We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
62
42
30
14
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
42
30
14
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scuba junkie mabul island local community meal times like clockwork meet other travellers sj diving hostel transfer operator
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I intended to just stay for 3 days diving around mabul but decided to extend my stay by a week because of the great dive sites, interesting dm/instructors (they are all nice and different in their own ways so you'll definitely find the perfect ones to guide/teach you) and awesome band nights (every wed night). It's a little expensive for solo travellers like me but if you have 2/3 people to share the bungalows then it's really good price for value.

What is special about this dive resort is they educate people about marine ecology (there are dms who are actually marine biologists) and I've learnt to dive without any wetsuit and be more environmentally aware of my surroundings while diving. 36 dives and 3 snorkles during my 10 days, most of them were really awesome. Mabul was great for a mix of big and small stuff while my 2 days of Sipadan were just awesome.

The only sad thing was 2 days before my departure, someone, probably a day trip tourist (some people just spend a day diving/snorkeling around mabul then back to semporna at night) took my bag of toileteries and nightie which costed a small fortune. But then again it's my fault for leaving the bag at public area as I knew everyone working/staying at the resort was trust worthy.

Great food at the resort by the way. I ate like 5 meals a day with drinks/snacks in between. But if you are new to malaysia remember to bring your own bottled mineral water as some tourists' stomach doesn't take the local distilled water very well.

I also dove with the Semporna group for a day at Mataking which was really really enjoyable, wish I had more time to stay at Semporna and dive for another week or so. Too bad happy times always come to an end.

Highly recommend instructors: Steve, Fred, deano, gav ; DM Ewan, Kat&Dave, Ted, Stu, Claudia etc etc they are all great people, buy them a beer as appreciation at the bar and hear their stories out at night, you'll learn a lot :)

Room Tip: The dorm is a great place to make friends but not as good if you are a natural mosquitor magnet like myself. Try to go with friends or find someone to share a private room with fan or aircon and ensuite bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piggydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you are not going to dive then there is little point in visiting Semporan. We stayed for one night on our way to Mabul as we couldn't make the last boat out. This place is packed - the only room that was available for the one night when we made our reservation in Semporna was the ViP room - the most expensive . It was actually a good room but it smelled like sewerage. When I went to speak to the guy in reception about it he basically said we couldn't move as they were full. I am guessing they know about the smell as there were 3 air freshness in the room. But the smell is so bad they don't cover it.
It's a shame as the room was like a suite with a fridge, food prep area, and sofa, small enclosed balcony. But if you want to book then check they have fixed the odour issue first.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Quite basic yet comfy hotel in the middle of the town with easy access to shops, jetty, restaurants, atm, etc. Has a bar, neat wifi and pretty basic rooms. Staff is quite helpful, meals are good. May get uber crowded in high diving season.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kumak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed at the semporna guest house on my way to mabul. The rooms are 'cleanish' with nice beds and nice hot showers. You get what you pay for. For a longer stay I would recommend to go to mabul as it is so much nicer and you get to go to sipidan.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Johananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed for ten days on Mabul to do my Rescue Diver course and, of course, to dive Sipadan! Delay in answering emails aside ( they have hundreds each day so that's understandable!) the arrangements and organisation was excellent, from being picked up at the airport to being returned there ten days later. Asking as you book far enough in advance, Scuba Junkie will guarantee you a day's diving on Sipadan as long as you do another two days diving at the other sites around Mabul. The key though is to book well in advance. The doing around Mabul is very good but nothing compares with Sipadan!!!!!
The resort is well maintained and the rooms clean. The food is good and changes each day. The highlight is the freshly baked bread!! Also Band Night on a Wednesday is not to be missed! The instructors and DM's are all friendly and I enjoyed my dives/ courses with them. I would definitely recommend Scuba Junkie and would advise staying on Mabul rather than in Semporna as not only is it nicer but you also get an extra dive when on Sipadan. Thanks to all at Scuba Junkie for an awesome stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psymon1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews