We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“More than a clever name; Perfection.”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool, deck, and open concept
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool, deck, and open concept
View from the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Pool, deck, and open concept
View from the pool
View from Pura Uvita
House with sliding doors on both sides opened
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 with access to the deck
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
Owner's Tim and Andrea
Visitor congo
Toucans visit the house daily
White-faced monkey in the nearby trees
House as seen from driveway
Pura Uvita sign. You have arrived!
Location in relation to Uvita town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Dustin W
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More than a clever name; Perfection.”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Look, Pura Uvita is much more than the most clever name you can give a vacation home in Uvita; it's perfection.

The house is even better than I expected, and my expectations were high. Heck, we planned our vacation around the availability of this house. The indoor/outdoor living is spectacular. The large living room opened up entirely to the outside with ~30 feet of sliding doors, letting a cool breeze flow through the entire day. The bedrooms have air conditioning which cooled everything down almost immediately right before bed, but it's not needed for the daily living (I'm just a cold-sleeper, that's all) due to the crisp Costa Rican air and breeze you get consistently. The wildlife is sensational.

The people before us had a sloth hang out in the trees on the property during their entire stay, but he must have left before we got there or I'm just terrible at spotting sloths (which we know is true due to how many sloths I found without help in Costa Rica). Every morning we'd see anywhere from 2-8 toucans. We wouldn't even have to get out of bed to spot them, and when we were outside, they'd land right above us.

As mentioned previously, you do need 4x4 to get to the house. It's a rough road, but not a hard drive by any means. About 10-12 minutes above Uvita, which has everything you'd need. A bank, numerous restaurants, grocery stores, and excursions.

Take some time and go through the pictures again. That's exactly what you're getting. With that said, the best thing about this house are the people involved.

Loren manages the property and knows a LOT about the area. He leaves you alone, but is available nonstop for any tips and tricks for the area. He offered to book us private chefs (at the house), massages (at the house), and whatever fun Costa Rican tours you could imagine. We ran a ton of ideas off him and he already provided exactly what we needed.

Andrea owns the property. Her prompt replies to messages made me comfortable about renting the house, but she became so much more than that. We happened to be staying here when Hurricane Harvey devastated Texas. We're from San Antonio, so our flights were all through Houston. We went through four flight cancellations, and through every one of them, Andrea was willing to help however she could and accommodated our schedule with hers so that we could have housing if needed.

There are several aspects of this house that deserve more than five stars, but TripAdvisor has limits. I'll just say that if you're going to the Costa Ballena region, this is your house.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csalmela
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Two weeks at Pura Uvita”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Meeting Loren at the BM set the tone for the trip. He is so friendly and extremely helpful and quite knowledgeable. He led us up the mountain in his red quad, with both of our girls, 7 and 9, with him bouncing up the road. A 4x4 is required here, and makes the trip up the hill fun. The view is amazing as is the amount of wildlife we were able to see. We took binoculars, which I would recommend for all who stay. There are so many animals, of all varieties, from 8 legs to 2 legs, to long hair, feathers and anteanas, to investigate. We had a sloth with us the entire 2 week stay, right in the trees out the back by the pool. Simply amazing to experience. The pool was cool, but refreshing and the pool lights at night add great ambiance. Since we went during rainy season, it was green and wet. It didn't hinder our adventures at all. We also took headlamps, which helped as the power in CR is relatively unstable. It helped to have these at night and added great fun for our nightly "walk about" the house catching glimpses of the creatures. We found Las Ventanas beach very kid friendly. Pura Uvita is a fantastic location with an excellent host and easy access to Osa activities. We were surprised at how much money we spent on groceries overall. It is pretty much what we would expect in the states. I would recommend this as a place to stay! We were sad to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamJ1212
York, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very beautiful setting”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Uvita is a great place to use as a base when visiting Costa Rica and Pura Uvita is a wonderful spot to unwind and relax. The home is well appointed and gives you a incredible tropical feel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine4...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best stay in Costa Rica by far”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What an excellent place to stay. The road to the property is a tough ride but fun for us as we had a 4 wheel drive. Arriving at the property is mind blowing as the whole appointment and the view is awesome. Clear view onto the whale tail. Unbelievable. The house is well designed with very open set up and enough space for 4 people. The kitchen is open and nicely done and has everything you need. All in all the best place we stayed at our trip in Costa Rica.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellie123...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house in the jungle”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Besides from this beautiful home having an absolutely amazing veiw it's location is really ideal.
This house has a great open plan with natural light flowing through every room. The pool is wonderful for both kids & adults to cool off in & enjoy. Uvita has many wonderful excursions I just love this town. The house is only 5 minutes up the the mountain from town & how amazing to be only a few minutes away from Uvita waterfall where they have a quaint restaurant with the best fish tacos!! We ate there frequently. In town is Jungle ATV, we took a tour with our kids 7yrs & 15yrs old. They take you on a 30 mile ride over the mountain tops, just amazing!
My daughters favorite was a sunset horse tour at Rancho La Merced, located only 10 minutes away. The horses are well trained & are well taken care of. Hermosa beach where you ride to is beautiful, great for surfing too! U can rent boards for $4 p/hr. Whale tail beach is a must at low tide. Loren was so kind to give us a magazine with a tide chart! Ventanas Beach 10 mins away in opposite direction from Hermosa Beach is a hidden gem too. At low tide caves are exposed & is great from exploring. Andrea & Loren are both very accommodating with any requests, inquires & were always available which really gives you peace of mind especially when you are traveling to a foreign country. Look no further you won't be disappointed with this home & location!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing