We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable cost”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Thane, Maharashtra
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reasonable cost”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had visited Mahabaleshware from 4th May to 6th May 2012. I had booked 4 economy rooms for my family. Found reasobale stay in MTDC resort. There is lot of room for cleanlynesss in Bed & washrooms.

Location of Resort is good & easy to locate. Staff in Reception counter was pretty helpful. Though I do not have good feedback for Restaurant, quality of food served was not at par also It takes lot of time to receive order.

Overall if cleanelyless improved and restaurant services improved it will be best place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Championofchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    116
    103
    27
    22
See reviews for
173
77
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I had gone to mahabaleshar on 20th April,2012 . I had booked (Family room )online frm mumbai . When we reached there we found out that the resort was pretty empty though on the website it was showing NA.If you are lucky enough you can get rooms by coming directly here.
We were directed to our Family room which to our surprise was located on road outside the MTDC premises. though it is linked from inside.The rooms were like Chawl in the City as there was no seprate varanda or sit out area outside the room.the room were huge but very isolated from the main resort. It was desgined like a compartments of train. Bedroom-hall-WC.No proper lighting and not at all pleasant interiors inside the room.
We got to know that surprisingly this MTDC resort doesnt have inverter's for load shedding and light goes off any time in the day and night. in night when the light goes off the room looks very horrifying.
Next day mrng I planned to shift to the new hotel and leave MTDC resort as it was not worth paying for that room.
One thing I have observed was standard rooms are much better than any other rooms type,
Restaurant is good and offers various variety in VEg.Non veg.
Resort also has Ayurvedic massage centre .

Overall not that upto the mark resort.

Room Tip: Standard rooms and new standards rooms good for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Prawasi2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune/Hyderabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

MTDC resort is a government resort and hence you should not expect a very good service and standards. However, you would love this resort because of its location and area. It is spread over 40 acres with greenery and 2 kms from market. Its a place for the nature lovers who want to be away from crowded surroundings.

Standard rooms and Economy rooms are almost similar in size except that Standard rooms are well located (near children's play area).

There are two restaurants in this resort, both are managed by one company. Sonali Restaurant and PWD Restaurant. Both of them serve pathetic quality of food at high cost and rude and arrogant service. The restaurant provides delivery to the room but charges 10% extra on the bill. The delivery may even take hours sometime. Mainly the owner and manager of the restaurant is very rude and arrogant. If you have a car, it is preferred you go out for your food. For people who don't have car, there is no option than this restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Milindvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
737 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,053 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Location of MTDC is really nice and rooms are very large. If you want peaceful environment and wants to go away from crowded market then this is for you.
Staff is not at all interested to maintain this resort. Traffic is quite low as compare to other resorts.
Economy room charge you INR 800/- per night and new standard room charge you INR 1000/- per night.
Good if you are on budget family trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank priteshkulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baroda
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

MTDC is not for people who like to splurge money on expensive and luxurious amenities. Its for people who love nature and who like to keep it all simple and sweet. We stayed in a cottage room and i must say we were treated with respect.

For a couple, it is a decent place as there wont be anyone unnecessarily ogling at you. Although, in June, there is not much to see except the rains and fogs, yet you enjoy the resort and the place as a whole for its serenity.

I found the food quite tasty and reasonably priced. My cottage room was quite well-maintained (dont know abt other less priced rooms). However, as 1 reviewer observed, they are very particular about asking you to vacate. Overall, our 3 days 4 nights stay was enjoyable. MTDC resort did not make us sick.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DEEPAKPIYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
5.6 km away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
11.4 km away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
5.9 km away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
3.6 km away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
2.5 km away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar

Property: MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar
Address: Taluka Mahabaleshwar, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price range (per night): ₹ 600 - ₹ 3,600
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Mtdc Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar Hotel Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing