We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Shining Star Beach Shack
Ranked #9 of 107 Restaurants in Baga
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The staff are amazing very friendly and will do anything for you to make your day as relaxing as possible, food excellent we tried various meals through the day and in the evening would highly recommend. Try the Barbeque night on a Monday beautiful freshly cooked fish of your choice. Even enjoyed a massage and a pedicure without moving from my sunbed how wondefully lazy. Special thanks to Sam and his staff for making our holiday very special and a big thank you to Raj2 for looking after us so well, See you next year Mel and Lizx

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poppy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    78
    18
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this beach shack!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My friend and i went to Shining star beach shack on our 3 day in Goa and stayed there rest of holiday! We loved the atmosphere of baga beach and this friendly shack. Had lovely relaxing massage, got henna tattoos and nails done while laying on sunbed. Food was lovely and they have bbq night on Mondays, where they have little tables set up on beach. Would definately recommend this shack and cant wait to go back and see everyone, miss them all very much.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank crazyfrogcoleraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not worth the food”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Beach Shacks with dim candle light settings have been thriving on Baga beach; so much so that the beach shacks run till the horizon. I read reviews online and hence chose Shining Star as my choice of the 100 odd other shacks on the beach; however I must say that the food was as disappointing as others. The food is tasteless, expensive, cold & the service is very slow and unresponsive.

I have also realized that these shacks are only worth it because of the experience of relaxing on a beach with a candle light setting. Going for a complete meal here or any beach shack is not recommended; you may rather choose to order a few cocktails/mocktails & a few starters thats it, Do not dare to try any main-course at any beach shacks in Goa.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aayushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit - home from home”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My wife and i have been to Goa 3 times now and returning again in February 2012.
On our first visit we asked our taxi driver which shack did he reccomend, and he took us to the Shinng star and and introduced us to Rajh one of the waiters, greeted with a gennuine smile perfect English and shown to a sun bed where a young 14 year old who we nicknamed Cheeky then arranged our sunbeds and towels. Rajh then became our waiter and coud not have been more helpful, he explained the menu and what was in each dish.
The quality of the food for the past 3 years has been at the same high standard and a very reasonable price, we did not like the new posistion they had moved to on the same beach as when the tide came in it came right up the shack which meant we had to move into the shack we do believe they might move back to old position which is much better. we have tried other shacks but we allways fell at home with Rajh at the Sining Star,and a good indication of its popularity is there is allways a good crowd of people there unlike some of the others, all I can say is highly recomended and worth a try.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tippertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Seafood!”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The seafood was exceptional and so was the service!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank sajjiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shining Star Beach Shack also viewed

Baga, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Baga, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 
Baga, North Goa District
Baga, North Goa District
 

Been to Shining Star Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing