We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant relaxing stay and as shown in the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of KoMe Beach house

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Russian first
Any
English first
DerickFra...
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant relaxing stay and as shown in the photos; great value.”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Although we were there for only four great nights, Idi and his guys are tops. The cottage is exactly as shown in the sites photos and is a very short walk from a number of good restaurants. If you crave for 5 star 24 hour room service don't go to KoMe but if you want great value, incredible beach walks, relaxing and in your own time you would have to go a long way to match KoMe, and I suggest rent the vehicle to make getting around so much easier JUST GO FOR IT

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apart from Idi, the beach walks
Liked least: no kitchen sink plug
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
"Thank you Derick for your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed the stay in KoMe beach house as much as we enjoyed hosting you in our Villa. we hope to host you again in the future. thanks
Idi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niki424
George, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Villa from HELL”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Just arrived back from this awful place, something is so not right with the 4 half stars this place has been given . Arriving at Jambiani the first thing you notice is the filth, mounds of rubbish, the smell and the poverty. the owners brother opened the doors of the villa and the shock of what I had booked was written all over my face. Concrete sofa,s, chairs, dirty walls and the concrete kitchen I srcubbed with bleach to try and get the grime of the tops. Gas cooker with only 2 rings working,oven broken and the fridge didn,t get cold but did look like something from the 70,s. We brought plastic gloves to open the curtains as you really didn,t want to touch them they were so soiled with grime. The ocean was the only beautiful thing but the beach is nothing like the pictures, plastic,tins,bottles and you must take some kind of deck shoe as there is so much broken glass on the sand we saw 3 people with cuts. The terrace outside the villa you won,t be able to sit there because the noise from the village kids and there is hundreds of them screaming,shouting from 5:30 in the morning until 7pm at night it,s horrific, the more you tell the kids to move the more they shout ,plus these kids just urinate on the beach so you can imagine the smell. There is no means of buying any food there not even a loaf from the shop so you either have to starve or eat out every day but thats not cheap. There,s a Indian restaurant a short walk away but there,s a nice decomposing dog lieing by the front door so your choice if you would like to eat there. Be careful hiring the car he only wants to bill you at the end of the holiday, if you do not take the car you will find the owners brother will want nothing to do with you, the trips are a rip off and you are going to be ripped off so be warned and also the beach boy seller,s are not going to leave you alone either, Total nightmare of a holiday and I pity anybody who has paid to go here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nothing
Liked least: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Dear George
We do regret for the bad experience you had in Zanzibar.
Allow me not to agree with all your comments but I understand your disappointment.
As you can see from all other guests reviews we are much dedicated to ensure any customers will have a pleasant experience with us.

I am however saddened for your perception towards a boy working here . Please allow me to clarity some few points for the sake of all travellers in Trip Advisor Community.
1. First of all, we don?t agree that your that because you didn't take the car we didn't want to look after you. The car is not for business but our guest have to make contribution when they use it and we think may help them to explore better the island, but instead he stay away after your behaviour of smoking all sort and burning bed sheet and pillow on purpose like someone with mental problem.

2. Most children play football on the beach which most guest enjoy watching them which can be less than an hour a day because of the heat. Kome is not five star hotel and is close to village therefore is more likely to see children passing by the beach.
3. Most of your complain are too general, the way how explained is like we are at war zone while 90% of our guest are enjoying and satisfied during their stay.
Lastly, I would like to inform you that, we are always try to make sure all our guest enjoy time with us, and we value much and understand their reasons for choosing our house.

Should you are back to this beautiful island, please do no hesitate to contact me directly.
Best regards,

Idi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Housing Prime location
it is spacious and spotless
the kitchen has all the utensils to prepare meals and beds are large and comfortable .
and the owners very kind and always available for any questions and requests
we have been welcomed with fruit and he made us taste all the specialties of the island
we had a wonderful stay
unforgettable
I recommend 100%
Aline Caroline and Charaf

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Thank you Carolina for your review and kind words! We are really happy that you enjoyed the stay in KoMe beach house as much as we enjoyed hosting you in our Villa. we hope to host you again in the future.
thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karine-19...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place right on the beach”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Very nice welcome from Rama. He was very helpful, the terrasse view is just wow and stunning. Clean, hot water, and for food and breakfast i would strongly recommend the coral rock restaurant for its so tasty seafood. Or you can even enjoy Rama family local cooking classes.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Jambiani.
Kind Regards.
Rama
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalreaMcP...
Reano
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

I find more than what I espect
Beautiful house on the beach of Jambiani
Warm water two bathroom two room
You will sleep with the ocean!
For all you need Mr Rama will help you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Jambiani KoMe Beach house.
we hope to host you again.
Kind Regards.
Rama
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 55
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing