day or so, but the host got it repaired quickly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
We also love the “green season” and all its lushness. Glad that you are coming to stay with us again to enjoy the nature show at a different time of year. You will see different plants blooming, and different birds around the gardens - a great show at any time of year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catharina...
Uvita, Costa Rica
1 review
“I did not want to leave!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I originally booked for 1 week but ended up staying 2! I did not want to leave, this place is so peaceful and I cannot wait to return in the very near future. Rachel and Steve are wonderful hosts and really look after all their guests. Thank you for a wonderful vacation I will be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river on the property
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2014
Thank you very much, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet525
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
“An abslutely fantastica back to nature holiday”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our jungalow was amazing. It was so comfortable; beatutifully furnished. We opened our door to a beautiful view, which included the river, where we bathed in the natural 'spa' every morning before starting our day. It was soooo peaceful and relaxing....at one with nature. Our holiday was how we made it. We did relax but we also surfed, ziplined, river tubed, ate at some fantastic places, and picnicked at the nearby beach too.

If there is anything you want to do, or need speak to Rachel and Steve. They are lovely hosts and made sure we were settled and had everything we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the tranquility
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our natural spa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil, peaceful, and beautiful location.
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Ramona it was a pleasure having you stay here, and we are glad that you enjoyed your time at Casitas Del Rio. Rachel and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing