We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Welcoming and friendly.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riverside
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Baga
Cornish gal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Welcoming and friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2007

We arrived at the Riverside Resort, on 17th February, after a very tiring journey. The Manageress and staff were very welcoming, they helped us to our room which had a balcony over the river. The room was very clean and had a fan and air-conditioning. There were some minor hiccups, but they the staff dealt with them very well. The bridge was being widened so there was quite a bit of noise during the day, but you couldn't really hear it by the pool. There is a nice area in the garden and by the pool to be waited on for food and drinks, and also a terrace were you can eat under the moonlight and by candlelight.
The cuisine was delicious, quite an extensive menu, all cooked to order. I am hoping to return next year at the same time and hopefully the bridge will be finished. Not that it really bothered whilst I was there, but I really enjoyed it there.

  • Liked — Friendly, comfortable, relaxing atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Beds could of been a little softer, but they were ok.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank CornishgalMotherof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2007

We stayed for 3 weeks in Feb and March 2007. This was our 4th visit and we will be back next year. The hotel is basic but it is classified as a guest house so that is to be expected. The bridge being demolished was a bit of a nusiance but the drilling has now finished, they were just clearing the rubble as we were leaving!!!!!!!

The staff were, as always, excellent. You couldn't ask for better service and the food was superb.

The bathrooms could do with upgrading but we have noticed improvements around the hotel this year and more are planned for next season.

For the cost of the holiday and the location the hotel is very good value for money.

  • Liked — The location by the river
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank SMLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2007

I have to agree with last 2 reviews ,the staff where great the food was very good,the outlook perfect,the lower rooms where damp,toilets filthy, upstairs better,i think the management had given up because of bridge,manageress was somtimes rude.We did go out and bye our own cleaning stuff and clean our own room.If it wasent for that dam bridge we would have enjoyed our stay

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — owners
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank rowans33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baga hotels

U.K.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2007

We have just returned from the Riverside Guest House which is in a lovely location on the banks of a river not far from restaurants and shops in Baga.
There is a pretty garden restaurant with a swimming pool and an indoor restaurant that is fairly basic but the food is very good.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The managers were O.K. but
not very helpful when it came to resolving issues that we had.
We were allocated a downstairs room that was pretty grim and badly in need of refurbishment. We feel that it fell below the basic standard that we expected. It was dirty, the pillows were disgusting, there was a lot of mould on the bathroom walls and ceiling,the toilet looked as though it was about to fall apart and the showerhead was so clogged up with I dont know what that it was hard work trying to have a shower. We couldnt even see out of the windows because they were frosted glass, it was a most unpleasant room altogether.
Worst of all though was that the room was extremely damp as were the beds, they were so bad we had to buy some towels to put on before getting into bed.Our clothes were also damp and nothing ever dried. I had to put my swimsuits back on wet.
I think the reason for all this damp was lack of ventilation in the bathroom and the close proximity to the river because the tablecloths on the tables next to the river were wet all the time.
Even our books and magazines had a film of condensation on them.
We asked to be moved to an upstairs room but none were available. We spoke to guests who were in rooms upstairs and they said they were quite nice and dry.
One other couple in a downstairs room had the same problems as us.
I reported all this to our Rep who made out a complaint form. He then told us that the manageress refused to sign the complaint form. He said that she never acnowledges them!
Anyway we decided to grin and bear it,( we really didnt have much choice ) and take it up with our tour operator.
There is just one other thing I feel that should be made known is the issue of the safety deposit boxes.
We were asked if we wanted one which of course we did. It was 500rps for two weeks, reasonable we thought. Then a large envelope appeared, we were asked to put our documents etc in
it. Our room number was written on it and staples put in. They do not have individual boxes like they do in other places where you have the key. I wasnt happy about this but I have to stay I felt instinctively that the manageress would be trustworthy. I am sure she was but we had no way of knowing if anyone else had access to the envelopes or where they were kept.
The manageress said she would need to take a photocopy of my passport which they needed for the purpose of changing money.She said she would do it the next day. I went to reception the next day to give her my passport only to find that she had already taken and put it back.
I didnt think she would go into the envelope when I wasnt there and take out my passport from my wallet which contained money and credit cards and personal items. I thought she would have asked me to take it out. I mentioned this to the rep and he said that they shouldnt do that and he would take it up with her.
We wont be staying there again, its such a shame as it could be a lovely place to stay if they listened to complaints and did something about them.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty damp room
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Minnie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2006

As with most 2/3 star hotels in Goa. The Riverside is basic but well looked after clean, and the staff are great.

Clifford and his crew will spoil you rotten in the resturant, and you can have breakfast down on the balcony by the river. And if you are in luck you can feed the house cat at the same time.

Try to get a room with a balcony over looking the river, it's fantastic. So no problems for us with he River Side Guest House, and we will stay there again.

Helpful?
12 Thank a40man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baga hotels
0.8 km away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#7 of 25 in Baga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Bonanza
Hotel Bonanza
#9 of 25 in Baga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 km away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Resort Lagoa Azul
Resort Lagoa Azul
#8 of 25 in Baga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.7 km away
The Baga Beach Resort
1.2 km away
The Baga Marina Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverside? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverside

Property: Hotel Riverside
Address: Baga Beach, Baga 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > Baga
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Baga
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,348 - ₹ 14,694
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Riverside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Guest House with 24 rooms on two floors, situated on the banks of Baga river, 400 mts from Baga Beach, 50 K.M from Airport, 15 K.M from Panaji, 55 K.M from Margao Railway Station. Reception offers money exchange, doctor on call, travel assistance and safe deposit lockers. Rooms are twin or double bedded, partly air-conditioned, ceiling fan, balcony or terrace, shower, WC, hot and cold water. Restaurant & Bar serves multi-cuisine, Goan, Continental, Chinese & Indian. Swimming pool with sun beds and umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Hotel Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Guest House Hotel Baga
Riverside Hotel Baga
Hotel Riverside Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing