We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
62
42
30
14
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
42
30
14
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scuba junkie mabul island local community meal times like clockwork meet other travellers sj diving hostel transfer operator
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you are not going to dive then there is little point in visiting Semporan. We stayed for one night on our way to Mabul as we couldn't make the last boat out. This place is packed - the only room that was available for the one night when we made our reservation in Semporna was the ViP room - the most expensive . It was actually a good room but it smelled like sewerage. When I went to speak to the guy in reception about it he basically said we couldn't move as they were full. I am guessing they know about the smell as there were 3 air freshness in the room. But the smell is so bad they don't cover it.
It's a shame as the room was like a suite with a fridge, food prep area, and sofa, small enclosed balcony. But if you want to book then check they have fixed the odour issue first.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Quite basic yet comfy hotel in the middle of the town with easy access to shops, jetty, restaurants, atm, etc. Has a bar, neat wifi and pretty basic rooms. Staff is quite helpful, meals are good. May get uber crowded in high diving season.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kumak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed at the semporna guest house on my way to mabul. The rooms are 'cleanish' with nice beds and nice hot showers. You get what you pay for. For a longer stay I would recommend to go to mabul as it is so much nicer and you get to go to sipidan.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Johananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed for ten days on Mabul to do my Rescue Diver course and, of course, to dive Sipadan! Delay in answering emails aside ( they have hundreds each day so that's understandable!) the arrangements and organisation was excellent, from being picked up at the airport to being returned there ten days later. Asking as you book far enough in advance, Scuba Junkie will guarantee you a day's diving on Sipadan as long as you do another two days diving at the other sites around Mabul. The key though is to book well in advance. The doing around Mabul is very good but nothing compares with Sipadan!!!!!
The resort is well maintained and the rooms clean. The food is good and changes each day. The highlight is the freshly baked bread!! Also Band Night on a Wednesday is not to be missed! The instructors and DM's are all friendly and I enjoyed my dives/ courses with them. I would definitely recommend Scuba Junkie and would advise staying on Mabul rather than in Semporna as not only is it nicer but you also get an extra dive when on Sipadan. Thanks to all at Scuba Junkie for an awesome stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psymon1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

I had a 4d/3n package in the resort in mabul, and this place is an excellent choice for divers- everything literally works like clockwork. The planning is meticulous, there is always a list on a board or a person telling you where you need to be and when, kit is put together, changes between dives, and cleaned at end of the day without you lifting a finger- v impressive!

The resort itself is nicer than I expected- lots of trees and flowers, well laid out, good little bit of beach. Food is ok, in an institutional kind of way, but always plenty of fruit at meals which is nice. I stayed in a dorm- good value if travelling alone, but even with 7 fans in the dorm it got really really hot- they really do need AC in the dorms.

Dive staff are mostly British, and very competent. I'd say the one downside is that because the place is so large/turnover of tourists so high, you pretty much get a different dive master every day, so not much opportunity to get to know your dm. Saying that, the staff were all friendly and helpful (although watch out for the occasional tongue lashing of the serious manager, ceris).

The diving was great! I particularly loved the diving round Mabul- paradise and awas sites were excellent. Sipadan itself was lovely, but if you are an experienced diver and know you've seen other pristine reefs, I'd say the extra cost for the day at sipadan isn't totally worth it. Don't get me wrong, it was lovely, but when all my dives costs 795 ringgit, and then the day at sipadan costs an additional approx 700 ringgit (ie just for getting there), scuba junkies are obviously making a killing on this.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma050982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews